11/3 Magnolia AMPS 339, +3 350...We're back

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara & Magnolia

Member Since 2009
Last Post

Hello old and new folks. We're back. Magnolia had to go back on the juice about a year ago, but was very predictable and I didn't have to keep track of her at all. More recently, that predictability is gone. Her numbers started climbing over the summer while I was out of the country and I haven't been able to get a good dose on her since. Her numbers are consistently between 200 and 350 and have been since July. :cry:

She was up to 6.5u BID and now I'm keeping track of her on the spreadsheets again. I tried changing her food (she was eating wellness, not sure if she got any of the recalled cans or not because I found out about it far too late, she's now getting EVO and wellness cans which are not on the recalled list). Yesterday, I started shooting in her leg instead of her scruff. Today, I decreased her dose to 3u BID, thinking maybe somogyi is at play. I'm still shooting in her leg. DH can't be sure if she got her shot this morning or not. She had a full urine culture done and it came back clear...

So, you're all caught up and here we are.

WCR: She's acting ok. Purry, Lovey, Preening, extra pee in the LB (that's why we took her to the vet for the urinalysis). Her appetite is great, she wants to eat all the time. She is extra demanding lately, kinda abnormal for her.
 
Welcome back (sort of). Not that I don't want you hanging out, I'd be happier if Magnolia was hanging out on the lower floors.

Since you've dropped her dose, remember to get a ketone test. Also, I'm going to pester you to get at least one spot check per cycle. FWIW, Somogyi is controversial and has never been documented in the research on cats prescribed Lantus. There's no way to know if Magnolia is bouncing without the spot checks.
 
I'm on the spot checks Sienne, no worries. +3's for sure as that used to be her Nadir. Any others you'd suggest? I'm very hopeful that wrong dosing is the cause of these wonky numbers, the other options are much scarier.

And thanks Celi. There's worse places we could be. ;-)

Her vet recommended the dose change, she said to hold it for at least 5 days. I'll be around, so I'll get any checks needed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top