Jack & Mopem'sMom
Member Since 2020
Well, Mr Picky Jack went from 319 to 157 and back to 324 over the past 24 hours. This food situation is making me nuts. AND, check out the response from the vet clinic on the spec fPL:
"The profile we ran in January includes a urine sample and would cost you $204.50. Our lab does not have a spec fPL but does have a feline pancreas profile which would cost you an additional $439.34."
My question to you all: does this make sense? "The lab doesn't have a spec fPL?" I thought this was a routine test?? Has anyone had this test done, and if so what lab does your vet use? I checked out the MSU website but didn't see this or anything that sounded similar on there as being available.
In the meantime, I've gone ahead and scheduled the full blood panel and urinalysis for next week (hopefully...waiting on appointment confirmation) but I can't swing the extra $440 right now. He doesn't like to travel and ideally I'd like to get all the tests done the same day, but unless I can find a more affordable option, we are not having the spec Fpl anytime soon. Bad enough I have to re-run blood and full thyroid panel on his sister who just had the I-131 radiation done. Jack will be having cerenia 30 mins before his evening shot/meal this evening, so hopefully that helps. These cats need JOBS!
Thanks in advance for any advice!
Yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-2-jack-319-amps-increased-to-6u-dst-decision.270343/
"The profile we ran in January includes a urine sample and would cost you $204.50. Our lab does not have a spec fPL but does have a feline pancreas profile which would cost you an additional $439.34."
My question to you all: does this make sense? "The lab doesn't have a spec fPL?" I thought this was a routine test?? Has anyone had this test done, and if so what lab does your vet use? I checked out the MSU website but didn't see this or anything that sounded similar on there as being available.
In the meantime, I've gone ahead and scheduled the full blood panel and urinalysis for next week (hopefully...waiting on appointment confirmation) but I can't swing the extra $440 right now. He doesn't like to travel and ideally I'd like to get all the tests done the same day, but unless I can find a more affordable option, we are not having the spec Fpl anytime soon. Bad enough I have to re-run blood and full thyroid panel on his sister who just had the I-131 radiation done. Jack will be having cerenia 30 mins before his evening shot/meal this evening, so hopefully that helps. These cats need JOBS!
Thanks in advance for any advice!
Yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-2-jack-319-amps-increased-to-6u-dst-decision.270343/

