11/30/14 Ozgood AMPS 445

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is there any way you can get PM tests?

Ordinarily, I'd be suggesting a dose increase but without any data from the evenings, I'm reticent to do so. There's no way to know if Ozgood is seeing some lower numbers at night and bouncing back up.
 
One little tip to help you figure out when you need to test more and when you can take a break til later . . . look at the per hour change in blood sugar from the last test. Cats don't drop or rise at a consistent rate throughout the cycle, but you can get an idea of how fast they are moving when you compare to the last test.

Today's day cycle, for example. most of those tests were just a few points different from the prior test. When you see his blood sugar is moving slowly like that, and especially when he's starting in high numbers, you can stretch out the time in between testing. The point you are most interested in catching is if he's headed for below 50, so you can carb him to bring him up and so you know to reduce the dose. I'd guess with his slow downward trend today that he is clearing a bounce.

Tonight might be an active one if he continues downward like this. I would definitely test tonight to see how low he's going to go.

If you think of the spreadsheet as a jigsaw puzzle, Ozgood's is pretty much only showing the left side of the picture right now. With a puzzle, you can tell a lot about the picture if you have a sprinkling of pieces all throughout the puzzle. If you only have edge pieces, or a stripe here or there, you might be missing something very important. But a sprinkling all over tells the picture nicely.

Because so many cats have their lowest cycle at night, one of the most important tests you can get is a before-bed test. I agree with Sienne that is the single thing that would help the most to help figure out what to do next with his dose. All of Ozgood's black and red tests point to one of two things - either he really needs more insulin, or he's getting low at night and is bouncing. I'd really encourage you to skip one of the day cycle tests and test before you go to bed instead. It's going to really help in telling us what's going on with Ozgood.

Hope you've had a great holiday weekend! i'm not quite ready to head back to work tomorrow . . . :roll:
 
Thanks for the tips! We can test him before bed. But- it would be best to get readings between the PMPS and AMPS? Would something like every 2 hours throughout the night be sufficient?

He jumped 100 points from +11 to PMPS. PMPS was 370.

Yes, I did, and same to you on the holiday weekend! :smile:
 
you definitely don't need to test every 2 hours through the night. One test, literally, just before you go to bed will be SOOOO helpful. For punkin, I always got a +3 (for me that was 10pm) and if he was looking like he might be headed for 50 at that point, I would get more tests. I didn't go to bed til pm+4.5, so it was easy for me to get that one if i thought i needed to.

Routinely, though, just a +3 or +4 - whatever is before bed for you - would be great.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top