11/29 Rusty AMPS 263, +5.5 296, PMPS 232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
Good Morning Everyone,

Rusty is lounging in a window after having eaten a little breakfast (but he did eat everything I put out for him last night, after not eating much all day during the long trip). What a fine kitty he is! He spent quite a bit of time sleeping with us on the bed last night and was very considerate. He's still getting used to the house and to us (I wonder what he thinks is going to happen today: I took the travel crate apart this morning and stored it in the basement so he would get a clue that he is here to stay). Last night at PMPS we did not have a pleasant test. I think we crowded him too much and frightened him. (This morning l learned from Phoebe their technique for testing and will try it later). Anyway, last night's PMPS was 130 and AMPS today is 263 (another struggle to get blood out of his ear). Rusty only had about half of his usual amount of insulin (Levemir) on his two travel days (the morning shot was skipped on purpose), so I believe that the shed needs to be refilled. I don't want to test him too frequently at present: he's only used to having 2 tests a day. I'm going to add a third, at +5 or +6, so as to get an idea of where his bg is when the insulin peaks (I'm assuming a Levemir curve is similar to Lantus; please correct me if I'm wrong!)
Rusty enjoys playing with toys and playing on the stairs. He is good with his litterbox (I put another one upstairs so that he wouldn't panic if he didn't know where he was) and likes his scratchers and his new scratching post/lounger. Today will be a day of exploration for him. We are so happy to have him here and want to thank again all those FDMB friends who helped to get him to his new home: Phoebe, Leanne & Dwayne, Linda (Bear Man) and Ronnie (Luna), Hope, and of course, Venita, without whom none of this would have taken place. And Claudia, too, for all of her preliminary work with the transport. Thanks guys!

Ella (I've started a SS for Rusty; the link is in my signature. I'll be working on a new signature soon.)
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

woo-hoo!!

look at that...you're already making folks day start off right again!

such a cool rescue, ella...and thank all of you for sharing it with us!

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

We were all following Rusty's adventure and I am so happy for you, Edward, and Rusty. I'm sure it will take a little while for him to get settled and to realize what a lucky boy he is.

Congratulations to you all.
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

Morning Ella - and Rusty! Welcome home Rusty!

Sounds like a mighty fine start for you guys. How wonderful that he slept with you last night- already he has accepted his new home. Fantastic!

I think your plan is a good one - gradual introduction to more testing, etc. So wonderful that already he plays - just everything is so nice.

We all here in LL so enjoyed watching the transport unfold - so many thanks for all that provided photos and updates. What a great day it was. :-D

Miss Ella? I hope Rusty enjoyed his party last night - we all had such fun welcoming him to your home. I hope we cleaned up OK. ~~ Mannie

Rusty - we left some party leftovers for you in your frig - really cool fuds. See you later maybe? Your new pal, Mannie
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

Rusty sounds like he will settle in nicely. So sweet that he slept with you. Just wait till he knows he is there to stay. :-D Good luck w/ the testing, he'll get used to it. Welcome again Rusty!

Yesterday was amazing! Everyone was tracking Rusty's progress. Did you see the number of hits on his threads?
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

Oh how exciting! A Rusty condo!!

Goodness! It sounds like this was a perfect match for everyone, and I am so glad that he's settling in nicely.

Enjoy getting to know each other!
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

Glad Rusty is settling in well --

Charlie did a curve on 11/2
AMPS 82 0.25 levemir (low carb canned food available all day)
+1 84
+2 79
+3 69
+4 62
+5 60
+6 62
+7 67
+8 64
+9 65 snack about here
+10 87
+11 92
+12 77 .25 lev

Levemir curves SHOULD be like Lantus curves, but my DH has too much time on his hands (out of work for nearly 2 yrs now) and insisted on testing every hour.

I've sent Rusty's BG log from 4/1-11/27 via email

phoebe
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

Good morning, Ella
That is a great report for Rusty - it sounds like he's already adjusted to his forever home if he was sleeping with you. :-D I am so happy for all of you. There were many tears of joy yesterday as I followed Rusty's journey. I'm sure you'll have him adjusted to testing soon. Have a wonderful day with your new kitty!
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

Awwww....

Just awww....

Sounds like you're off to a great start!
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

So glad you had a good night with Rusty. Happy exploring today Rusty boy! That was so good that he slept with you guys last night. He sure is a traveling fool, right? I was wondering if he was ready to get going somewhere this morning! :lol:

Is he singing the Willie Nelson song "On the Road Again?" :mrgreen:
How great that he did so well in the car and with all the new friends he met!
So happy for the three of you Ella, Edward and Rusty! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Shadow has always had a later nadir...at around +8. But, when I increase his dose, it moves up earlier in the cycle.
Here is some info on the basics:
Lantus and Levemir...what is the difference: http://www.diabeteshealth.com/read/2007 ... ifference/
Looking forward to his condos each day....what a lucky little kitty he is....so handsome too! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

Rusty is finally Home and you two are now beans again here with us-
We are all so overjoyed for you..Giving such a beautiful boy a great life, and with you & Edward, he will have a great life--We are so happy for you.
Guess the Lev will be a little adjustment for you..I know you will be the best beans in the Universe!
Again, welcome Rusty, we love you so much already!

Rusty, I heards that you was coming and we is so happy that you got such a great home--Hope you liked the party last night, you are so handsome..and gentle-
We lubs you already! How did you like the fuds?? Big Hugs will visit you later--Moonie! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

I'm glad he is settling in so well. I hope that shed fills up quickly.

He doesn't like the crate, but I bet that if you took out the harness he wouldn't mind a little ride in the car, you know, just to look out the window and stuff.

Good seeing you at the party, Rusty. Don't be a stranger.
Ted
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

Hi Ella. It sure sounds like Rusty knows he's home and that you are his Beans. It's amazing how well he's settling. I'm so happy for all of you.

Tori wants Rusty to know that she thinks he is a real handsome boy and such a gentleman. She was so glad to meet him at his party last night.

Enjoy your new baby.
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

What a great report for Rusty this morning and how wonderful that he slept with you!! Maybe he didn't want too much testing because he was partied out!!
I'm impressed with the curve Charlie did...what awesome numbers and he's not on much juice!! I hope he settles in for you soon. (((Ella, Edward, Rusty))).

Rusty..welcome to LL!!! We hope you had a wonderful time at the party last night and now you know what a great chef Mannie is!!! We went all out to welcome you wif our best menu!!! (((Rusty)))...and did you see Curry...she has eyes for you!! She's very beautiful!
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

Hi again Everyone,

So there was a party here for Rusty last night! No wonder he wasn't hungry this morning!! (Actually, he just ate some more of the food I put out this morning, but I had to bring it to him. I don't think he likes eating in the kitchen! Or maybe he forgot where it is.)

I just got all of Rusty's bg numbers from Phoebe (beginning on April 1st 2010), so I'll be incorporating them into Rusty's SS later today. He has great numbers!!

More later.

Ella
Hey all you LL Kitties. THANK YOU FOR MY PARTY!! I was surprised and the food was delicious.
Rusty
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

Ella,

Once he settles in, he will probably remember that he always ate in my kitchen - for a year and a half. Will have to send you a picture I took of him, Sorianna and Makita eating.

I'll send it when I get home.

His BS levels will settle back down once he recouperates from the trip.

Claudia
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

Since he's been living in my bedroom for 4 months -- he is probably thinking it will be there.

He'll sniff it out when he's hungry, hopefully
:)
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

Ella's first Rusty condo! How exciting! He really sounds like an amazing cat already, Ella. All that traveling, different people, new places...and he's already playing and sleeping with you? That's fantastic! I'm so thrilled for you all!

Wusty - I had so much fun at you paw-ty last night - it was gweat to meets you! You sure is fwuffy and handsome! Wasn't Mannie's fuds yummy? I just wanna tells you one more time, welcome to you fureber home! - Muffin
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263

So nice to see a Rusty condo! And great WCR.

Big big welcome to Rusty, he just doesn't even realize yet what a wonderful household he has landed in.

I'm so happy for all of you!
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263, +5.5 296

I was so waiting to see a Rusty condo today.

What a wonderful story, what a wonderful group of people that helped to make this happen....Its like one of those Hallmark movies that just bring tears to your eyes.....Happy tears!!!

Glad to hear he is beginning to settle in w/y'all.
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263, +5.5 296

Welcome back/Home..Ella and Rusty! Glad to see Rusty's first condo in LL! I'm sure that after a few days, Rusty will feel right at home.

Hi Rusty!! Wow, how nice it was to meet you last night! I hope you weren't to oberwhelmed by all da felines making such a fuss ober da new guy! You will like it here, ebeyone is so nice and fun to be wit. We do lots of party's and hang out just because. Welcome to da pride, new buddy!..........Lubs Spot
 
Re: 11/29 Rusty AMPS 263, +5.5 296

Ella,

Rusty's first condo, how exciting! So glad to see this and very happy for you and Edward. I don't think it will take this boy to long to get used to his new home. I bet the 3 of you had a good nights sleep.

He has great #'s Ella! Way to go Rusty!

It was nice to watch him take his journey. Thanks to all that made that happen, and to those that fostered him. Helping cats is what we know.

:-D
 
Hi again,

Sorry I didn't get to visit many condos today: Rusty needs to feel at home and I wanted to help him. He was tired all day and slept a lot in the windows and on his "perch" on top of the scratching post (we actually had a sunny day!). He didn't eat much all day, but this evening he ate more. He likes freeze-dried chicken treats. My ear testing worked a little bit better, but I'm still having trouble getting blood. He doesn't like the rice sock, but getting blood without it is almost impossible, so I'm going to use it tomorrow. I may have given a fur shot this evening. Boy, my technique has really deteriorated! (But his fur really is long, and he squirms!) Anyway, I hope it wasn't a fur shot, because his shed needs refilling. Still trying to get some good photos and will include some when I do.
Thanks, everyone, for your good wishes. We love this big guy!

'till tomorrow (really tired this evening),

Ella (& Rusty)
 
You and Rusty had a big day today, no wonder you're tired. I'm sure it will just take some time for you to get used to poking Rusty. Have you tried the other ear? Sometimes one bleeds easier than the other. I am so happy for you all! It sounds like Rusty had a good day.
 
Hi Ella and Rusty!

One has to love long haired cats! It seems from the photos I've seen that Rusty has an abundance! I am sure that your technique will return, and between the two of you you will figure out what works. Mannie's fur is really long too, and I shoot him while he is eating. He's so engrossed in the food that he never pays any attention to me parting the fur and giving him his shot. :lol:

I am glad that Rusty is adjusting well. The rest will come in time. I hope you guys have a restful evening! I know how tired you all must be. I bet Rusty is too - it's been a busy couple of days. What a cutie he is!

Hi Everybody!! (((HUGS!!))) ~~ Mannie
 
Hi Ella,

I'm late, as usual :lol: so nice to see you both posting!
Lots of positive vibes for things to run smoothly, all in good time!
Please give Rusty a big tummy rub for me. cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top