11/3 Crushy amps 399

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=107275&p=1136569#p1136569

Sorry Ive been a little MIA from the list lately. I felt like I needed to step back and try to de-stress a little.

I had a phone consultation with Dr Pierson last Thursday (she is awesome btw) She suggested I try keeping him at 1 unit for 5 to 7 days. The idea was that the blue and yellow numbers he WAS getting on 1 unit are a lot more healing than bouncing back and forth between green and red. Problem is as soon as I tried to keep him on 1 unit he stayed pink and red (with one yellow) then nose dived back into green and bounced into high reds again. *sigh*

He got down to 63 at +9 yesterday and then bounced up to 481 last night. Im wondering if he actually got lower than 63 though. I stopped testing at +6 thinking he had hit his nadir at 113 but that was not the case. +9 was a late nadir for him!

He seemed really groggy from +9 to +11 after the 63 yesterday. He went off and slept in the corner far away from us which is unusual for him at that time of day. We were watching TV and he usually comes over and cuddles when we watch tv.

He's drinking a lot of water and acting hungry today but otherwise seems ok.

Hope everyone else is doing well
 
Hi Michele. All that bouncing around must be making you dizzy! This may be way out in left field, but I have seen quite a few mentions in the past couple days about bouncy kitties and speculation as to if it has anything to do with adjusting their dose time while preparing for DST...just a thought.
Hope Crushy smooths out nice and easy for you. Feel better Crushy, I think your mama misses her snugs :-D
 
thanks Kim
but he is always bouncy
and the first adjustment to shot time Ive done was just this morning

Interesting idea though
 
actually these higher numbers are just bouncing, and i'd agree with dr lisa that at this time, you should hold the dose.

when crushy hit the 48 on 10/30, it took just about 72 hrs for that to clear. it cleared on 11/2 and he was 63, or as you said maybe he got lower just before that.

in any case, he's now bouncing again from yesterday. you want to wait this out - you can't really accomplish anything by giving more insulin in hopes of knocking off the highs from the bounces. it just doesn't work that way. what you can do is to try to hold the dose and not give a dose reduction by holding up the bottom of the cycle so he doesn't nadir below 50. then as the lantus does its thing the highs may be lower, helping the overall range to flatten out & move down.

you know you're at a pretty good dose right now when you're seeing nadirs in the 50's-60's. that's awesome. you just want those highs to come down too. so instead of giving MORE insulin to bring down the highs, you're dosing to the nadir (50-60) and waiting for the bouncing to stop. it will stop. but you want to keep giving this amount of insulin, if you can, by not letting him go too low.

does that make sense? i feel like this might be as clear as mud, so ask if it seems goofy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top