11/3 Baby - I think we're OTJ

Status
Not open for further replies.

D & Baby

Member Since 2011
I haven't given him a shot since 10/10 -- and that one, well, I think his numbers were high because he got some contraband.
Are we officially OTJ?
 
baby is looking good! :mrgreen:

are you using a human meter or a meter calibrated for feline use?

if you're using a human meter it looks to me like baby is very, very close, but not quite ready to go OTJ yet.
the range for "normal" blood glucose numbers on a human meter is around 40/50 - 120... with most numbers being under 100. usually, we wean kitties off of insulin in order to give them the best chance at a strong remission. have you considered giving a small dose to pull the range down a little more?
 
Thanks for the info -- I can't find anything like that on this site. i.e. an OTJ protocol. Best I could find was the info on shooting low numbers which basically says not to shoot under 150, so I haven't been. Is there something I am totally overlooking?

I am using a human meter -- Relion Micro.

I am willing to shoot a small dose, but what type of monitoring does that require? I am limited on days/time I can monitor round-the-clock.
 
D & Baby said:
Thanks for the info -- I can't find anything like that on this site. i.e. an OTJ protocol. Best I could find was the info on shooting low numbers which basically says not to shoot under 150, so I haven't been. Is there something I am totally overlooking?
the steps taken in going OTJ are addressed in the the protocol section on reducing the dose:

Phase 4: Reducing the dose

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.

If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose. Sometimes, a cat can even manage to keep its BGs low for a day or two, but then the BGs begin to rise again because the beta-cells haven't recovered enough yet. Try to go from 0.25 IU to a drop before stopping the insulin completely. Reducing the dose too quickly generally does not work: most cats do not go into remission with fast reductions.
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

and in the modified version listed in the Tight Regulation Protocol:

Reducing the dose:
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
  • If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
  • Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581#p13523



not shooting under 150 is a recommendation for newbies who have not yet collected enough to support shooting on low preshot numbers (IF YOU'RE A NEWBIE (without much data) the FDMB FAQ section 4.4 applies).

however, the STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS explains "Becoming Data Ready to Shoot on Low Preshot Numbers", "Dealing with Low Preshot Numbers", and "How to Handle Low Numbers".



I am using a human meter -- Relion Micro.
thank you for clarifying. the numbers you're looking for will be in the 50 - 100 range overall when using a human meter.


I am willing to shoot a small dose, but what type of monitoring does that require? I am limited on days/time I can monitor round-the-clock.
unfortunately, that's something that can't be foreseen. baby's numbers will have to be your guide.



hope this helps...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top