11/3 B the C PMPS:270 - holding question

Status
Not open for further replies.

kotek

Member Since 2011
Good morning all, and happy weekend!

Crossing my fingers for the daily pattern to flatten out a bit, and for us to settle into this dose so I can reliably leave her alone on Monday! Hopefully not too much to ask...

Shouldn't be so hard to catch a cat with diabetes, crf and hyperthroidism peeing to get a ketone test...?
 
Re: 11/3 B the C AMPS:266

Good morning! :-D

B's looking very good so far! It's all a patience game, and B will settle down after a couple of days (perhaps another day afterwards, but it's up to B, of course) with each new dose adjustment. B's doing great, and so are you. Keep up the excellent work! :-D
 
Thank you for the encouragement -- it means a lot.

Can you wise folks kindly advise on how many cycles it should take until I can draw conclusions about what this dose does?

My tentative plan is to stay at this for about a week, until I have another weekend where I can pay close attention, and then if things keep on the same pattern they are now, to raise her a tiny bit (maybe bottom of the 0.5 line instead of the top). Meanwhile, this seems like it might be a safe dose to leave her on when she is unmonitored for 10 hours at a time.

I would be grateful for your suggestions!
 
First, I would never decide on a dose in advance. The minute you do that, your cat throws you a curve!!

If you are following the Tight Regulation protocol, we evaluate the dose (if nadirs are over 200) every 3 days/6 cycles and if nadirs are under 200, then you evaluate every 5 days/10 cycles. If you are following the Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) approach, doses are evaluated after a week.
 
Haha, you are totally right, of course -- I am just trying to keep one step ahead of her! :smile:

The evaluation schedules are very helpful, thank you. :-D I think I am more of a SLGSer, but her nadirs are under 200 anyway, so not too far off.
 
Hi Kotek,
What is normally recommended, if you can't be around to monitor, is to test on the way out the door, and on first thing when you get home. Of course, the AMPS and PMPS tests are still taken. And maybe, on the PM cycle when possible, get a test before bed. That data will help you figure out what the dose might be doing better than just getting a test at AMPS and PMPS.

When you leave, try to leave food out for B.

Nobody here has a functioning crystal ball, so we can't say "yes, without a doubt, this dose is good". The numbers will tell you that. And you would reduce from this dose if you catch a number under 50, of course.

Carl
 
Thanks, Carl! That makes sense. The reality is that my workplace is an hour away, and her AMPS will pretty much be half an hour before I am going out the door. Then if I'm lucky I will get home by +10.5; if I'm not it will be just in time for her PMPS.

This is why I'm anxious to get to a place that's safe to leave her.

But, in the end, I guess it's the same as with the caninsulin...all you can do is go by the information you have. Unfortunately, she can't manage her diabetes on her own. I have a friend with diabetes who is on an insulin pump, which I understand is designed to adjust her insulin to her BG level (although still requires some monitoring) -- she's had several diabetic cats, and we joke often about pumps for cats! :-D

B free eats, so that part is all good -- always food available. And I am happy to use the evenings to gather data...and to get up in the night for a +6 or early for a +10 so the data set is more reliable.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top