11/3 Charms AMPS 364,+2 340,+4 176,+6 99,PMPS 235

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam and Charms

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Still not sure what is causing these high numbers. Squeaked out a green at +6. Still trying to figure out what is in the liquid clavamox. Does just being on an antibiotic affect BG? Maybe the time change too. Plus I bought a case of EVO chicken and turkey to supplement the YAZC, in an effort to help Charms gain some weight. The EVO Chicken and turkey is supposed to be zero carbs according to the chart, so I do not think that should cause higher BG. The good news is that Charms seems to be feeling much better. Brighter eyes, more energy. If anyone has any more info about the clavamox, please pass it along to me, Thanks - Sam
 
couple things - whatever pharmacy you used, i'd call them tomorrow and 1) ask if there is any sweetener in the clavamox and 2) ask them to put a note in Charms' file that he is diabetic so needs all prescriptions to be without any sugar.

if you got it from the vet, that would make me concerned about the quality of their care. they should know that he's diabetic and shouldn't have sugar.

if it does have sugar in it, then you'll be confronted with deciding if you want to increase the dose to compensate, knowing that you'll likely need to decrease when he goes off of it and being vigilant for that, or if you want to switch to pills that don't have sugar in them.

usually if there is an infection present and a cat goes on ABs, and the AB is working against the infection (ie, it's the right AB for the bacteria) the blood sugar will drop. one of the things that can cause a person to suspect infection is if the BGs rise and the cat seems sick. so i don't think the clavamox itself would cause his numbers to go up. i'd more likely suspect the clavamox has sugar in it.

maybe i missed it, but i didn't see an answer to the 10/31 condo about why he was given an antibiotic. it sounds like he wasn't seen and the vet just gave it based upon the observation that he wasn't feeling good. that would make me nervous. i would've wanted to see a blood test with elevated white blood cells indicating an infection and a suspicion of what that AB was being given for. there are different types of infections and different antibiotics are good for different ones.
 
another thought :lol:

a diabetic cat that doesn't feel good sometimes has pancreatitis. that's not uncommon. marje has a good info post on pancreatitis that's under the "new to the group" sticky in the list at the bottom of that page. antibiotics don't work against pancreatitis.

a vet should look for teeth issues if they aren't eating normally - yucky teeth, infections aren't uncommon with diabetic cats either. mouth things are often from anaerobic bacteria, which clavamox doesn't work against. clindamycin is often used with dental-type infections.

sometimes even high numbers can make some cats feel yucky. many people notice that with their cats.
 
Hi Sam, sorry to hear about those high numbers. I'm glad Charms is feeling better in spite of the numbers.

Adding another thought onto Julie's - if the vet suspects a UTI, a C&S (culture and sensitivity) test should be done on the urine to find out exactly what bacteria is causing the infection. It could be that Clavamox is not the right drug and the infection is still there.

FYI, Josie is giving Ripley liquid Clavamox and is seeing her numbers rise as a result.
 
I posted a new condo for Charms today but forgot to answer these questions from yesterday!
First Thank you Julie and Wendy for the info. I found the article in the sticky about pancreatitis. Originally, I suspected Charms had a UTI because he was not using the litter box, which is very unlike Charms. I did post info about his vet visit ( a home visit) , and that I was able to give the vet a urine sample. She is a really great vet, but she does not have a lot of experience with diabetes ( I take Charms to another vet for that) and she did not have any Clavamox pills. Charms has never been sick ever! Getting diabetes was the first bad thing that has ever happened to Charms since being trapped as a kitten. He has just had routine shots his entire life. He has always been a really healthy cat until the diabetes. Charms is improving so that is good, his numbers are higher which is bad, but hopefully that will improve when he finishes the Clavamox. I am giving him the Clavamox later in his cycle so that seems to be helping.
Wendy - Thank you for letting me know about Josie and Ripley! Made me feel better. - Sam
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top