11/29 Rocket PMPS 112 +2.5 70 +3 63 +3.75 68 +5 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
Morning all, hope you have a good day and i shall visit condos later!

not sure how much the AMPS 126 is influenced by food spike....he ate at +10.....i fell asleep and didn't get up to feed him until then....he is eating now....and i'm going btb for a little bit....til later!!!!

here is yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30823
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket AMPS 126

a nice low blue to start the week! I hope rocket comes down just a wee bit and surfs the greens for you later on .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket AMPS 126

Ahh, a nice blue for Rocket...and a good chance Rocket could get some nice greens today too! Keeping my fingers crossed!
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket AMPS 126 +2.5 58 +3 52

fell asleep...i totally wanted a +1 or +2 at least.....then got up +2.5 57.6 and +3 52.2
fed a lil each time...testing again in half hr
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket AMPS 126 +2.5 58 +3 52

Me three....Curry went from 135 to 53 at +3....What's up w/these kitties this morning?

Nice catch Claudia.
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket AMPS 126 +2.5 58 +3 52 +3.5 59

+3.5 59.4
nowmy brain is dead for whatever reason....do i feed again and test again in another half hr?
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket AMPS 126 +2.5 58 +3 52 +3.5 59 +4 61

soon after testing at +3.5 i went to give him his fluids....and he gets chicken dust while sitting oh so nicely for me....so now at +4 61.2....he's decided he's had enough of the poking so since it's nice and sunny (not warm!) he would go out on the balcony to enjoy some cold weather but fresh air!

it's 5 F outside...will bring him in shortly....where his bed is he gets lots of sun and no wind....but still.....will test in 1 hr and see where he is at.....with that chicken dust i don't think he will come down that low...or will he?????
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket AMPS 126 +2.5 58 +3 52 +3.5 59 +4 61 +5 83

he is sleeping now on his bed by the bedroom window....so at +5 82.8 i'm heading out for a couple of hrs....i'm hoping he is ok....i'd rather stay home but ran out of ~O) ~O) so gotta go grocery shopping!!!

will visit condos later today.....
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket PMPS 112

recap
AMPS 126
+2.5 57.6
+3 52.2
+3.5 59.4
+4 61.2
+5 82.8
+9 97.2
PMPS111.6

let's see what he does tonight! i hope he doesn't dive....don't know when/if the diving will ever stop?
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket PMPS 112

Nice cycle this morning, Claudia! You did great! Now, no diving tonight, Rocket! (He did start it, Tinkles just HAD to join in!) :lol:
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket PMPS 112 +2 83

he ate at PMPS but hasn't touched food since....will test in 1 hr and see where he is at....

this is the same # he gave me at +2 last night...then 1/2 hr later he dove further.....i will probably test in 1/2 hr
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket PMPS 112 +2 83 +2.5 70

still no interest in food...will test in 1/2 hr and see where he is at.....will get the gravy out in case i need it....
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket PMPS 112 +2 83 +2.5 70 +3 63

he is eating now so hopefully he won't drop further....will test in 1 hr and hopefully i won't get a shocking surprise of a low # nailbite_smile

how come at 0.5u are the green ps so alusive for Rocket? should i be giving him a fat 0.5? what exactly do you guys mean by a fat dose? based on his SS...can anyone shed some light into what i need to do next?
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket PMPS 112 +2 83 +2.5 70 +3 63

Claudia & Rocket said:
he is eating now so hopefully he won't drop further....will test in 1 hr and hopefully i won't get a shocking surprise of a low # nailbite_smile

how come at 0.5u are the green ps so alusive for Rocket? should i be giving him a fat 0.5? what exactly do you guys mean by a fat dose? based on his SS...can anyone shed some light into what i need to do next?
hi claudia. there's not a whole lot of room for an increase, but you could fatten the dose IF you're comfortable
1. feeding the curve to prevent rocket from going too low
2. are available to monitor closely

a "fat" dose is probably best described as "a drop" more of insulin. at rocket's present dose it would mean drawing the dose til the plunger is even with the side of the 0.5u line furthest from the needle.

if you're not comfortable managing the curve with food, it's ok. the important thing is overall rocket is staying within the normal range. fattening up the dose will only create more overlap which should bring the preshot numbers down. it's really up to you whether you want to try to get rocket into a little tighter range.
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket PMPS 112 +2 83 +2.5 70 +3 63 +3.75 68

so many questions but for now i will ask the one that has stayed in my mind since this whole thing started again with Rocket...

what #s does he need to consistently be at in order to do the trial of hopefully being otj again? his old ss shows higher #s than what i'm seeing here now 2 yrs later....so not sure when it becomes relevant to stop giving insulin....this is sort of confusing to me now? sorry to ask a dumb question but would like some input on this....
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket PMPS 112 +2 83 +2.5 70 +3 63 +3.75 68

Claudia & Rocket said:
so many questions but for now i will ask the one that has stayed in my mind since this whole thing started again with Rocket...

what #s does he need to consistently be at in order to do the trial of hopefully being otj again? his old ss shows higher #s than what i'm seeing here now 2 yrs later....so not sure when it becomes relevant to stop giving insulin....this is sort of confusing to me now? sorry to ask a dumb question but would like some input on this....
we usually suggest starting an otj trial when kitty is mostly green (50 - 99) with only occasional low blues (100 - 120 or so) and has maintained these numbers on 0.1u for about a week (unless kitty drops too low).

two years ago insulin was withheld sooner than usually recommended. being newly diagnosed, rocket was fortunate to handle things on his own. imho, this time around, you'll want to offer him as much support as you can for as long as you can. he's older and no longer considered a newly diagnosed kitty. you want to give him the best chance of a remission that will stick. and even at that, there are no guarantees... as i've found out with alex. this is her third stint on insulin in 4+ years. health issues *may* knock an otj kitty out of remission at any given time.
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket PMPS 112 +2 83 +2.5 70 +3 63 +3.75 68

Jill,
thank you for your input and explanation. I do want what is best for Rocket. I just feel discouraged sometimes....and you are right...health issues are probably playing a big role in all this....his CRF is not bad...and i have made sure i help him with that....his seizures are well controlled and has not had an episode since he started the pheno...so yeah i am willing to help him as long as possible...i just don't understand how the pancreas/insulin work....i do but don't if that makes sense....so seeing he is able to get low #s puzzles me a bit but also puzzles me him not being able to suspain the greens long term in one cycle for instance....
 
Re: 11/29 Rocket PMPS 112 +2 83 +2.5 70 +3 63 +3.75 68

Claudia & Rocket said:
Jill,
thank you for your input and explanation. I do want what is best for Rocket. I just feel discouraged sometimes....and you are right...health issues are probably playing a big role in all this....his CRF is not bad...and i have made sure i help him with that....his seizures are well controlled and has not had an episode since he started the pheno...so yeah i am willing to help him as long as possible...i just don't understand how the pancreas/insulin work....i do but don't if that makes sense....so seeing he is able to get low #s puzzles me a bit but also puzzles me him not being able to suspain the greens long term in one cycle for instance....
the low numbers you're seeing is from the insulin you're giving him. you're giving him what his body cannot provide.
by doing the work of the pancreas for him (giving him insulin), you're allowing the pancreas to rest and heal. if he has any healthy beta cells left, they will heal and regenerate. that's why we offer support for as long as possible by following these guidelines:

Reducing the dose...
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
  • If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
  • Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581



edited to add: i'm not sure why you're feeling discouraged. rocket is responding beautifully and you're doing an awesome job with him!
 
if he has any healthy beta cells left, they will heal and regenerate. that's why we offer support for as long as possible
edited to add: i'm not sure why you're feeling discouraged. rocket is responding beautifully and you're doing an awesome job with him!

Jill,
how does one know if they still have healthy beta cells left? sorry for such a dumb question....

i know i should not be discouraged as i've seen others' SS and yes he is in good numbers....the discouragement comes about looking at his med regimen and i feel for him...though i know he does have a good life and so long as i know he is not in pain i'm ok doing it all to help him....my head is playing tricks on me tonight....i just would love for him to be regulated (if with insulin but not those drops he has) in order to have peace of mind that i can leave the house without freaking out on the what ifs.....that's my main wish....perhaps this is one reason why i'm sabotaging getting a job so i can be here and get him under control....or i may just be reading too much into his SS lately....
 
Gorgeous green numbers Rocket!! Whatever you are doing, it's great!--He's doing so well!!
And such a gorgeous cat too! Hope he can go OTJ again for you! :mrgreen:
 
Claudia & Rocket said:
Jill,
how does one know if they still have healthy beta cells left? sorry for such a dumb question....
there isn't any way to know. that's why we give kitties every opportunity we can to heal. we can only do so much. the rest is up to the body.

i know i should not be discouraged as i've seen others' SS and yes he is in good numbers....the discouragement comes about looking at his med regimen and i feel for him...though i know he does have a good life and so long as i know he is not in pain i'm ok doing it all to help him....my head is playing tricks on me tonight....i just would love for him to be regulated (if with insulin but not those drops he has) in order to have peace of mind that i can leave the house without freaking out on the what ifs.....that's my main wish....perhaps this is one reason why i'm sabotaging getting a job so i can be here and get him under control....or i may just be reading too much into his SS lately....
rocket does tend to drop early, but he pretty much evens out after that. many have managed with timed feeders or scheduling shot time so they're able to get a +2 before going to work. it definitely takes a little more creativity when you know you won't be home all day. as far as getting him under control, you're pretty darn close to having him tightly controlled and that hasn't been by accident. you've worked hard to get him where he is!
 
thank you Jill so much for your words....i feel better....i will continue to help him as long as he needs me....

off to bed i go...won't test further than his +5....hopefully my iphone alarm will wake me in the wee hrs and perhaps i can get a +9 or +10....

good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top