Re: 11/29 Gracie AMPS 238 +5.5 224 +7.5 193 +10 140
Hi everyone!!
Yes, we did the presentation at the house here. Mike and I made some yummy soup and salad and we set it all up in the dining room with our big screen from our desktop computer and using the laptop. I made packets of info for each vet including the TR protocol, the Tilly protocol, the abstract for the publication of the Roomp/Rand TR protocol, the "Start Low, Go Slow" protocol (for their clients who are not interested in TR), and the AAHA Guidelines for treating diabetes in cats and dogs and which supports hometesting. I also included a printed copy of the slide presentation.
Great idea, Ann.....I already had it loaded to google docs but didn't think about sharing it.
Here is the link below and I would suggest that you click on "download original" in the upper right hand corner and you'll see it as I presented it. The google doc does not have the colors, etc. Also, on the original document, on the bottom right, there are three icons next to a % (which is the zoom). If you click on the far right one....it will show it one slide at a time as in a real powerpoint presentation. Hopefully you can see it!!
Presentation
I thought it went really, really well. They were very open and asked great questions including what are some of the good human glucometers and where to get the test strips as they understand about the cost of the AT. They also were unaware of the pens vs vials, the insulin depot of lantus/levemir and how it works, etc etc. I really threw alot of info at them and they seemed to be very interested....I was really happy with how it went. After the powerpoint, I showed them the main felinediabetes.com webpage and they were extremely impressed with all the info. They wrote down the links and also the info on how to find the J&B food chart. I discussed at length why DM is not a good diet and when I said "no dry food" they said "not even DM dry"? They wanted to be able to share the other food choices with clients. I then took them through FDMB...showing them the different forums and info and also a stroll through LL and some condos. I finished up with several SSs and used Gracie's Thanksgiving Day dive as a reason to not support or suggest urine testing. At +8, Gracie was 262 and would have tested positive for urine glucose and since it takes a while to clear, I believe that when I got the 20 at +2 (pm cycle), she would still have been showing some glucose in her urine. The coup de grace was Mocha's SS.....I love her SS and we went through all the bouncy days and ups and downs on doses.....and then the "snap"!!! They could not believe that after 21 months of all that, that Mocha actually went OTJ...they were very impressed with that. I also shared some other SSs so they could see that bouncing is not just something that Gracie does....they were impressed with how much better she is doing on lev.
I don't think it could have gone any better except Dr. W. (the one who saw Morgaine) was not able to make it; our chiro vet who sees Gus every week is also an holistic vet and she said she thought I should present it at their annual conference in Oct, 2012...she said they often have laypersons speak. She is on the board and they are working on the agenda for next year.
The really funny thing that happened was TOBEY!! We have a dining room table that we can expand and so we had expanded it and had them all on one side and the ends and then I had a table on the other side of the dining room table with the computer screen...I had forgotten to move a chair from that side and Tobey jumped up. And before we knew it, he was on the dining room table but they all laughed. But then he got back on the chair and was looking at the screen as if he were absorbing all the info. All of a sudden, he looked straight up at the ceiling with those bush baby eyes .....and naturally, everyone looked up to see what he was looking at. Smart boy because while we were looking up, he made another dive for the dining room table....planned it all along :lol: :lol: :lol:
After everyone left and we got the kitchen cleaned up, we went out to run errands and grab dinner. I'll have to catch up with everyone later tonight because Mike goes to work tomorrow and I want to spend time with him.
We are overjoyed with Jill's news!!! And still sending condolences to MJ.