11/3 Jack 324@AMPS-pancreas test question

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
Well, Mr Picky Jack went from 319 to 157 and back to 324 over the past 24 hours. This food situation is making me nuts. AND, check out the response from the vet clinic on the spec fPL:
"The profile we ran in January includes a urine sample and would cost you $204.50. Our lab does not have a spec fPL but does have a feline pancreas profile which would cost you an additional $439.34."

My question to you all: does this make sense? "The lab doesn't have a spec fPL?" I thought this was a routine test?? Has anyone had this test done, and if so what lab does your vet use? I checked out the MSU website but didn't see this or anything that sounded similar on there as being available.

In the meantime, I've gone ahead and scheduled the full blood panel and urinalysis for next week (hopefully...waiting on appointment confirmation) but I can't swing the extra $440 right now. He doesn't like to travel and ideally I'd like to get all the tests done the same day, but unless I can find a more affordable option, we are not having the spec Fpl anytime soon. Bad enough I have to re-run blood and full thyroid panel on his sister who just had the I-131 radiation done. Jack will be having cerenia 30 mins before his evening shot/meal this evening, so hopefully that helps. These cats need JOBS!

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-2-jack-319-amps-increased-to-6u-dst-decision.270343/
 
The SpecfPL is not a standard test, but rather an add on one. Or one you can get just by itself.

Agreed with Jackie, the Texas A&M GI panel is a good one. You'll get a few other tests too. The B12 can be handy to know, some cats need supplementation. Idexx also has a SpecfPL test, so your vet must be using a different lab. Did the vet say why you need a urinalysis at this point?
 
The SpecfPL is not a standard test, but rather an add on one. Or one you can get just by itself.

Agreed with Jackie, the Texas A&M GI panel is a good one. You'll get a few other tests too. The B12 can be handy to know, some cats need supplementation. Idexx also has a SpecfPL test, so your vet must be using a different lab. Did the vet say why you need a urinalysis at this point?
The urinalysis comes free with the CBC. It's not urgent, so if they can't catch a sample during his stay, ( I need a drop off appointment) it's not a big deal. I'm more concerned with the test you recommended that they claim they can't do. I'm pretty sure they use Antech. I may call the vet clinic my sister uses to see if they will just run a test for me or see if they can just send something to Idexx or if they need to have an account. It always seems like the simplest things are ridiculously hard for my vet clinic. Thanks so much for your input! :banghead:
 
I hope Jack feels better soon! I think a lot of vets use the Texas A&M GI Profile which my cat had done a few months ago and I believe my vet charged me $150 for it. This is the description- tests for PLI, cobalamin (b12) and folate. https://tvmdl.tamu.edu/tests/pancreatic-lipase-immunoreactivity-cobalamin-folate-panel-referral/
Your vet would need to send a fasting blood sample down there.
Thanks for this info. I'll go back to the vet clinic and see what they say about the cost for this if they can't just arrange the specFpl with Idexx. Appreciate your advice!
 
Thanks for this info. I'll go back to the vet clinic and see what they say about the cost for this if they can't just arrange the specFpl with Idexx. Appreciate your advice!
No problem. The cost of their pancreas profile sounds ridiculously expensive. I hope you can get answers without having to fork over that much $$. It sounds predatory. You are trying to do right by this guy and they seem to be charging more than an actual veterinary lab. But I’m in the mid-west, and I know vet costs vary widely. I just don’t see how they could inflate the price too much if it was going to a lab (it looks like the A&M test costs $60 and my vet charged an extra $80 but that probably covered shipping). Keep us posted! I hope you can get some answers for sweet Jack. :bighug:
 
No problem. The cost of their pancreas profile sounds ridiculously expensive. I hope you can get answers without having to fork over that much $$. It sounds predatory. You are trying to do right by this guy and they seem to be charging more than an actual veterinary lab. But I’m in the mid-west, and I know vet costs vary widely. I just don’t see how they could inflate the price too much if it was going to a lab (it looks like the A&M test costs $60 and my vet charged an extra $80 but that probably covered shipping). Keep us posted! I hope you can get some answers for sweet Jack. :bighug:
Yeah, my vet clinic is apparently on the very high end of mark-up..it's ridiculous...I've had many a 'discussion' with them over it.
 
Back
Top