11/29 Gracie PMPS 154 +2 103 +3 80 Presentation Link

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

11/28 Recap:
AMPS: 81 7th cycle c1u lev
+2: 161
+4: 189
+7: 264
PMPS: 246 8th cycle c1u lev
+3:232
+5: 262


Welcome to Tuesday!! Our very deepest condolences go to MJ.....LL hearts are breaking and tears are flowing with hers as Donny as crossed the Bridge to join Butthead and all our other GAs. We also continue to send prayers to Jill and Mike and healing vines to all our ailing LL kitties and beans.

Gracie has decided to wear her yellow dress for her vetty visit at our house for the FD presentation. Wouldn't you know? She gave mamabean tons of snuggles and purrs last night as she slept curled tightly up next to me. She and Tobey are wandering around here this morning trying to figure out why we are cleaning house on a TUESDAY......no wait...why are the BEANS cleaning house????? At any rate, back to FD....I'm hoping she will do her usual "kick it into gear on the 10th cycle" thing.

Things are busy around here getting ready for the presentation. I'll let you all know how it goes. Hope each of you and your babies are well today.
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie AMPS 238

Good luck with your excellent presentation!

Around here the laws of physics have a special twist. What goes down, goes back up. OK Gracie, that's "up" enough. Try the down part again.
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie AMPS 238

Marje, good luck with the presentation today. I didn't realize you were doing it at your house! And Miss Gracie, come on down a little...or are you just a little excited about everything taking place today?!
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie AMPS 238

Good luck! You will do great.

Miss Gracie looks much better in blue but light yellow is a nice safe number with all you have going on. Kitty snuggles in full force is a great way to sleep.

Have a great day Marje!
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie AMPS 238

Good luck, let us know how it goes! Any Gracie looks adorable no matter what color dress she's wearing.
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie AMPS 238

Best of luck, girl!!

and from binksy's "favor" condo...
I've got JUST the resident in mind for Gracie's "Stank-eye" pic :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie AMPS 238

Good luck on the presentation today. You are amazing with all you do! I didn't realize it was going to be at your house either, but it makes sense as you have your whole setup there. :-D

Not today of course, but did you see my note last night that Google Docs has a presentation do? I was wondering if you could upload it there to share it? We'd all love to see it.

:thumbup :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup

business-cat-meme-generator-boss-wished-me-luck-on-the-presentation-like-i-need-it-fa833a.jpg
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie AMPS 238

Gracie is much prettier in blue and green, but yellow isn't a bad color either - especially since you are busy today. Good luck with the prez - I'm sure it will be great.

Linda, your physics lesson made me LOL!
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie AMPS 238

Hey Marje, You don't have to tell them what Gracie's AMPS is today!!!
I hope the presentation goes really well and that you will stimulate them to start thinking differently about Feline Diabetes. Can't wait to hear your report on the day.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Would we be able to view your presentation even if we don't have Powerpoint? If the answer is yes, I'll PM you my e mail address. I'd love to see it.

p.p.s. Since you don't need Tobey for the presentation, why don't you send him over here for a visit?
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie AMPS 238

Hi Marje, lots of luck. You will do great, and I hope this will help the Vets be more open to their pet owners home testing.
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie AMPS 238 +5.5 224 +7.5 193 +10 140

Hi everyone!!

Yes, we did the presentation at the house here. Mike and I made some yummy soup and salad and we set it all up in the dining room with our big screen from our desktop computer and using the laptop. I made packets of info for each vet including the TR protocol, the Tilly protocol, the abstract for the publication of the Roomp/Rand TR protocol, the "Start Low, Go Slow" protocol (for their clients who are not interested in TR), and the AAHA Guidelines for treating diabetes in cats and dogs and which supports hometesting. I also included a printed copy of the slide presentation.

Great idea, Ann.....I already had it loaded to google docs but didn't think about sharing it.

Here is the link below and I would suggest that you click on "download original" in the upper right hand corner and you'll see it as I presented it. The google doc does not have the colors, etc. Also, on the original document, on the bottom right, there are three icons next to a % (which is the zoom). If you click on the far right one....it will show it one slide at a time as in a real powerpoint presentation. Hopefully you can see it!!

Presentation

I thought it went really, really well. They were very open and asked great questions including what are some of the good human glucometers and where to get the test strips as they understand about the cost of the AT. They also were unaware of the pens vs vials, the insulin depot of lantus/levemir and how it works, etc etc. I really threw alot of info at them and they seemed to be very interested....I was really happy with how it went. After the powerpoint, I showed them the main felinediabetes.com webpage and they were extremely impressed with all the info. They wrote down the links and also the info on how to find the J&B food chart. I discussed at length why DM is not a good diet and when I said "no dry food" they said "not even DM dry"? They wanted to be able to share the other food choices with clients. I then took them through FDMB...showing them the different forums and info and also a stroll through LL and some condos. I finished up with several SSs and used Gracie's Thanksgiving Day dive as a reason to not support or suggest urine testing. At +8, Gracie was 262 and would have tested positive for urine glucose and since it takes a while to clear, I believe that when I got the 20 at +2 (pm cycle), she would still have been showing some glucose in her urine. The coup de grace was Mocha's SS.....I love her SS and we went through all the bouncy days and ups and downs on doses.....and then the "snap"!!! They could not believe that after 21 months of all that, that Mocha actually went OTJ...they were very impressed with that. I also shared some other SSs so they could see that bouncing is not just something that Gracie does....they were impressed with how much better she is doing on lev.

I don't think it could have gone any better except Dr. W. (the one who saw Morgaine) was not able to make it; our chiro vet who sees Gus every week is also an holistic vet and she said she thought I should present it at their annual conference in Oct, 2012...she said they often have laypersons speak. She is on the board and they are working on the agenda for next year.

The really funny thing that happened was TOBEY!! We have a dining room table that we can expand and so we had expanded it and had them all on one side and the ends and then I had a table on the other side of the dining room table with the computer screen...I had forgotten to move a chair from that side and Tobey jumped up. And before we knew it, he was on the dining room table but they all laughed. But then he got back on the chair and was looking at the screen as if he were absorbing all the info. All of a sudden, he looked straight up at the ceiling with those bush baby eyes .....and naturally, everyone looked up to see what he was looking at. Smart boy because while we were looking up, he made another dive for the dining room table....planned it all along :lol: :lol: :lol:

After everyone left and we got the kitchen cleaned up, we went out to run errands and grab dinner. I'll have to catch up with everyone later tonight because Mike goes to work tomorrow and I want to spend time with him.

We are overjoyed with Jill's news!!! And still sending condolences to MJ.
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie AMPS 238 +5.5 224 +7.5 193 +10 140

I am glad to see that Gracie has come down nicely for you today. Just looked at your presentation...it's wonderful! Very informational, great job! I'm very impressed that you did this in your home....of course I have been absent for a long time, so I'm just finding out about it, but I'm still impressed!
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie AMPS 238 +5.5 224 +7.5 193 +10 140

Marje, that is one impressive presentation! How was it received?
(Edited to say that I just saw the official version and your report on how it went. Nice job!)

Kudos to you. I've bookmarked it. thanks so much! (And the colored version is beautiful)

Ella
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie PMPS 154 Presentation Link

So glad to hear how well the presentation went - congrats!!!!

I hope you guys are able to get a little R&R are in this evening...have a great one!

Amy
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie PMPS 154 Presentation Link

It definitely sounds like it went great!!! The presentation is wonderful. It's interesting even for me to see all the info in one place instead of scrolling multiple stickies. Kudos to you and so helpful of the kitties to do their share too!
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie PMPS 154 Presentation Link

EXCEPTIONAL!!!!!!


and too funny on Tobey leading the group :lol:

but...did they enjoy the food??
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie PMPS 154 Presentation Link

very nice! I am thrilled to read how well it went. It is so nice when they are receptive. well done!

nice day for Gracie today too. And Tobey - must have been really good food on that table... they always now.

Enjoy your evening!
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie PMPS 154 Presentation Link

I just went through your presentation. WOW!!!! You did an incredibly fantastic job!!! I'm so proud of you!!!! :lol: And I just LOVE those pics of Gracie!!
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie PMPS 154 Presentation Link

Great presentation!
It's scarey to think how much of it was new information to them. . .
How wonderful they are receptive.
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie PMPS 154 +2 103 Presentation Link

Tobey, no wonder your bean is so smart - she hangs around you! :lol: :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie PMPS 154 Presentation Link

Wonderful job! I'll bet they were impressed. I downloaded and bookmarked it! :-D :-D :-D

Technical question, since I'm a Machead, I use Keynote instead of Powerpoint. Apparently the colors you were talking about didn't import into my program. What and where were they? the only other problem was a font I didn't have, although that may be a problem for just about anyone.

By the way, we need to start making reservations to fly you around to talk to all our vets! :thumbup
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie PMPS 154 +2 103 Presentation Link

Sounds like a great success and too bad Dr. W couldn't make it but I know she has read the research because I sent it to her and she said she had already read it and was going to add it to our file. I do believe she is very open to what we are doing and now that they have all been educated, hopefully they will follow through and apply the protocol to their clients when appropriate.

Hope you are having a very lovely evening with Mike.
 
Re: 11/29 Gracie AMPS 238 +5.5 224 +7.5 193

Loooook!!! Blue!!!!!!! Go Gracie girl & didnt make any mistakes for the vetty!! ;-) ;-) Very impressive!
Hugs & Love from us
 
marj - what a super presentation!!!! good for you for teaching the vets - i hope you do go to the conference. you would have a huge amount of influence if you did!

btw, i'd seen this post a while ago from jojo in Heather & Boo's condo from 6/29/2010 re lantus supposedly stinging. she was asking people for reasons they switched from lantus to lev:

Re: 6/29 Boo PMPS 262; +3.5 273 ni-ni
Posted by: jojo and bunny(GA) and Y (IP Logged)
Date: June 30, 2009 02:36AM

biggest reason to switch for a high dose cat is that you can use lev vials and save lots of $.
as far a differences in curve, it goes both ways, some cats do better on lantus some on lev. there are cats that got too bouncy on lev and switched to lantus with better results and vice versa. lantus is easy to get, every vet has heard of it, lev is a problem unless you have a very cool vet or order from canada. for those that have switched from a short acting insulin like N or vetsulin or PZI to lev, of course they are gonna love it. those that have switched from one long lasting insulin to another, eh no biggie.
as far as the 'sting factor' well obviously that is a human thing with their attached skin and not an issues in cats or every post in LL from lantus users would start with how cat hisses, growls etc. when getting shot. no one does. not one person. i switched my own cat from lantus to lev cause he was soooo bad about his shot~ hissing, growling, biting, and guess what? that is just how he is. get exact same reaction to lev shots and R shots as he did with lantus shots. and sometimes i wonder if i screwed up switching, sure he gets a perfect flat green curve on lev, but maybe if i had stayed on lantus he would have gone OTJ rather than just having perfect curves everyday. who knows?

~jojo and bunny(GA) and Y(GA) and SettleDown (formerly known as wilson)

if you do go national and want more to talk about (hahahaha) touching on high dose conditions might be worthwhile.

kudos to you for all of your work! the pp is great.

btw, i wanted to check in with you about the Di Gu Pi. if i remember right you said you gave the chinese herbs to gus, but he's not diabetic, right? i'm thinking it may be raising punkin's BG.
 
Hi Marje and wow on a great presentation yesterday. It sounds like it all went great, and you had everything so organized. I just downloaded and added it to my Favorites, too! It's so nice to have it all in one place. You gave them a lot of info to absorb, and it sounds like they were very open. I hope they give you more feedback next time you take one of the kittes to the Vet. That would be great if you have an opportuinity to present it at their Annual Conference. Cute with Tobey giving some comic relief there jumping onto the table.

Edit:
I couldn't find the icon next to the % to show one slide at a time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top