11/3 Josie AMPS 407 +8.5 320 PMPS 347

Status
Not open for further replies.

eccentricfuzzyme

Member Since 2011
Josie's AMPS number was red this morning, 407. That is her first ever red pre shot number, and one of only a few ever red numbers. Her dose musn't be right.
 
Re: 11/3 Josie AMPS 407 (time for a dose change?)

Are you still using the same pen of Lantus that you started with? I wonder if it is time for a new pen?
 
Re: 11/3 Josie AMPS 407 (time for a dose change?)

OUCH! Could be the lantus, could be the dose. I'm someone with more experience will have suggestions.
 
Re: 11/3 Josie AMPS 407 (time for a dose change?)

No, it isnt the same vial, it is the second one. I buy the small pen vials so I dont have to waste so much. It looks the same as always, not cloudy or anything. And she does seem to drop faster than natural after the shot, which I dont think she would do if the insulin was bad.
 
Re: 11/3 Josie AMPS 407 (time for a dose change?)

You might want to put a note on your SS regarding when you switched to a new pen.

You've been doing a good job with getting spot checks. I'd go ahead and increase the dose to 2.25u. One thing to consider is that a cat can develop glucose toxicity if you stay at a dose for too long. Their body acclimates to higher numbers and it's harder to get those numbers down. It's one of the downsides of the SLGS approach.
 
Re: 11/3 Josie AMPS 407 (time for a dose change?)

my syringes only go in .50 units. and even those are so small i can barely see them.
 
Re: 11/3 Josie AMPS 407 (time for a dose change?)

Syringes with .25 lines don't exist.
Just do your best to get the plunger between the lines - that willl be your 2.25.
The important thing is to try and replicate that same amount for each shot.

You can make yourself a sample syringe to use as a guage. draw up a colored liquid (water w/food coloring or O.J.) as practice.
Once you think you've got it, keep it as a guide for the next shots.
 
Re: 11/3 Josie AMPS 407 (time for a dose change?)

i just realized that it is daylight savings time soon, how do people deal with that to adjust the time?
 
Re: 11/3 Josie AMPS 407 (time for a dose change?)

It is +8.5 and Josie is at 320

I am not sure how I am going to make the change with daylight savings time, since I cant do her saturday am shot any later than it is now, I have other commitments I cant postpone.
 
Re: 11/3 Josie AMPS 407 +8.5 320 (time for a dose change?)

I think most folks start shooting 15 minutes early per shot to work back to an hour earlier than the time they want...
then when the time changes you are shooting at your chosen time again.

celi
 
Re: 11/3 Josie AMPS 407 +8.5 320 (time for a dose change?)

ah, right, i need to move them early, not late. i guess the thread was about the other time change. silly me!


Josies PMPS is 347. I upped her dose. I think it is probably closer to 2.5 than 2.25, those little spaces are just too small, and my vision too bad.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top