11/29 TIFIL AMPS 369, +3.25 349, +7 408, +10.25 378

Status
Not open for further replies.

ISIL&TIFIL

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone,
I was so busy and didn't have time to monitor and to post. I feel terrible seeing tıfıl with so high numbers and couldn't do anything and wait with my hands tied. Please help me to decide, should I go on with another insulin? it looks like tıfıl is not responding very well to lantus anymore.
 
Re: 11/29 TIFIL AMPS 369, +3.25 349, +7 408 :(

I don't really agree that Tifil isn't responding to Lantus. What I don't understand is your dosing strategy. You've decreased Tifil's dose on a couple of occasions when a dose reduction wasn't warranted (i.e., his tests were not below 50). I just don't think your cat is getting enough Lantus. While there are others who are more knowledgeable about the use of Humulin R, I think you are giving too large of a dose (e.g., between 0.5 -1.0u) and there is no curve to show how the R is working. Using too much R can cause bouncing and that's what I'm seeing.
 
Re: 11/29 TIFIL AMPS 369, +3.25 349, +7 408 :(

Hi. I just took a quick peek at your ss from tbp. Are you still using the R. I didn't see it listed recently. I think the numbers look better than they were a couple of weeks ago.
 
Re: 11/29 TIFIL AMPS 369, +3.25 349, +7 408 :(

Merhaba Isil,

Before thinking about another insulin, please try and follow the Tight Regulation Protocol.
Following the protocol will give you your best chance for regulation or possibly remission.

As Sienne pointed out, you recently decreased on 2 occasions when a decrease was not called for -
from 3.5u to 3.25u on 11/21/AM and from 3.25 to 3.0u on 11/25/PM .
I see that you went back to 3.25u on 11/28/PM. Give that dose 6 cycles and then evaluate, according to the protocol, if an increase is needed.
If Tifil falls below 50 on this dose, then you would reduce by 0.25u.

Since Tifil has had ketones in the past, you need to be extra careful that she is getting enough insulin.
 
Re: 11/29 TIFIL AMPS 369, +3.25 349, +7 408 :(

Hello,
I am not using R anymore. I reduced the dose because I thought it was a rebound. I thought maybe too much insulin is cousing the high numbers but I guess I was wrong :(
So do you think she needs an increase?
 
I would stick with your current dose for a total of 6 cycles. If the nadirs are above 200, then increase the dose by 0.25u per the Tight Regulation Protocol. If the nadirs are typically above 300, then increase by 0.50u.

[url=http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581:4iisbdej][b:4iisbdej]Tight Regulation Protocol[/b][/url] sticky said:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top