11/29 Luna AMPS 428, +4 300

Elle & Luna

Member Since 2023
previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-26-luna-amps-297-4-435-dosing.283978/#post-3126933


not super happy with these numbers lately but at least they are not too low. tried 1.25 for a couple days but i knew deep down that wouldn't be enough, so Luna is on 1.5 U twice daily now. still not seeing many blue numbers, but we are getting a freestyle libre placed today which should help gather more data on the dips while i am away dec 3 - 10.
 
previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-26-luna-amps-297-4-435-dosing.283978/#post-3126933


not super happy with these numbers lately but at least they are not too low. tried 1.25 for a couple days but i knew deep down that wouldn't be enough, so Luna is on 1.5 U twice daily now. still not seeing many blue numbers, but we are getting a freestyle libre placed today which should help gather more data on the dips while i am away dec 3 - 10.
Good luck with the dose and the Libre, Elle. Luna is adorable :bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks so much <3 She did so well!
 

Attachments

  • image0 (1).jpeg
    image0 (1).jpeg
    39.6 KB · Views: 69
Awww. Sweet baby. Was the cone just for the install of the Libre?
I use a tee shirt on Ivy to keep her Libre covered so she can’t rip it off (she would if I didn’t cover it).

She had a really bad case of chin acne that started around the time of her peak diabetes symptoms in early September, and she kept itching it to the point where it turned into a really bad open wound on her chin. I went through so many types of cones that didn't work for various reasons so it was a wound that would have at best a day or two of healing and then she'd find ways to scratch it and reopen it. It was really awful to see her so miserable and frustrating for me because nothing I tried was working. I eventually found these soft but structured cones from Etsy (milliondogs shop if you're interested or ever need a cone) in early October and she's had it on since and it's been uninterrupted healing time since then. Still needs some more time to fully heal but she's so comfortable in these cones she doesn't mind them at all. We're at the point now where I can give her supervised breaks to clean herself but it's still a pretty sensitive/itchy spot.

It definitely came in handy today though as she really did not like the shaving!

Luna doesn't seem like she even knows something is there right now which is awesome, hoping it stays that way - she might just be too distracted by her chin to care lol

Actually I have a question for you if you don't mind since you also use Libre 3 - do you log the Libre numbers in the spreadsheet then? And I know there can be some discrepancies between Libre numbers and the blood glucose tests, do you use a different number to know when to skip a dose? For me I don't shoot below 180 but I'm not sure if that would translate to a lower Libre number.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_7303.jpg
    IMG_7303.jpg
    47.6 KB · Views: 71
  • IMG_7249.jpg
    IMG_7249.jpg
    36.8 KB · Views: 71
She had a really bad case of chin acne that started around the time of her peak diabetes symptoms in early September, and she kept itching it to the point where it turned into a really bad open wound on her chin. I went through so many types of cones that didn't work for various reasons so it was a wound that would have at best a day or two of healing and then she'd find ways to scratch it and reopen it. It was really awful to see her so miserable and frustrating for me because nothing I tried was working. I eventually found these soft but structured cones from Etsy (milliondogs shop if you're interested or ever need a cone) in early October and she's had it on since and it's been uninterrupted healing time since then. Still needs some more time to fully heal but she's so comfortable in these cones she doesn't mind them at all. We're at the point now where I can give her supervised breaks to clean herself but it's still a pretty sensitive/itchy spot.

It definitely came in handy today though as she really did not like the shaving!

Luna doesn't seem like she even knows something is there right now which is awesome, hoping it stays that way - she might just be too distracted by her chin to care lol

Actually I have a question for you if you don't mind since you also use Libre 3 - do you log the Libre numbers in the spreadsheet then? And I know there can be some discrepancies between Libre numbers and the blood glucose tests, do you use a different number to know when to skip a dose? For me I don't shoot below 180 but I'm not sure if that would translate to a lower Libre number.
Hi. That’s great that she doesn’t mind the soft cones. Good job finding that. They do come in handy when you need them.
She looks so cute wearing them!

Ivy unfortunately, broke her leg earlier this summer, and had to wear a cone for two months or more. It was awful because she kept trying to lick her surgical site on her leg. However, thank goodness we are passed that at this moment.
So yeah, I’m familiar with cones too sadly.
As for the Libre, yes I log it into my spreadsheet. You’re welcome to take a look at my spreadsheet so you can see. if, for some reason I do an ear prick. I will note that as well for my entry, and noted as Contour, which is the meter I use.

I also will note Libre if the number is under 100 so that someone looking at my spreadsheet realizes it’s a Libre number, which, of course is somewhat higher on a handheld meter but if you don’t lose a Libre, you may not make that connection, a glance.

As far as the number you don’t shoot at, that’s something that you may want to speak with a moderator here about. I don’t want to give you bad advice on dosing and skipping shots.

As for myself, when Ivy is very low on the libre, like under 50 or under 40 , or when it reads “lo,” I will test with a blood test, ear prick and use a handheld meter to know exactly where she is.

That’s how I determine skipping shots or reducing doses, etc. For example, if she was anywhere under 60 or so on the Libre, I would want to double check on the handheld meter to know really where her number was and then make my decision of shooting or reducing a dose.

I know I’m not answering exactly, but I hope this helps a little bit since you’re new at this, there’s so much to learn.

I’m happy to answer any questions about the libre though since I’ve been using one since February. Keep asking people questions, don’t forget to put a question in your title. If you have something you need answered so that people will see it and you should always tag an administrator if you need help with something.
You’re doing great and Luna is lucky to have you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
upload_2023-11-29_20-23-50.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-11-29_20-23-50.jpeg
    upload_2023-11-29_20-23-50.jpeg
    75.1 KB · Views: 130
Hi. That’s great that she doesn’t mind the soft cones. Good job finding that. They do come in handy when you need them.
She looks so cute wearing them!

Ivy unfortunately, broke her leg earlier this summer, and had to wear a cone for two months or more. It was awful because she kept trying to lick her surgical site on her leg. However, thank goodness we are passed that at this moment.
So yeah, I’m familiar with cones too sadly.
As for the Libre, yes I log it into my spreadsheet. You’re welcome to take a look at my spreadsheet so you can see. if, for some reason I do an ear prick. I will note that as well for my entry, and noted as Contour, which is the meter I use.

I also will note Libre if the number is under 100 so that someone looking at my spreadsheet realizes it’s a Libre number, which, of course is somewhat higher on a handheld meter but if you don’t lose a Libre, you may not make that connection, a glance.

As far as the number you don’t shoot at, that’s something that you may want to speak with a moderator here about. I don’t want to give you bad advice on dosing and skipping shots.

As for myself, when Ivy is very low on the libre, like under 50 or under 40 , or when it reads “lo,” I will test with a blood test, ear prick and use a handheld meter to know exactly where she is.

That’s how I determine skipping shots or reducing doses, etc. For example, if she was anywhere under 60 or so on the Libre, I would want to double check on the handheld meter to know really where her number was and then make my decision of shooting or reducing a dose.

I know I’m not answering exactly, but I hope this helps a little bit since you’re new at this, there’s so much to learn.

I’m happy to answer any questions about the libre though since I’ve been using one since February. Keep asking people questions, don’t forget to put a question in your title. If you have something you need answered so that people will see it and you should always tag an administrator if you need help with something.
You’re doing great and Luna is lucky to have you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:View attachment 68141

I'm glad Ivy is doing better!! She is so cute.

Really appreciate the guidance, totally makes sense and I'll probably do something similar for my spreadsheet. Thanks so much!
 
Back
Top