? 11/3 Sulls PMPS 48, +12.5 61

Aliona

Member Since 2020
Hi guys,
Is anyone here can help us decide what to do right now. Sulls tested 48 PMPS. He's on 2u Lantus.
 
Sulls has earned a reduction back to 1.75 units. How much did you feed? Trying to figure out if that 61 is influenced by food.

In future, if he gives you a number in the 40's at shot time, try stalling without feeding for 15-20 minute and retest again. If he's up over 50, you can feed and shoot the reduced dose. If you haven't already, I'd print off this Sticky Note: Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers
I had it printed off in case of power outage - happened once. :nailbiting:
 
OK, that 61 is likely food influenced. That means you need to skip tonight unless you can move your shot time back a couple hours. I'd still test in an hour to make sure he's still on his way up. Next time you "feed the 40's", just feed a tsp or two.
 
Ok. Darn it! Thank you for your help this late at night.
So tomorrow, you think we should give him a reduced dose of 1.75?
 
Yes, he earned a 0.25 unit reduction by going under 50.
No shot, never that low
He's up to 61 - you can shoot that lower if following TR, but not if it's food influenced cause you don't know if the number would be safe without influence of food.
 
should we give him 1unit tonight, so at least he gets something?
Only if you can delay tomorrow AMPS time by at least an hour, possibly two. Test again in an hour and see where he is. If he starts to zoom up at that time, you can shoot. But your next shot will be 12 hours after that.
 
Sorry, one more thing, can you update your subject line to show he's now longer at 48. So that would be +12 48, +12.5 61.
 
@Mags920 Why don't you start your own post. I'm not sure what dosing method you are using, as it doesn't look like either of the ones we use here.

People using Tight Regulation here shoot lower numbers. Take a look at some of the other posts here. Shooting green results usually results on flat cycles. However, it has to be a safe to shoot number.
 
Ok. I could shoot him later tomorrow morning but how will we get back to our normal shooting time then? Seems like it's probably better to skip tonight. We'll know not to feed him the next time this happens.

Only if you can delay tomorrow AMPS time by at least an hour, possibly two. Test again in an hour and see where he is. If he starts to zoom up at that time, you can shoot. But your next shot will be 12 hours after that.
 
Can I suggest you do SLGS method otherwise everyone here well tell you when to change doses & they are not necessarily correct. Been there. My suggestion isto find someone that has more experience with a diabetic kitty & confer privateLY.
Thanks @Mags920 but we are trying to follow TR cause it's our understanding that it's more proven and effective to get kitties to remission.
 
Here is a post on Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule It depends on your situation whether you have the flexibility to delay.

As for Tight Regulation, yes, the faster you get a cat regulated, the greater the chances for remission. TR allows you to do that. It's not a dosing method for everyone, but he's earned his first reduction and is making progress.
 
Ok. I could shoot him later tomorrow morning but how will we get back to our normal shooting time then? Seems like it's probably better to skip tonight. We'll know not to feed him the next time this happens.
If you do shoot later tonight you need to move back by no more than 30 mins per day (either 15 mins at each shot or 30 mins on one shot) to get back to your regular time.
 
What are you saying?
I appreciate that you may think you are trying to be helpful but your advice isn’t appropriate for TR which is what Aliona is following. In this forum kitties are following either TR or SLGS and the advice is tailored to the method being followed and the specific cat.
 
Thank you for your help everyone. I'm so sorry this got derailed by some rude and inappropriate comments.
 
So sorry this very unpleasant and ill informed person is hijacking your thread Aliona. Please just ignore anything further that she posts.
 
Lol how funny is it that we’re both the ones saying sorry!!!!

ETA: you might like to remove the URGENT from your thread title now since the urgency has passed ;)
 
Back
Top