11/29 Max AMPS 464 +4 365 +8 265 PMPS 356 +10 398

Rick Max’s dad

Member Since 2020
Max has stabilized on his new food which he loves. He has a small sore on the outside of his bottom lip, looks like a burst pimple sort of. I'm basically wondering when I should start moving him to a higher dose. he's on 2.5 IU and is normally quite stable however a couple days he dipped into the normal range so I'm a bit uncertain.

Thanks for your help.
 
Yes he's been on the new food for nearly a week. was just the last couple days he got diarrhea, he was doing fine before that. I'll be doing the SLGS method.
 
I bet the food change is causing the diarrhea. I’d do a curve after 7 days since you saw the green. So I’d hold for 3 more days. Actually a reduction was earned by the drop under 90 but since you didn’t take it just hold the dose until you do another curve. Please add SLGS to your signature.
 
Rick, if ever you see a bg under 90l at any time when following SLGS, it calls for a .25 reduction. Then you hold the dose for a week and do a curve, unless you catch another bg under 90 and need to take another reduction.
 
I'll keep an eye out for another drop. It kind of through me off though because he was pretty consistently high, not really even showing a nadir most days and then one or two times he dipped way down. Do I use these abnormal lows as my guide or the levels he shows more regularly?
 
You reduce the lows whenever they occur. When cats that aren’t regulated drop lower than used to they then go high.
 
Last edited:
We decide how to change the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat. The high numbers are just bounces, or his body getting used to lower numbers again. Over time, as he gets used to normal blood sugar values, he won't bounce as much and will level out. There is no time frame for this, it is really up to each cat.

If you haven't seen the definition of a bounce yet:
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

As you can see, you can get 1 cycle of nice numbers followed by up to six cycles of higher numbers. At least in the beginning. That also means it's important to try to get a second test each cycle, if you can, to try and spot those cycles with lower numbers in them.
 
Back
Top