11/30/24 Mikey AMPS 348 +7 258. On Prednisilone

Mikey’sDad

Member Since 2021
Mikey’s numbers are high and that is probably because he is on the steroid for a urinary problem that is most likely not bacterial
He gets a 7 day titrated dose and it works. I hate it when he goes high but it can’t be helped Antibiotics do nothing. Tomorrow pm he will be reduced. Day 2 today I may increase his insulin at pm dose today
Thanks , hope all who celebrated Thanksgiving are full of gratitude as I am. Grateful for this group :)

Tom
 
Usually we use "pred" for the short form of prednisolone - just looking at the spreadsheet. How big a dose is he one?

Did he have a urine culture done?
 
Usually we use "pred" for the short form of prednisolone - just looking at the spreadsheet. How big a dose is he one?

Did he have a urine culture done?
He is on a 5mg dose for 3 days and then titrated down for the remaining 4.
He just last week had a complete urine panel before this occurred. This is not new for him. It hits him 3 time a year. Sometimes it clears on its own

thanks
Tom
 
Some cats just seem more prone to UTI's. A culture is not included in a urine panel or urinalysis. They have to culture the urine for 3-5 days to see what sort of bacteria is growing. Then an appropriate antibiotic has to be given that can combat that bacteria.
 
Some cats just seem more prone to UTI's. A culture is not included in a urine panel or urinalysis. They have to culture the urine for 3-5 days to see what sort of bacteria is growing. Then an appropriate antibiotic has to be given that can combat that bacteria.
Mikey is one of those cats! But the Prednisolone twice a year keeps him in check. The vet will do a culture next time this occurs she states. He has been on a number of antibiotics that did nothing. That is why she went to the steroid

thanks
Tom
 
Back
Top