11/29 Sootie AmBg148,+10.5/149,+15/132

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hope the x-ray shows good news! And glad that Sootie is a good girl through it all. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I hope you get good test results back. I hope Sootie can keep her food down today. How is Azalea's eye doing? Sending prayers.
Thank you both, Bobbie and Carla.
Hoping for good news for Sootie today too. She is amazing (and I wish Azalea would gain insight from her approach to needles and tests...but then again, each is whom each is ).

Thanks for asking about Azalea. One day her eye looks pretty good, the next day horrendous. And so it goes. She has resumed eye drop abhorrence as they are now uncomfortable to her again. Now more frequently a dreadful stressful to us both tussle to get them in. But her appetite is good. And she's not as wobbly of legs as she was a week ago.

I bring her in to reg vetty this afternoon (and bring Sootie home). Then Azalea goes back to OV on Thursday.

Hugs and vines to you and thank you for vines for us all❤️,
Sina
 
Oh dear friends,
Just talked to vet. Based on today's tests, Sootie's esophagus isn't functioning. Based on the thectest Series this morning, he described it as esophageal neuropathy
(Possible complication of diabetes), myasthenia Gravis, and mega esophagus. The dye pooled in her esophagus, the good part of the news being that the dye that did eventually pass through, it passed through all the way without any blockages.

Vetty said she will have to eat in upright position (continue with soft liquid foods) and that there are a couple of medication possibilities that we'll talk about this afternoon. He was not terribly optimistic.

@Marje and Gracie @Wendy&Neko @Bobbie And Bubba @carfurby @Gussie's mom and any all Beans:
Have you heard of or experienced such a condition? If so, what treatments, traditional and/or alternative?

Thanking in advance,
Sina

Btw: Sootie's blood work history, from yesterdays's retro to 10/7/2015 date of diabetes DX, now in Ss (other than a few tests from 10/2015 b/w)
 
I've never heard of that. I hope you can find something to help her. Can you elevate her food dish? Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Sounded more like he was saying that she has to be positioned upright, more vertically to prevent fud from collecting. I'll talk more with him this afternoon.
Of course, first supplement I thought of was increasing the methylcobalamine/folic acid dosages and doing it in liquid form (va crushing pills in fud) if that would be more absorbable.
 
I have "heard" of mega esophagus but have no experience with it. My Dad at the end of his illness did have "slow transit time" determined from a barium swallow study, too. While he was human and Sootie is a kitty, one of the things that makes sense for both species is to eat very slowly to allow the food to pass through...so that probably means small frequent feedings rather than one big feeding. But that's just speculation on my part.

I just remembered I saw this online somewhere before...it applies to dogs, so I don't know if would work with a cat, but it could be an idea to investigate, too!

Bailey Chairs for Dogs

Hugs and prayers....
 
Oh Sina, I do not have any experience with it but somewhere online I saw a food station someone had made to put their dog it so that doggie would be standing up to eat with the food bowl on top. Then the animal would stay in that position for the required time to help . I will look and see if I can find it for you.
 
I have "heard" of mega esophagus but have no experience with it. My Dad at the end of his illness did have "slow transit time" determined from a barium swallow study, too. While he was human and Sootie is a kitty, one of the things that makes sense for both species is to eat very slowly to allow the food to pass through...so that probably means small frequent feedings rather than one big feeding. But that's just speculation on my part.

I just remembered I saw this online somewhere before...it applies to dogs, so I don't know if would work with a cat, but it could be an idea to investigate, too!

Bailey Chairs for Dogs

Hugs and prayers....
Thank you Amy, and thank you for the link to Bailey Chairs. The feeding position is much like what dr r described. Who knows: It might be just the ticket...Sootie's very own throne.

I am saddened that your experience comes from your father's illness and for the multitudes of memories that gush forth in the telling. My father had a incurable late onset form of MD resulting in progressive paralysis and neuromuscular deterioration of most voluntary functions, including swallowing. What you described brought back memories of assist feeding my dad by spooning food that wouldn't get stuck and, as you described, small frequent meals.

Blessings for our spirit family, parents and kitties all. ❤️❤️

Thank you, Amy.
 
Here is something similar to what I saw and for the same reason. It seems to me that the owner invented the station for his pet. If DH or anyone your know is handy a custom made one could be fabricated for Sootie.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2073165/Bella-dog-Meet-pet-eats-standing-up.html
Thank you Bobbie!
Here too is a link that @Amy&TrixieCat just sent too. Both are great ideas!

http://www.baileychairs4dogs.com/

Alas, DH a wonderful soul but not handy around the house or with "honey do's".

I'll show both kinds of feeding supports to dr r this afternoon. Sootie's an incredible sport about everything. And wouldnt mind cradled in my lap or on my chest, we'd have to work on being sure she's in best position. So if she'd go for her very own throne as adjunct or primary feeding place special just for Sootie, she might like that just fine.

Any thoughts about increasing methylcobalamine/folic acid daily dosage? I'll ask vet this afternoon and contact the zobaline company too.
❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
 
I like the one for Bailey and think it would be a better choice for a cat with the carpet providing a softer support. It shouldn't be too difficult for someone to make. ( sorry that DH isn't handy that way)
 
I have heard of mega esophagus but I’ve not heard of diabetic neuropathy in the esophagus but never say never. I have not, in my previous cats, ever had to deal with it or even knew of a person with a cat that had it.

While it’s not a great dx, hopefully, the Bailey chair can address the issues and help her get the food down. Many vines her way.

Also....labs look pretty good.
 
Thank you both, Bobbie and Carla.
Hoping for good news for Sootie today too. She is amazing (and I wish Azalea would gain insight from her approach to needles and tests...but then again, each is whom each is ).

Thanks for asking about Azalea. One day her eye looks pretty good, the next day horrendous. And so it goes. She has resumed eye drop abhorrence as they are now uncomfortable to her again. Now more frequently a dreadful stressful to us both tussle to get them in. But her appetite is good. And she's not as wobbly of legs as she was a week ago.

I bring her in to reg vetty this afternoon (and bring Sootie home). Then Azalea goes back to OV on Thursday.

Hugs and vines to you and thank you for vines for us all❤️,
Sina
HUGs and healing vines for you.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
healing vines.jpg
 
Can you grab a picture of the barium scan on your phone and post it on the forum? It might help everyone trying to figure out what might work and works best.
 
Can you grab a picture of the barium scan on your phone and post it on the forum? It might help everyone trying to figure out what might work and works best.
Yes, I'll ask him to email the pictures to me (Scanner function beset by gremlins lately). Great idea and thank you.
 
I have heard of mega esophagus but I’ve not heard of diabetic neuropathy in the esophagus but never say never. I have not, in my previous cats, ever had to deal with it or even knew of a person with a cat that had it.

While it’s not a great dx, hopefully, the Bailey chair can address the issues and help her get the food down. Many vines her way.

Also....labs look pretty good.
Thanks Marje ❤️
And next to finis entry of Azalea's b/w.
All are idexx except for the one done st OV, that was Antech.
 
Scritches from me to Sootie when she gets home. You've had a full day of vets today Sina. :bighug: Sorry I'm no help with the Dx.
 
My first thought was Zobaline but that's really only because the diagnosis contains the word neuropathy I have never heard of it in the oesophagus either. I do think it's worth speaking to the manufacturers though. Your kitties are so blessed to have you looking out for them :bighug::bighug::bighug: Sending a truck load of vines for Sootie and Azalea. I do hope you get some good news this afternoon.
 
Hello dear friends,
We are home, Sootie very happy to be home from her long day at the vet. Azalea happy to be home even though her stint there was less intensive.

Sootie's Bg about 15 minutes after we got home (around +9 or +10 from ambg ) was 149. I was quite surprised given all she'd been through as well as with reduced juice last night, no food since midnight and no juice this morning. She ate a bit, first elevated on my chest then her sitting up with me holding dish up to her. Then she was far more interested in being with Bella and Dancer who were ecstatic about Sootie's return.

Vet emailed the radiographs to me but it didn't come through. Left message for them to try again tomorrow.

Dr r's evaluation, in laymen's ternscwhich is the best way I can absorb it right now: colon or thickened colon walls not the problem and no blockages. However, her esophagus is not contracting, hence food pools in the esophagus causing the vomiting (risk besides starving is aspirate pneumonia). I may be repeating myself here but he went into more details about the why's he's described it as being akin to myasthenia Gravis (though he's not suggesting she has MG), mega esophagus and neuropathy of the esophagus, which might be diabetes related. The esophagus no longer responds to the messages to retract and push food along.

He doesn't think any anti nausea or acid control med is going to help...bc not enough food passing through (I'm noting here that in fact it might be an essential adjunct bc of some side effects of a med he did prescribe).

I asked him about L-lysine and increasing zobaline doses...he didn't think it would hurt but wasn't convinced that it would dramatically help short term.

What he did prescribe is a pharmo "pyridostigsmine" in liquid suspension for dogs and cats. Used for treating MG.
I've done a quick search on it so far and it comes with cautions and side effects...and contraindications of use when some other conditions present (....and was it a premonition when I pressed for T3/T4 lab work that they didn't do?).

As for Sootie's diabetes:
(And @Wendy&Neko: I'm remembering one of your recent threads about balancing illnesses, especially during times of medical crisis. So true). Vet bean's initial response was "diabetes and insulin won't matter if she can't get food through." We talked more about this and ways to try to balance it. Initially he was hold off on insulin and then said "drop(s) only."
So, a lot to sort through and in coming up with nutritional, pharmaceutical and feeding plan to improve the situation for Sootie and in balance with her DB.

And of course there is...what do I do tonight about insulin dose?

Here's a link to one of the fact sheets (no chemistry) about the med he prescribed:
http://www.wemakemeds.com/patient-info/P/Pyridostigmine.pdf

Re Azalea: he thinks the cornea looks like it's improving. Azalea's appt at OV is Thursday afternoon and with questions ready.

Hugs and thanking you all...for all... I'm at loss for words but hope you know how deeply and how much your caring and help means to us all.

With love and ❤️ and vines of ventless and healing all around....
Sina
 
Hi Sina, you must be totaling exhausted from dealing with two kitties and extreme issues with each. I am sending lots of vines for you.

I do not know what dose to guide you to with Sootie not eating well but I do think I would reduce with that very fact in mind. The last thing you need is for her to go hypo and you won't be able to steer her.

I think your last entry on the SS skipped down to 12/1 by accident. While that 149 tonight is nice the question is : How much food has she gotten down today? Let's see what some of the old timers say. I would be very conservative because of the eating issue.
 
Hi Sina, you must be totaling exhausted from dealing with two kitties and extreme issues with each. I am sending lots of vines for you.

I do not know what dose to guide you to with Sootie not eating well but I do think I would reduce with that very fact in mind. The last thing you need is for her to go hypo and you won't be able to steer her.

I think your last entry on the SS skipped down to 12/1 by accident. While that 149 tonight is nice the question is : How much food has she gotten down today? Let's see what some of the old timers say. I would be very conservative because of the eating issue.
Thanks Bobbie and thanks for catching my technological brain fart (is it ok to use that expression here?!!). I've just corrected the ss (though don't know what can be done about my brain ;)).

Yep, exhausted and we are all missing Bo (GA) too.

Sootie hadn't eaten from midnight last night (she vomited it up almost immediately) til shortly after we came home, ca 5/5:15pm. Long time to not eat. I left food for her to have after the procedure but it was untouched.:banghead: Don't know what her Bg was during the day bc no glucose test done. :banghead:

Yes youe suggestion for input from additional eyes ok by me. I'm reluctant to dose at all tonight ... maybe a drop...exhsusted, on the fence and not thinking well at the moment. I don't want to risk hypo or even "low numbers with symptoms."
 
Hi Sina, I'm so sorry that Sootie is having this issue and hope that a solution can be found that will enable her to eat. The Bailey chair sounds like a good prospect. I don't understand why, if Sootie has no problem vomiting, her esophagus isn't functioning. Doesn't vomiting cause contractions? My sister has a narrowed esophagus and has had increasing problems eating and swallowing. Her doctor did an in-office procedure that stretches the esophagus and she has been much better. This may have to be done periodically, but it certainly worked and she is able to eat much more comfortably. It did not cause pain or problems.

Sending many vines for Azaela's eye and, of course, for Sootie. Sending you vines of endurance!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Ella & Rusty
 
Sending vines Sina, I am so very sorry to hear about Sooties esophagus. I have zero experience with that! Like Ella, I'm puzzled that her esophagus works one way but not the other.
If you can get the zobaline into her I would think if it helps one neuropathy it would help the other, but nothing to base that on other than logic saying it should..
My neighbor who had scleroderma also had her esophagus stretched on a regular basis..but that's the extent with my experience with that..I'm not familiar with the drug he's recommending either:(
I am so very sorry, you must be just reeling..:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I'm happy to hear Azalea's eye seems to be improving, will keep everything crossed that the OV finds that as well:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Wish there was more I could offer in the way of help and support:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Sina, I'm so sorry that Sootie is having this issue and hope that a solution can be found that will enable her to eat. The Bailey chair sounds like a good prospect. I don't understand why, if Sootie has no problem vomiting, her esophagus isn't functioning. Doesn't vomiting cause contractions? My sister has a narrowed esophagus and has had increasing problems eating and swallowing. Her doctor did an in-office procedure that stretches the esophagus and she has been much better. This may have to be done periodically, but it certainly worked and she is able to eat much more comfortably. It did not cause pain or problems.

Sending many vines for Azaela's eye and, of course, for Sootie. Sending you vines of endurance!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Ella & Rusty
I would tend to lean that same way.

My Dad had the same thing as Ella's sister, Barrett Syndrome I believe it is called, due to reflux over time. Wonder if a stretching of the esophagus can be done on kitties?

Thank you @Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) and @Bobbie And Bubba.
A makes sense question and one that I will revisit with vet. I'm not familiar with Barrett's Syndrome.

If I'm understanding vet, the vomiting is not coming from below the esophagus (though it'd make sense that acids might come upward in the process and potentially create additional problems ), the vomiting is the ejection of overflow of food that pools in the esophagus bc of the disconnect between neurological messages to the esophageal muscles.
Is this something that is isolated to the esophagus or progressive? Don't know the answer which might depend on muscle biopsy (as was ultimately the case for my father's neuromuscular disease diagnosis).

The idea of elongating thereby narrowing the esophagus (to create a 'tension' that helps to push food along?) is intriguing and an interesting outside-the-box approach. Whether it's doable for cats at all let alone ones with whatever it is that causes no esophageal muscular action is interesting question.

Skipped Sootie's dose tonight. retested later, she was 132. And ate mini meal. Interesting that she herself positions herself more upright now and is more at ease with dish being elevated to her height. So far no vomiting up tonight. Crossing paws, anti-jinx. And tomorrow (oops...it's here already...) is a new day....

Always challenges to sort out and thank goodness for you all, friends ❤️❤️❤️❤️
Sina Sootie and her tribe
 
Sending vines Sina, I am so very sorry to hear about Sooties esophagus. I have zero experience with that! Like Ella, I'm puzzled that her esophagus works one way but not the other.
If you can get the zobaline into her I would think if it helps one neuropathy it would help the other, but nothing to base that on other than logic saying it should..
My neighbor who had scleroderma also had her esophagus stretched on a regular basis..but that's the extent with my experience with that..I'm not familiar with the drug he's recommending either:(
I am so very sorry, you must be just reeling..:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I'm happy to hear Azalea's eye seems to be improving, will keep everything crossed that the OV finds that as well:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Wish there was more I could offer in the way of help and support:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
❤️:bighug::bighug:❤️:bighug::bighug:❤️
 
{{{Sina}}}

I've been offline all day and just catching up on today's news. I'm so sorry about Sootie's diagnosis, although I'm glad you at least have some answers as to what you're dealing with. I'm also glad to read that Sootie is adjusting to her new situation and so far has kept some food down (anti-jinx). If all else fails, would some kind of feeding tube be an option?

I'm glad the vet thought that Azalea's eye looks a bit better. Paws crossed that the OV feels the same.

FWIW, I think skipping the shot tonight was a good choice for all concerned.

I know how difficult it is to try to deal with major issues in more than one baby at a time. Hang in there. You always have us to vent to or to just offer you support.

Sending mega vines for both your babies, and lots of prayers, too. Extra :bighug:s for you!
 
{{{Sina}}}

I've been offline all day and just catching up on today's news. I'm so sorry about Sootie's diagnosis, although I'm glad you at least have some answers as to what you're dealing with. I'm also glad to read that Sootie is adjusting to her new situation and so far has kept some food down (anti-jinx). If all else fails, would some kind of feeding tube be an option?

I'm glad the vet thought that Azalea's eye looks a bit better. Paws crossed that the OV feels the same.

FWIW, I think skipping the shot tonight was a good choice for all concerned.

I know how difficult it is to try to deal with major issues in more than one baby at a time. Hang in there. You always have us to vent to or to just offer you support.

Sending mega vines for both your babies, and lots of prayers, too. Extra :bighug:s for you!
Sina --

I'm not sure where you're located but would it make sense to have Sootie seen by a GI specialist?
Sienne's idea about trying to see a GI specialist is a good one. Piling on prayers for Sootie!

Good morning all and thank you ❤️
I'm going to talk more with vet this morning (unfortunately he'll be in only for an hour so I better get cracking to snag him) about gi specialist referral, the liquid MG med he rx'd/side effects, the contraindications etc and the absolute need for rx's fir the ondrasantin (spelling oops) and cerenia now bc of potential side effects of the MG med.

I live in southeastern Connecticut. If you know of a good gi specialist (and wouldn't it great if h/she also savvy with diabetes and ibd too?). ❤️ Hugs and thanks
Sina
 
Good morning
Here are Sootie's radiographs that vet resent this morning
(Note that two two freeze dried treats from Monday showed up as still being in her esophagus during the barium series yesterday).
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1006.JPG
    IMG_1006.JPG
    39 KB · Views: 74
  • IMG_1005.JPG
    IMG_1005.JPG
    44.2 KB · Views: 73
  • IMG_1003.JPG
    IMG_1003.JPG
    40.9 KB · Views: 79
  • IMG_1003.JPG
    IMG_1003.JPG
    40.9 KB · Views: 63
Hey Sina, I am just catching up now, was off line most of the day. I would have skipped the shot tonight too with the touch and go eating. Interesting that she was up righting herself to eat. Smart cat!

The x-rays are very interesting looking. And with my dad the stretching was like Ella's sister, to widen the ephogus that was narrowed from reflux disease. It will be interesting to see if that type of procedure would help in Sootie's situation.
 
My neighbors was stretched for the same reason as Bobbie's sister's.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hey Sina, I am just catching up now, was off line most of the day. I would have skipped the shot tonight too with the touch and go eating. Interesting that she was up righting herself to eat. Smart cat!

The x-rays are very interesting looking. And with my dad the stretching was like Ella's sister, to widen the ephogus that was narrowed from reflux disease. It will be interesting to see if that type of procedure would help in Sootie's situation.
I think so. I'll have to ask her.
I think so. I'll have to ask her.

Good morning all and thank you. Apologies if I have missed citing anyone in reply here. Feeling like on last gasps of running on fumes...

Yes I'd be very interested to see if the stretching procedure would help Sootie.
Haven't heard back from vet about a gi specialist referral. Tufts is a possibility, a couple hours from here.

Sootie's +14 or +15 last night 180, ate a little more, and no barfs during night. Her am was 112. And even though she ate some and heartily the couple of teaspoons' worth, Skipped shot bc of Bg and bc bringing azalea to eye specialist again so will be out late morning to mid afternoon.

In between checking on Sootie and azalea periodically during the night, I crumbled with intense abdominal pain....likely my stress coping mis-mechanism. So much for being a Virgo.

Hugs and hearts and thanks
Sina
 
likely my stress coping mis-mechanism. So much for being a Virgo.
Unfortunately, yes, that is our weak area of the body. Stress goes right to the bowels. Maybe a little rescue remedy for you during this incredibly stressful time. Sending more hugs. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Was thinking of getting Sootie to eat vertically until you can get some sort of food station: can you put a dish of food on the edge of a kitchen chair so that he will stretch up to eat it? Hopefully he won't want to jump onto the chair to eat but rather stand on his hind legs to reach it. If you could put something on the chair behind the plate of food that would prevent him from jumping onto the chair next to the food. Just an idea, don't know if it would work or not.
 
Unfortunately, yes, that is our weak area of the body. Stress goes right to the bowels. Maybe a little rescue remedy for you during this incredibly stressful time. Sending more hugs. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Was thinking of getting Sootie to eat vertically until you can get some sort of food station: can you put a dish of food on the edge of a kitchen chair so that he will stretch up to eat it? Hopefully he won't want to jump onto the chair to eat but rather stand on his hind legs to reach it. If you could put something on the chair behind the plate of food that would prevent him from jumping onto the chair next to the food. Just an idea, don't know if it would work or not.
Thanks Bobbie, I always remember about rescue remedy for them but rarely for me. Thanks for reminder.
Azalea and I arrived early to OV so we're waiting it out in the car for a few minutes, azalea sound asleep.

We must be psychic! I did set up a 2-step stool upstairs (will do photo when back home), the first step just about the right height for Sootie and she's been amenable to eating there. I've asked DH to find a place in the non-azalea room to move the water fountain to (Sootie used it a lot til was co-opted by azalea and her eye injury sanctuary space.). The other water fountain squirts a little too low (even when adjusted).

Time to head in to OV with Azalea. Crossing paws.
❤️
 
Last edited:
I did set up a 2-step stool upstairs
That is even a better idea! Hope that works out for you. Keep us posted on that and also Azalea.

And I know what you mean about giving out the remedies to everyone but ourselves. :rolleyes: We Virgos are care givers anyway but we must remember to take care of ourselves too. Let's remind each other. ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top