11/3 Tiger +4=297;+4=194;+6=142;PMPS 63 BCSS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiger(GA) and Ruth

Member Since 2014
Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127842

Thank you to LL for your support, this is truly an amazing and wonderful place- we would never have been able to function without you!!

Deanna, your support means so much!
Marje, we're home - the vet did not think IV fluids were necessary, which I worried about. She says if any problems come up, bring her back in ASAP. Tiger is drinking and eating on her own at this point, and eagerly, which is a relief.
Thanks Ella, Never will I take for granted a kitty's appetite every again!
Thanks Elise, I had no knowledge of pancreatitis but it is good to know that this forum is the voice of experience. My vet says if I want the spec fpl run, she will do it, but suggested waiting at this point, since Tiger got so much better.

I was able to bring Tiger home this morning. The icky number you see is partly because I skipped both of yesterday's shots, plus when I went back to the kennel area, my poor Tiger was hissing with her fur all standing on end :shock: She was rudely awakened by the sounds of these annoying barking dogs! She even hissed at me, but when I put her carrier inside the kennel, she climbed immediately inside and looked at me as if to say, "Get Me Home Now!" :smile: This morning's shot was almost an hour late too, so even though we worked hard to get her all set for DST, her shot time is still all messed up! ohmygod_smile

Tiger is eating all on her own and drinking water with each meal. The vet sent me home with a few cans of Purina GN(Gastrointestinal Nutrition) and said to mix it with small amounts of Wellness LC and Core over a period of 3-5 days. Does this sound reasonable?

Cerenia and Bupe have been discontinued for the time being. She will be taking Carafate suspension;Clavamox pills, Famatodine pills and Metrondiazole suspension. I'm really sweating the pills, which reminds me, it is now time to give 2 of them, I will probably need help, I couldn't get her to take her hyperthyroid meds... :oops: :oops:

thanks again for all your support and I mean this from the bottom of my heart, I am sending healing and caring vines to all LL kitties and their humans!!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/3 Tiger AMPS=487;+2= 402;+4=297 Home again!

Have you tried pill pockets? The company is Greenies. There is a duck and pea flavor, dog version, that doesn't have sugar but does have carbs. They are doughy things. We wrap a tiny piece around the pill and Tillie gobbles it down. So glad that Tiger is doing better!!! :-D :-D
Liz
 
Re: 11/3 Tiger AMPS=487;+2= 402;+4=297 Home again!

Hi Ruth.

I'm so glad to hear that Tiger is home and doing better. I, too, have had success with pill pockets, but only with some of my cats. Others just eat around the pill, and some won't touch them at all. Other things to try are wrapping the pill in a little piece of meat or cheese, or using a pill shooter.

The meds that are suspensions - I'm assuming that means liquid? Have you checked the ingredients? There may be a form of sugar in them. Just letting you know, as this may affect Tiger's numbers while she's on them. Have you checked the carb content of the Purina GN? Another possible source of higher BGs - as long as you know about these, the higher numbers won't freak you out!

Sending lots of healing vines for Tiger, and hugs for you! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/3 Tiger AMPS=487;+2= 402;+4=297 Home again!

Welcome home, Tiger!

With Trix, I put all her pills in an empty gelcap, and then give that to her. The gelcap shields her from the bitter taste of the pills, plus they all go down at once - no need for multiple pilling sessions!

Pill pockets are great, too (Trix loved them until she got sick - now she has an aversion), and just the other day, Tricia (I think it was Tricia) posted about a Petsmart or Petco product called "Pill Masker" - similar concept to Pill Pockets, but apparently much cheaper.

If worse comes to worst, both clavamox and famotidine can be compouned into liquids, and I believe famotidine can also be given as an injection, too. At least there are some options!

Does Tiger have an infection - is that why she's on clavamox?

Keep eating and feeling better, Tiger!
 
Re: 11/3 Tiger AMPS=487;+2= 402;+4=297 Home again!

Thanks Liz, Tricia and Amy

Liz and Tricia- last February I tried to give Tiger her hyperthyroid pill(Tapazole) in a pill pocket, she ate all around the pill and spit it out. I am not having any success in getting the Clavamox pill down, so far, I watched You Tube videos and the vet techs showed me to try to grab the top of her head and place the pill down to the back of her throat...Well, she spit it out so many times it got all gooey ohmygod_smile I have to go out and buy Famatodine, but I just know I will have the same problem.

Tricia, the food is actually called EN not GN, my mistake. But I can see it has rice and by products, so the vet said it wasn't low carb but made for cats with tummy problems, hopefully she won't need it in 3-5 days. The liquid medications are supposedly sugar free- I stressed that Tiger is diabetic. I just tested her BG an hour later. But I know they put sugar in everything, it is ridiculous!

Amy, I know the vet said the Metriondiazole was for diarrhea, I think that's what the Clavamox is for as well? BTW, I could not get that Clavamox pill down at noon. It looked so easy when the vet tech showed me... I can just tell I will have the same problem with Famatodine. I will try Pill Pockets and the gelcap, but boy, I sure hope she can quit the AB soon, and as for the Famadodine, it looks like a long term medication for pancreatitis, is that right? Petco here I come!
 
Re: 11/3 Tiger +2= 402;+4=297;+4=194 Home again!

Tiger is home! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat

For the pill pockets, try feeding them to her with nothing in them for a while as treats, then work up to sneaking something in. Fortunately the Pepcid is pretty small. You can also try coating a bit of butter around it to protect from the taste. After tossing the pill in the back of the mouth, follow it with a chaser of water. If you squirt a little liquid in, that will help them swallow. All that time, keep your hand on the scruff and keep her nose pointing up a bit. Good luck!
 
Re: 11/3 Tiger +2= 402;+4=297;+4=194 Home again!

Pepcid/famotidine may or may not be long term...it depends on the kitty. Trix is on it because of her CKD, which causes an acidic tummy, although she did start on it when the p-titis flared. Since Tiger is getting better so quickly, she may just need a short run of the famotadine, in which case the liquid version compounded by the vet might be the way to go - at least you know you can get it into her!

For Trix, before she developed her pill pocket aversion, she LOVED them rolled in FortiFlora. I think others also roll them in parmesan cheese. A couple ideas to make them more enticing!

Clavamox is a broad spectrum AB; it really wouldn't be used for diarrhea, and in fact it causes a lot of tummy trouble and appy issues with kitties. I know some vets automatically give an AB with p-titis, but p-ttis usually is not caused by an infection, so there is no need for the AB. If it were me, I would ask the vet about why Tiger is on the AB, since it can potentially cause more tummy issues.....
 
Re: 11/3 Tiger +2= 402;+4=297;+4=194 Home again!

Thanks Wendy, and thanks for the tip with the pill pockets (I just need 6 arms :lol: ) What gets me is the holding the mouth open while tossing the pill to the back of the throat part. Tiger is pretty good, but I am the one with the problem, I am uncoordinated. But if I can get her to eat the pockets, we will be in good shape.

Hi Amy, Tiger's regular vet is watching Tiger for CKD already, so even if it isn't here yet, it's coming. nailbite_smile But I am hoping these meds won't be long term. You know what, you are right, I will call and see about the Clavamox and even the metrondiazole, Tiger has peed once today, with no problems. She apparently had one poop, very normal, but only a small amount at the vet this morning with no problems. If I don't need to shove that Clavamox down her throat, I don't want to do it, thank you for making that suggestion!! :YMHUG: What we don't need is for her to have more tummy problems!
 
Re: 11/3 Tiger +2= 402;+4=297;+4=194 Home again!

I'm glad Tiger got to come home. I hope you can work out getting all her meds in her. Cats can be so sneaky with pills.
 
Re: 11/3 Tiger +2= 402;+4=297;+4=194 Home again!

So glad Tiger is home. Amy beat me to it about Ckavamox. If she doesn't have an infection I don't get it. If the diarrhea goes away ask about stopping the metro. My vet told me to do that and not to be surprised if Max skipped pooping a day once it worked. Max never got it because the diarrhea was gone in a day. I picked it up one time for the weekend and the big D disappeared. If her appetite falters at all get your hands on some cerenia. Sending you home with that in case it should be needed makes more sense to me than an Antibiotic. Of course I'm not a vet just a helicopter mom!
 
Re: 11/3 Tiger +2= 402;+4=297;+4=194;+6=142 Home again!

Thank you Carla, yes, for such a little thing, these pills are extremely difficult to get down my Tiger's throat :oops:

Hi Elise, I know you and Amy brought up a good point! I told you my brain was not working, I don't know why Clavamox is being prescribed. I am still waiting for a call back from the vet. Tiger apparently pooped this morning at the vet, but hasn't pooped at home. She has peed just fine, and there has been no vomiting or diarrhea. Did you notice Max acting strangely while taking Metronidiazole?
 
Re: 11/3 Tiger +2= 402;+4=297;+4=194;+6=142 Home again!

Hi Ruth,
We are very glad that Tiger is home and hope that you can find the right combination of meds to help her get back to normal. All of our cats have hated the liquid form of Clavamox and all have had stomach upsets after several days on Clavamox.
I'm also not a good pill-giver! With Stu we used a pill shooter and that worked the best. Here's the one we used (recommended by Lisa/Do Lou): http://www.amazon.com/Mikki-Pill-Gun/dp/B0002AL6U6/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
It is nice and thin and the pill fits into the soft rubber-like tip.

Good luck with pilling!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/3 Tiger +2= 402;+4=297;+4=194;+6=142 Home again!

Hi Ruth! I too am very glad that Tiger is home. I know how hard t can be to medicate our kitties... The pill shooter Ella mentioned has worked well for many a kitty. Wishing you luck! It is nice to see the BG's coming down too.
 
Re: 11/3 Tiger +2= 402;+4=297;+4=194;+6=142 Home again!

I got my pill shooter directly from Entirely Pets and like it as well. Max didn't need the metron as his diarrhea went away in a day. Did Tiger get bupe? That would cause the eyes to be dilated.
 
Re: 11/3 Tiger +4=297;+4=194;+6=142;PMPG 63 Stalling Help

Thanks Ella, I think Tiger got a taste of the partially melted Clavamox pill that she kept spitting out. And now, she isn't very hungry at PMPG time. Thanks for that link, I will look into it.

Thanks Michelle, I had no idea just how difficult it could be to get a tiny pill down a kitty ohmygod_smile I give all of you so much credit for being able to do this!!

Thanks Elise, Yes, Tiger was given Bupe yesterday and this morning I think, you're probably right, she did get dialated pupils the last time when she had her hurt foot. I am still waiting for the vet to call back, but going to hold off on the Clavamox for now. I am even hesitant to give the Metronidiazole at this point.

Here is is shot time, and suddenly, Tiger ate only a small couple of bites. I suspect her meds are wearing off, she did not get the Famatodine at noon. I have Duck Flavored Pill pockets and now I have the Famatodine, but she isn't wanting to eat it :oops: And worse, her BG tonight is 63, with no appetite, I am very hesitant to give the shot. Would it be horrible to skip another shot? Normally, I am not afraid to shoot low, but with this lack of eating, I don't feel comfortable. :oops: :oops:

Edited to say, I fed her some, so I can't call this stalling. I think I will give her a token dose tonight, I don't want her skyrocketing again.... :oops:
 
Glad Tiger's home. There's no place like home, you know. (clicking my red shoes three times)

Pilling can be such a chore. So frustrating.

I've successfully used the pill shooter Ella mentioned. I like it 'cuz it's longer than my fingers and thinner so easier to get more back in the cat's throat. My Patch was impossible, but I'd put him on the counter, lean my arm on him so he couldn't lift his paws to swat at me while pulling back his head with my hand and stick that shooter back and pop the pill.

And I cat sat a little girl who wouldn't let me near her, even more challenging. For her, I'd crush the pill between two spoons, take a very thin slice of deli ham, cut a narrow length of the slice and then sort of line the crushed pill down the length, roll it up, and put it on her plate with her food. She'd eat it. (I think it was methimazole.)

I've also crushed pills between two spoons, left the crumbles on the spoon and added a drop or two of tuna water. Patch would lick the spoon clean. 'Til he tired of tuna water and I had to go to the shooter!

Here's hoping 1) some of the meds aren't really necessary and 2) those that are, get down the hatch.

But...she's home!

Sending lots of light for continued improvement, a returned appy for Tiger. Hugs for you.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Hi Ruth and Tiger!! I'm so glad to hear that Tiger is home and starting to feel better! What a relief. Sending lots of vines that she keeps feeling good and eating well.

I too find pilling impossible. I really don't understand how some beans do it, and I have tremendous respect for the effort!! Billie will take liquid meds, but I have never been able to get her to swallow a pill whether it is wrapped in a pill pocket, cheese, butter, ham, bacon, etc. My attempts have always ended in disaster. So, my strategy is to crush/dissolve pills all the way in a little bit (maybe 1ml) of warm water (or even better, saltless stock or broth...Swanson's makes a salt free chicken stock), suck that up in a syringe, and give it like a liquid med. I don't know if that is technically an effective way to go about it, but I haven't been able to figure out anything else that works for us. Good luck!!! Hopefully, you figure out a trick that works for Tiger and hopefully, she ends up needing less meds anyway.

I hope you both get to relax a bit tonight!
 
Famatodine is very bitter. For me gel caps were the answer to pilling. That and a pill gun at first saved me with Tiffany. She tasted the bitter pepcid (same as famatodine) and never ate a pill pocket again. Liquid meds made Max foam at the mouth as a kitten and ended up all over the bathroom mirror.

The way that you know bupe is working is the dilated eyes. That is a good thing. :smile:

I would have given a BCSS as well. I hope you both get a good night's sleep. If Tiger is not eating well in the morning don't be worried. She just likely needs the cerenia that they should have given you instead of the Clavamox.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top