? 11/3 Zhoom Boy AMPS 221 +2 192 +3 151 +5 114- getting nervous

CRL

Member Since 2019
Zhoom is dropping early today. And it has been a very long time since we have seen blues. I am worried he is going to go hypo since he has a long way to go before nadir hits. What should I do!? I just fed about a tablespoon of medium carb food (13%). And I have my eye on him. Anything else I need to do?
 
What lovely blue numbers!! Remember that 100s are quite safe, and the best thing you can do is to keep testing. Feeding some LC snacks may encourage Zhoom to surf in good numbers.

I notice in your SS that Zhoom throws up bile and mucus often, late in each cycle. Do you know why? If not...I'm curious what your feeding schedule is like. That was happening with Figaro for a while after I switched him completely to canned food. Now I feed him a small snack of his regular food around +9 and it has mostly solved the problem.
 
Thanks Liz and Figaro. What a beautiful kitty! Such a pleasure to meet you both. I do love seeing the blues. It is pretty much brand new to us. We had a few at the end of September but that's it. I do hope he surfs well today! I get nervous with anything new.

Yes, he has been on a run with throwing up. I have a few ideas as to why, but don't know for sure. He was on flagyl for diarrhea and a trial to control inflammation associated with IBD. Flagyl can make kitties vomit. I quit the flagyl but he is still throwing up, although I read that it can take awhile to clear the system. I had also changed his food and he may have been allergic/sensitive to the new food, so I switched him back to the old food until I can find something different. I also just set up a timed feeder and started feeding him a snack at +6 in each cycle. It seemed to help the first day, but not today. Perhaps I will try the snack a little later in the cycle like you are doing. I feel like it might be because his stomach is empty - bilous vomiting I believe the condition is called. Or it could be from his IBD acting up.
 
Last edited:
What a nice blue surfing for Zhoom Boy!! As for the vomit, I also think the snack later in the cycle could help!
Don't worry about the 114; you monitor closely and have MC. You're doing very good! :)
 
What a nice blue surfing for Zhoom Boy!! As for the vomit, I also think the snack later in the cycle could help!
Don't worry about the 114; you monitor closely and have MC. You're doing very good! :)

Thanks Ti-Mousse! It is scary for me, since I am not used to his numbers being this low. I am so happy for the blues, but afraid of him dipping too low. I know from a past experience that it can happening quite rapidly. Thanks for the words of encouragement, they mean a lot. His nadir is probably coming up sometime in the next few hours so I will remain vigilant. I am wondering how to handle this sort of thing when I am not here though, like tomorrow when I have to go to work. Do I leave little snacks in the feeder ever 2 hours or so?
 
What should I do tomorrow since I will be at work all day if AMPS is looking similar to today? Reduce dose to 1.25 U or stay at 1.5 U and give snacks every 2 hours in middle of cycle like I did today?
 
What should I do tomorrow since I will be at work all day if AMPS is looking similar to today? Reduce dose to 1.25 U or stay at 1.5 U and give snacks every 2 hours in middle of cycle like I did today?
The thing about shooting a reduced dose is that because Lantus is a slow acting depot type of insulin, the effects of shooting 1.25u vs 1.5u are likely not going to become evident until the following cycle.

It’s important to know (although difficult to wrap your mind around) that with Lantus or any of the slow acting depot type insulins, you are not shooting the PS numbers but rather the number your kitty will be at 2-3 hours later, when onset occurs.

I recommend whenever you are concerned about where the BGs will be at morning shot time set your alarm and grab a +10 or +11. Knowing what direction BG is going will help you make the best choices.

The automatic feeder was a lifesaver for me.
 
Last edited:
First, tomorrow is quite a few hours away. Let's see what things look like tonight.

Have you done any reading about the use of supplements (e.g., the probiotic S. boulardii for diarrhea, slippery elm bark for vomiting)? There's wonderful information about supplements and treating vomiting and diarrhea on the Raw Feeding for IBD website.
 
The thing about shooting a reduced dose is that because Lantus is a slow acting depot type of insulin, the effects of shooting 1.25u vs 1.5u are likely not going to become evident until the following cycle.

It’s important to know (although difficult to wrap your mind around) that with Lantus or any of the slow acting depot type insulins, you are not shooting the PS numbers

Geez, you are right, difficult for me to understand!
 
First, tomorrow is quite a few hours away. Let's see what things look like tonight.

Have you done any reading about the use of supplements (e.g., the probiotic S. boulardii for diarrhea, slippery elm bark for vomiting)? There's wonderful information about supplements and treating vomiting and diarrhea on the Raw Feeding for IBD website.

Thanks Sienne & Gabby. I did read a bit on the IBD kitties website. I got some probiotics to start him on and have not had a chance yet to read up on the slippery elm bark. I am also researching some Chinese herbal formulas and may try out one of those as well. Lots of seeing what works and what doesn't in our near future!
 
It is scary for me, since I am not used to his numbers being this low
Soon enough, you will crave these numbers. :cool: As for tomorrow, there is half a chance he’ll bounce and be perfectly safe. And as Sandy said, knowing onset and nadir will let you know when to feed to keep him safe.
 
Soon enough, you will crave these numbers. :cool: As for tomorrow, there is half a chance he’ll bounce and be perfectly safe. And as Sandy said, knowing onset and nadir will let you know when to feed to keep him safe.

Yeah, he is already heading back up, but not too high yet :) I will do his PMPS in about an hour, if he is over 250, I should shoot his regular dose right?
 
I don’t think over 250 will be a problem. :rolleyes: We tell newbies not to shoot under 200, so you are probably good for tonight.
 
Back
Top