? 11/29 Mr. Kitty AMPS 378, +2 380, +4 413, +6 469

Sara and Mr. Kitty

Member Since 2018
Hello, anyone want to take a peak at our spreadsheet to chime in with thoughts or suggestions?

Mr. Kitty continues to fluctuate but finally got yellow's yesterday -- but only after his highest PMPS the night before and the other strange part is the yellow's were right before and after his daily small treat of YA dry food. We tested +5 at 287 then he ate and +6 at 265. He's all over the place today, naturally, so we're on track for a curve tomorrow then another increase. He is 18 pounds. I would also like to get more evening or early morning tests in. As always, thanks for reading and giving advice :cat:
 
Hello, I was wondering what happened between Feb - September of this year? Am I the only one who can't see all those months or are they just not there? That's a little confusing.

If you could please edit your title to add Mr. Kitty's name that would also be very helpful.

With SLGS you hold the dose for 14 cycles...looks like he's ready for an increase tomorrow morning. Hasn't seen any green lately.

He sounds like a big boy :)
 
Hello, I was wondering what happened between Feb - September of this year? Am I the only one who can't see all those months or are they just not there? That's a little confusing.

If you could please edit your title to add Mr. Kitty's name that would also be very helpful.

With SLGS you hold the dose for 14 cycles...looks like he's ready for an increase tomorrow morning. Hasn't seen any green lately.

He sounds like a big boy :)
He was in remission from February to October so those spot tests are hidden.
 
He was in remission from February to October so those spot tests are hidden.
We typically show the tests that were performed (spot checks) during the remission phase. If you could open it up to display those dates and the 'NS' indication then everyone will understand that he was in remission during that time and was not receiving insulin.

If you don't have the dates, etc. just enter a big colored line there to indicate that he was in remission and was not receiving insulin - but it would be good to show his normal test numbers during that time.

You can look at Sonia and Leo's spreadsheet as an example of what it looks like to display that info. No info is wasted on us :)

Glad to hear he's lost a little weight! WOW! He was a big boy!!
 
We typically show the tests that were performed (spot checks) during the remission phase. If you could open it up to display those dates and the 'NS' indication then everyone will understand that he was in remission during that time and was not receiving insulin.

If you don't have the dates, etc. just enter a big colored line there to indicate that he was in remission and was not receiving insulin - but it would be good to show his normal test numbers during that time.

You can look at Sonia and Leo's spreadsheet as an example of what it looks like to display that info. No info is wasted on us :)

Glad to hear he's lost a little weight! WOW! He was a big boy!!
Thank you! I added a line to indicate we were in remission during that time.

I just got a +2 after PMPS and he’s almost 100 points higher so I’m really confused. Im not sure if this is normal but it’s been a trend and it’s making me feel that either the insulin is bad, we’re giving to much or I don’t know. It is normal for BG to be this much higher after a shot? He ate a few bites of lc fancy feast and I can’t image that would spike him that much. We used Vetsulin before so Lantus is brand new and I’m finding it super difficult to use because it doesn’t seem to be helping.
 
Getting a 2nd remission is always much harder than the first one. Also, I think you probably pulled the plug a little too early the first time.

We usually want to see our OTJ cats in mostly green numbers before we try an OTJ trial with just an occasional number in low blue. Of course with Vetsulin, that's a little more nerve-wracking due to how it works.

You test more than enough to do TR instead of SLGS....I'd really suggest it since you can change his dose as often as every 3 days instead of holding it for a full 7 when it's obviously not getting him where you want him.
 
It is definitely time for an increase. Any chance of getting rid of dry food from his diet? If not, then you have to stick to SLGS and increasing once a week.

As for tonight's cycle, he might be bouncing from those yellows yesterday. Numbers wobble around a lot during a bounce.
 
Getting a 2nd remission is always much harder than the first one. Also, I think you probably pulled the plug a little too early the first time.

We usually want to see our OTJ cats in mostly green numbers before we try an OTJ trial with just an occasional number in low blue. Of course with Vetsulin, that's a little more nerve-wracking due to how it works.

You test more than enough to do TR instead of SLGS....I'd really suggest it since you can change his dose as often as every 3 days instead of holding it for a full 7 when it's obviously not getting him where you want him.
I agree that we pulled the plug way to soon. He’s doing so good today and I am planning on asking for another look at our spreadsheet as his numbers have been quite amazing after the increase this morning.
 
It is definitely time for an increase. Any chance of getting rid of dry food from his diet? If not, then you have to stick to SLGS and increasing once a week.

As for tonight's cycle, he might be bouncing from those yellows yesterday. Numbers wobble around a lot during a bounce.
Thank you for responding. We increased his dose this morning and his numbers today are shocking!! But in a good way! I plan on testing at +11 before posting a new question for help with dosing tonight because every test today has been lower than the previous test and I want to make sure we’re on the right path since Lantus is new to us. No dry food today.
 
Dry food for most diabetic kitties is like giving them cookies and ice cream and expecting their blood glucose numbers to be just fine! I'm so glad you ditched the dry food. Now, if you can just donate it to a shelter! That said, please watch Mr. Kitty's numbers. We've seen a number of cat's whose numbers dropped quickly once dry food was gone from their diet.
 
Back
Top