Frosty
Member Since 2012
11/29/13 RECAP
AMPS 278
+1.5/280
+3.5/238
+5.5/247
+7.5/314
PMPS 315
Just got home with PurrFace. He is so much better and alert. The ER vet said his last BG reading there was 100. He was in the 290 range but dropped when they stopped the insulin drip at 6 a.m. it started to drop some. She said the insulin they use is an instant type and once they stop the drip it's used up within an hour. He wouldn't eat for they there so that was her main concern. She said if he eats it would be OK to start his insulin again but decrease his dose from the 2.25U BID to 1.8U BID. It's going to be hard to dial in a 1.8U dose. I'm guessing that's a f1.5U in our terminology.
When he got home he went straight to his cat lounger and gave it a good scratching and then over to where he gets feed. He ate 1/2 can of a 3oz can of FF. poor guy hasn't eaten since yesterday morning AMPS. And then he only ate about 2tsps. Since he just ate I'll about 2-1/2 hours before testing him.
It just dawned nome that their low BG threshold isn't as high as it sounded. They said they use a human test meter that allows them to program it for cats or dogs. My guess is it's an AlphaTrac. If it is a 150 reading would be about a 120 on our Relion Micro. When we arrived at the ER yesterday our meter had him at a 34 and theirs had him in the low 60s I believe.
Thank you all for your reassuring and calming support. It is greatly appreciated.
PurrFace's Condo
AMPS 278
+1.5/280
+3.5/238
+5.5/247
+7.5/314
PMPS 315
Just got home with PurrFace. He is so much better and alert. The ER vet said his last BG reading there was 100. He was in the 290 range but dropped when they stopped the insulin drip at 6 a.m. it started to drop some. She said the insulin they use is an instant type and once they stop the drip it's used up within an hour. He wouldn't eat for they there so that was her main concern. She said if he eats it would be OK to start his insulin again but decrease his dose from the 2.25U BID to 1.8U BID. It's going to be hard to dial in a 1.8U dose. I'm guessing that's a f1.5U in our terminology.
When he got home he went straight to his cat lounger and gave it a good scratching and then over to where he gets feed. He ate 1/2 can of a 3oz can of FF. poor guy hasn't eaten since yesterday morning AMPS. And then he only ate about 2tsps. Since he just ate I'll about 2-1/2 hours before testing him.
It just dawned nome that their low BG threshold isn't as high as it sounded. They said they use a human test meter that allows them to program it for cats or dogs. My guess is it's an AlphaTrac. If it is a 150 reading would be about a 120 on our Relion Micro. When we arrived at the ER yesterday our meter had him at a 34 and theirs had him in the low 60s I believe.
Thank you all for your reassuring and calming support. It is greatly appreciated.
PurrFace's Condo