11/29 SCRABBLE PMPS 320 +3 305 +5 299

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Scrabble (GA)

Member Since 2010
YESTERDAY'S CONDO
AMPS 315
MORNING EVERYONE! As usual I am exhausted from work. DH is going to let me sleep in this morning and he is going to get up and get a +4. Thank goodness since I need the sleep desperately.
Scrabble bounced last night. DH got one test and he was 318 @ +4 so he didn't test again. His ear bled much easier today and I think it was good I gave them a break yesterday.
Glad to see we are out of the red and almost yellow this morning. Hope we see some action today.
Off today, supposed to be a rainy day, hoping dh and I can do dinner and a movie tonight assuming Scrabble isn't diving. We'll see.........
Have a great day everyone, will visit condo's when I get up.
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE AMPS 315

Good morning Michelle,

Almost a yellow for Scrabble today, hopefully he will slide down nice and easy into the blues. Have a great day, hope you and DH get to have a fun date night :smile:

Kathie
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE AMPS 315

HI Michelle - nice that DH will do the +4 and let you sleep - get all you can. And I hope you have a fun date! My DH and I plan to have one too this weekend, but as always, it's in the back of my mind what his majesty will pull on us! Have a great day!
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE AMPS 315

Hey Michelle,
Yeah Scrabble, now slide on down and have a nice surf day.. right through tonight for date night. yes?? yes!!
sleep fast and have a fun fun time tonight.
mary and oliver
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE AMPS 315

Dinner and a movie sounds wonderful! Be a good kitty, Scrabble, so your beans can get out of the house for a bit. Surf safely lil one!
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE AMPS 315 +4 275 +6.5 271

Morning again I got 6 hours sleep and gosh it was needed. I thought Scrabble's numbers would be much better today but not much changed, kind of bummed.
+4 275
+6.5 271
He probably will have movement tonight when I am gone, par for the course.
Have a great day everyone!
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE AMPS 315 +4 275 +6.5 271

6 hours sleep! Nice and considerate of Scrabble to not do anything to alarming today. Enjoy the rest of the day as a break and I look forward to watching the action tonight.
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE AMPS 315 +4 275 +6.5 271 off topic questi

Hi guys this is off topic but was wondering if anyone had any advice/thoughts. My civvie Sabrina who is 13 has been throwing up a lot lately. Most of the time it is clear liquid or food. Once in a whole she will throw up a hairball. These episodes of throwing up usually last a few days & then she will be fine for a week or so then back to it again. She eats the same lc ff diet as scrabble. I hate to take her to the vets since she is an absolute nightmare to get to the vets. Just wondering if anyone has experienced this?
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE AMPS 315 +4 275 +6.5 271 off topic questi

Hi Michelle, glad you got in 6 hours' sleep and so sweet of your DH. I hope Scrabble does a nice surf for you and DH date night.
On Sabrina, gosh I'm not sure. Do you use a hairball remedy? My GA kitty used to throw up a couple times a week, and it was mostly hair. Let's see what others say.
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE AMPS 315 +4 275 +6.5 271 off topic questi

Sunny yellow for Scrabble today. Nice on the extra sleep. :-D What a sweet DH. Have a great time on your date night!!
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE AMPS 315 +4 275 +6.5 271 off topic questi

Does she seem ok otherwise? Sometimes Spot will throw up foam when his tummy is empty and he is hungry...Sometimes it's a few hours before his meal and sometimes it's a few minutes before his meal. Could be that she is hungry and has some stomach acid issues.

Another thing, and I'm not sure if it's the same in cats as it is for dogs....My Akita started throwing up foam....quite often...for him it was the beginning of the end....found out he was in renal failure.

It could be something as simple as stomach acid or something big like renal failure. I certainly don't want to alarm you...just throwing out some thoughts. Maybe try to keep some type of journal of when she throws up. If it's the same time or around the same time, it could just be stomach acid. If it gets to be something that happens more often, tho, I'd get her to the vet.
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE AMPS 315 +4 275 +6.5 271 off topic questi

Hi Michelle. That extra sleep must have felt wonderful :smile:

About Sabrina. My young civvie also throws up. Only in the morning. He eats his kibble, then eats some of Checkers' wet, if Checks doesn't catch him first. Then he always regurgitates. He's doing it deliberately. I know now, to stand by with a chunk of newspaper, magazine, whatever.
I asked Sienne recently about how one knows if the cat is blocked,.....like with string, etc. However, Clancy is never sick otherwise, so I think he's getting rid of hairballs.
Maybe Sabrina can't get the hairballs up? If you call the vet for advice, will they tell you what to watch for, or will they just say to bring her in?
I wish I had something for you to watch for. Change food maybe? I know with Clancy, it's the canned food, that's why I still have kibble in the house.
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE AMPS 315 +4 275 +6.5 271 off topic questi

I like the journal idea. Track when she eats and drinks and when she throws up and what... ie fur, liquid, foam etc. Are you sure its just her? Our cats will throw up a furball but it can take a few times to get it up so we find a patch or two of liquid or food, then one with fur in when they finally get it up.

When was the last time you tested for ketones? Do you brush her regularly? ( she looks like she has long fur.. maybe a moult?)

I am a little concerned that its suddenly happening out the blue so definately keep a close eye on her and maybe a vet visit in the future...
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE AMPS 315 +4 275 +6.5 271 off topic questi

PMPS 320
Thanks for your thoughts on Sabrina I will keep an eye on her. She just ate wih Scrabble so I hope she keeps it down. DH thinks she has a big hairball that needs to come out. I don't brush her as often as I should since she likes it sometimes and other times she wants nothing to do with it. She is kind of a weird cat

On the other hand, Scrabble is doing well, glad we have not seen any red today. The jury is still out whether to raise his dose yet. DH & I are going to dinner but decided to rent a movie at home so I am hoping for some action tonight. Paws crossed.
Hope everyone has a great night.
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE PMPS 320

Have you tried a furball remedy? Sometimes we put a small tab of vaseline on Tiggys paw that he licks off which seems to help. and it doesnt have sugar in it!
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE PMPS 320

I think keeping a journal for Sabrina is a good idea. You may still need to go to the vet, but the journal will help the vet with a diagnosis if you have to go. Enjoy your movie tonight. Maybe you'll see some action from Scrabble tonight.
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE PMPS 320

Let's aim for green tonight, Scrabble, to put a little extra excitement into mommy and daddy's date night. :) As for Sabrina... it sounds very similar to how Willow was with his chronic pancreatitis in the beginning (before it was labeled chronic). He was good for a week or two, then will throw up for a few days, then back to normal for a bit. Now when it happens, there is more drama involved. Blood tinged throw ups, guarding his tummy, obvious discomfort, etc. I like the idea of keeping a journal on it.

Have a great date night with DH! :)
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE PMPS 320 +3 305

+3 305 boooo! Will get another test in a couple of hours. Thanks for everyone's advice, I was wondering about pancreatitis? What is the treatment for that? Sabrina seems ok tonight and has not thrown up. I have heard of e coconut oil, I may try that. Also thinking of increasing scrabble again?
 
Re: 11/29 SCRABBLE PMPS 320 +3 305

Hi Michelle

First, I'd see what Scrabble does tonight. On 11/26, PM cycle, he went from 356 at PMPs to 54 by +5 and that was his sixth bounce cycle. Tonight is also his sixth bounce cycle. With as much as you test, you have a little room to increase but I'd let the bounce clear first and if he doesn't get low, I'd increase as he bounces again.

I do use the Tropical Traditions with all three cats. Gus gets much, much more than Tobey and Gracie. The amount they get only adds 10 calories a day so I adjusted their food just a titch and we play more.

Here's a post I did on Pancreatitis.

I hope Sabrina will be ok. Clear, foamy vomit indicates acid tummy. I'd get her bloodwork checked out and see what her kidneys are doing. There is also a test for pancreatitis which is discussed in my post.

Please le us know how she is.
 
+5 299 gosh no movement really tonight or this morning kind of baffling. So weird how one day he can show so much promise and the next nothing. I forgot how much fun this sugar dance is. I will see how his next cycle goes and if we don't see anything I will increase again. It saddens me to think the first time we were on insulin his highest dose was 1.75 before his breakthrough and when we increase again this time he will be a full unit above what he was the last time.

Thanks Marje for your advice, I just ordered some coconut oil on the internet so I will try that with Sabrina first and see if there is any change and take it from there. My last resort is the vet since she is so horrendous to take there. Her appetite is good tonight and no throwing up, paws crossed it continues.

I will be off to bed soon. This shooting schedule with work is taking a lot out of me so I am going to try and get as much sleep when I can. Have a great night everyone!
 
Hi Michell - just wanted to day hi! sorry I missed your condo today. late her again, as usual. Hope your day today was a good one! Good luck with the dosecrease when you decide to go ahead with it. I hope too that all is well with Sabrina.
 
It seems that for some cats coming back from the falls that they exceed their highest dose from the first time around. Try not to worry.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top