11/30/2010 Spitzer AMPS=320,+12=84,+13.5=168

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/30/2010 Spitzer AMPS=320

The vet wants me to hold steady at 1 unit. I think, based on Sunday's curve, he needs to go up .25 or .5 unit. Because its concert hell week, with rehearsals Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday, followed by performances Friday evening, Saturday afternoon and evening, and Sunday afternoon, I'm going to hold steady as I won't be home to do much monitoring.

And I need to pick up some more Special Kitty turkey, as I think I've spotted a lower glucose response when I mix it in with the Friskies Turkey & Giblets. It may be slightly less palatable, thus encouraging snacking when hungry, rather than gulping for taste. After rehearsal tonight if I'm not to too tired (fighting a cold and asthma), I'll get to WalMart to pick up some more.
 
Re: 11/30/2010 Spitzer AMPS=320

Sounds as if you will be very busy....so yes, it is wise to not increase under those circumstances.
Hope you have fun! :razz:
 
Re: 11/30/2010 Spitzer AMPS=320

My friend (yes, the one who misread the syringe last week! and who seriously owes me!) has agreed to attempt doing a blood glucose test and to pick up some Special Kitty Turkey tonight.

If my observation about the Special Kitty Turkey is valid, getting fed the mix of 1 can Special Kitty Turkey with 1 can Friskies Turkey and Giblets may result in lower glucose by morning (around 150 instead of 300+). This is a test. This is only a test ... but I hope it isn't my imagination.
 
And my friend managed to get a test ... of 84, and I told him not to shoot if under 150.

I re-tested when I got home and Spitzer was up to 168, so I gave 1 unit. Looks like he's trying to break, sometimes.
 
BJ --

The Friskies is 7% carb vs. the Walmart turkey which is 3%. The higher carb level of the Friskies may be the issue. Have you thought about trying the Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets? It's also 3% or Wellness Turkey is 4%. It may be that Spitzer is fairly carb sensitive.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top