11/3 Bella AMPS 247, +6 76, PMPS 228, +4 120 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

11/3 Bella AMPS 247, +6 76, PMPS 228, +4 120

Cheeky Bella! I’d go down to 0.75u, just to be on the safe side, and likely less worrisome for you since your parents aren’t testing mid cycle while you are gone. I always preferred not to have a chance of greens when I was away, and you can always go back up to your regular dose when you get back.
 
Cheeky Bella! I’d go down to 0.75u, just to be on the safe side, and likely less worrisome for you since your parents aren’t testing mid cycle while you are gone. I always preferred not to have a chance of greens when I was away, and you can always go back up to your regular dose when you get back.
okay so should I start that tonight? And if I do it’s going to take a few cycles to take effect? We leave tomorrow morning. I just hope she doesn’t go too high. Seems like she’s adjusting to the 1 unit.

@Wendy&Neko do you agree with doing the 0.75u?
 
Would you feel comfortable with Bella in the 70's while you are gone? And little testing?

Was she dosed last night ? I don't see a dose value. Also, any AMPS value this morning?
 
Would you feel comfortable with Bella in the 70's while you are gone? And little testing?

Was she dosed last night ? I don't see a dose value. Also, any AMPS value this morning?
I updated the spreadsheet.

Bella being in the 70s doesn’t worry me to much, what worries me is the unknown - like not knowing what her numbers are throughout the day. I’m usually pretty good at figuring where she’ll be based on her AMPS and my data but like today she threw me a curveball. The food she had typically doesn’t make her go to low and today she went from 242 to 76. I guess I’m slightly worried that the more days she’s on 1 unit and adjusting to it she could possibly go lower. I highly doubt anything in the 50s but with her you never know.
 
70's is a bit low for a petsitter nadir dose. As you said, she could go even lower. You aren't gone a long time with a lowered dose. When you get back, go straight back to the last good dose. It shouldn't take her long to get back to her usual numbers.
 
Sometimes the unknowns need to be given more weight in decision-making. In my case, not being there to test and manage with food led me to err on the side of caution. I even included higher LC at all meals, and onset and +4 snacks just to make sure Maverick got enough carbs on board, alongside with reduced vacation dose, just in case. One vacation I came home late evening and decided to test before I went to bed and he was at 79 on pet meter. I thought hmm, maybe I won’t rush to raise his dose back up. Next morning he threw me a 61 on pet meter on the vacation dose. All that to say, if you will be worried the whole time while you are gone, if it were me I’d reduce to 0.75u. Good luck in whatever you decide :)
 
70's is a bit low for a petsitter nadir dose. As you said, she could go even lower. You aren't gone a long time with a lowered dose. When you get back, go straight back to the last good dose. It shouldn't take her long to get back to her usual numbers.
Okay. So start with the 0.75 tonight?
 
Sometimes the unknowns need to be given more weight in decision-making. In my case, not being there to test and manage with food led me to err on the side of caution. I even included higher LC at all meals, and onset and +4 snacks just to make sure Maverick got enough carbs on board, alongside with reduced vacation dose, just in case. One vacation I came home late evening and decided to test before I went to bed and he was at 79 on pet meter. I thought hmm, maybe I won’t rush to raise his dose back up. Next morning he threw me a 61 on pet meter on the vacation dose. All that to say, if you will be worried the whole time while you are gone, if it were me I’d reduce to 0.75u. Good luck in whatever you decide :)
I appreciate your advice/help. We will lower her to 0.75. It’s important my mom is comfortable and I know low numbers make her uneasy and I definitely don’t want to worry while half across the world.
 
Happy to help, and am slightly jealous that you are going overseas, although I don’t envy you the plane ride :p. I do hope you have lots of fun and get a chance to relax and enjoy your vacation!
 
Happy to help, and am slightly jealous that you are going overseas, although I don’t envy you the plane ride :p. I do hope you have lots of fun and get a chance to relax and enjoy your vacation!
Thank you. It’s to celebrate our 13th wedding anniversary. Ever since Bella was diagnosed we haven’t done to much besides a short weekend away. The past 2 years with her health have been a definite struggle. We decided this year it was time to go away and she loves my mom.
 
Happy to help, and am slightly jealous that you are going overseas, although I don’t envy you the plane ride :p. I do hope you have lots of fun and get a chance to relax and enjoy your vacation!
Just wanted to check in. Bella’s sugars have been in the 200s, no numbers in the 100s. I feel slightly guilty it’s been higher but also relieved it’s not low. But she’s been eating all her food and fast. That just shows it’s us that she’s like that with. Bella acts like she’s picky at home and can take up to 2.5 hours to finish her food but at my parents house she’s been finishing within 1.5 hours. Guess we know the truth now 😂
 
If the 200s are only her preshot numbers and no, or sporadic, in between cycle tests, then she may still be coming down a little more to nadir but your parents just aren’t seeing it. In any case, she’ll get back on track when you get home and you get to have a worry free vacation! Hope you are having a great time :). Funny that she is actually eating better at your parents’ place, maybe you need to start taking vacations more often :p.
 
If the 200s are only her preshot numbers and no, or sporadic, in between cycle tests, then she may still be coming down a little more to nadir but your parents just aren’t seeing it. In any case, she’ll get back on track when you get home and you get to have a worry free vacation! Hope you are having a great time :). Funny that she is actually eating better at your parents’ place, maybe you need to start taking vacations more often :p.
I’m just glad she’s being a good girl. And yeah I guess we need to travel more 😂
 
If the 200s are only her preshot numbers and no, or sporadic, in between cycle tests, then she may still be coming down a little more to nadir but your parents just aren’t seeing it. In any case, she’ll get back on track when you get home and you get to have a worry free vacation! Hope you are having a great time :). Funny that she is actually eating better at your parents’ place, maybe you need to start taking vacations more often :p.
This might sound silly but part of me is concerned and there’s probably no reason to be it’s just this is out of her ordinary. This morning my mom checked her BG at around 6:50 am and by 7:20 it was gone. She’s been eating all her food much quicker than she does at home but this morning is record time. I’ve never seen her eat a meal that fast in the 5 years we’ve had her.

Now my mom has a big house compared to our one bedroom so Bella is walking around a lot and getting lots of exercise and she’s not sleeping as much because my mom is home during the day unlike us dsince we work. My mom said she was hungry this morning. Her BG was 225, last night 251.

Also, I told my mom to start to her on 1 unit tomorrow morning since we’re coming home tomorrow. That way we can start to get her lower.
 
It’s only natural to worry a little when our kitties do things that are a bit out of the ordinary. Is it possible that Bella’s usual snack arrangement has changed slightly? Or as you say she’s getting the benefit of more exercise. Those BGs aren’t terrible, maybe Bella is busy picking extra lemons to surprise with with a lemon meringue pie for when you get back :smuggrin:

1762620012603.jpeg
 
It’s only natural to worry a little when our kitties do things that are a bit out of the ordinary. Is it possible that Bella’s usual snack arrangement has changed slightly? Or as you say she’s getting the benefit of more exercise. Those BGs aren’t terrible, maybe Bella is busy picking extra lemons to surprise with with a lemon meringue pie for when you get back :smuggrin:

View attachment 74924
No, snack times are the same. I think it’s from all the exercise and she’s not sleeping as much like she does when she’s home.
 
Back
Top