11/29 Tawny PMPS 395; Found an LC she'll eat!

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Tinkerbell

Member Since 2009
I didn't have a chance to post at all yesterday til after midnight today actually, her vet visit report is here: 11/28/11 Tawny's Vet Visit Report. They increased her dose by 1/2 a unit to 2.5u, this is good and what I had asked for. She still has a UTI & they mentioned some other stuff, most of which I have no clue what it means, however Venita added a post with some good explanations (Thanks, Venita!) As far as I know they did not give her any fluids yesterday, even tho she showed some ketones. I dunno what that's all about. I will try to catch a pee this a.m. myself.

I got some of the higher carb canned Friskies as Sienne suggested the other day, 12-14% (as opposed to HC 18-19%) b/c Tawny was just not interested in the LC versions. I know I really need to get her off this kibble.

She is more interested in the new canned food but more interested in licking the sauce off than eating the shreds. I add warm water to it and she licks that up too. I started to wonder if it is indeed her teeth bothering her but if that was the case she wouldn't be eating the kibble, would she?

I am waiting for the vet to call now about her vetty visit yesterday, & whether they recommend a dental, we played telephone tag all day yesterday.
 
Re: 11/29 Tawny AMPS 312 Dosecrease

Hi again, Desi,
Some kitties don't like the canned foods that have shreds or slices of food in sauce or gravy. They prefer the paté foods. Perhaps you could get some of those. We feed Rusty only paté foods, with a little warm water mixed in. He gloms them right down--never takes his head out of the bowl until it's empty.
I hope you get your vet report soon so that you will know how to proceed with Tawny's treatment.

Hugs,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/29 Tawny AMPS 312 Dosecrease

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi again, Desi,
Some kitties don't like the canned foods that have shreds or slices of food in sauce or gravy. They prefer the paté foods. Perhaps you could get some of those. We feed Rusty only paté foods, with a little warm water mixed in. He gloms them right down--never takes his head out of the bowl until it's empty.
I hope you get your vet report soon so that you will know how to proceed with Tawny's treatment.

Hugs,
Ella & Rusty

Ella, I was shooting for higher carbs than the the regular pates. I will check Janet & Binky's chart to see which pates are higher carb, 12-14% is what I was shooting for. She used to love the LC carb Friskies. Which ones does Rusty get? Do you know the carb %?
 
Re: 11/29 Tawny AMPS 312 Dosecrease

my 3 push the shreds out of the dish to get the gravy :roll:
Binks is spoiled...but the girls???
after 6 years of living on your own and never a canned food meal, you're gonna get picky????

from your post in the "favor" condo...
my goodness!!!

you are truly a fur haven, Desi!! :-D :-D
 
Re: 11/29 Tawny PMPS 395

DD & Tinkerbell said:
Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi again, Desi,
Some kitties don't like the canned foods that have shreds or slices of food in sauce or gravy. They prefer the paté foods. Perhaps you could get some of those. We feed Rusty only paté foods, with a little warm water mixed in. He gloms them right down--never takes his head out of the bowl until it's empty.
I hope you get your vet report soon so that you will know how to proceed with Tawny's treatment.

Hugs,
Ella & Rusty

Ella, I was shooting for higher carbs than the the regular pates. I will check Janet & Binky's chart to see which pates are higher carb, 12-14% is what I was shooting for. She used to love the LC carb Friskies. Which ones does Rusty get? Do you know the carb %?


antijinx antijinx antijinx! I finally found one she'll eat! HURRRRAYYYYYYY! I opened a can of Flaked Tuna and Egg in Sauce, 5% carbs, spooned a little into her bowl and bam! She dived right in. I left her in her room today w/civvie brother Rocket (they like to curl up on the blanket in there together & he can't jump up on her table and get to her food) w/some of that shreds stuff with some S/O dry mixed in and she didn't touch it. So I gave it to Rocket (he loved it!) and opened the tuna & egg, offered her a couple spoonsful, and she chowed down! Finally! So I emptied the rest of the can (5.5 oz) into her bowl, put 5ml of water on it, she licked up all that and then went to eating the flakes again. YAY!!!! antijinx antijinx antijinx!

The results of the urinalysis don't come back til tomorrow. For now she is getting Clav again.
 
Yay for the LC foods!!

Had you tried Tawny back on her preferred foods -- or did she turn her nose up?

FWIW, my vet refers to FF as "kitty crack." If Tawney is used to Friskies, maybe some of the FF Classics (pate and LC) may have some appeal.
 
Hi again, Desi,
Good news that you found a food that Tawny likes. Rusty loves FF Turkey & Giblets. It's his absolute favorite. It is supposedly low carb, but I find that it tends to bring up his bgs. So he only gets it as a treat, not as a meal (unless we need to bring him up). Normally he eats Wellness Turkey (4% carbs) and Merrick's BG turkey (1%). I Think that FF T&G must be about 7% (although from reading the label I don't see how it could be that high; in any event, it has the effect of a medium carb food, at least with Rusty). Rusty is allergic to fish and we haven't had good luck with the beef foods. He's indifferent to chicken canned food, but loves turkey.

Have a good evening, I hope both your FD kitties will have lower numbers tomorrow.

Ella
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top