11/29 Frank PMPS 375 /+3 296 /+6 270

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina and Boozle

Member Since 2013
Still High

So, Frank seems like he feels okay and we have less box drenching. He really isn't making progress, though and I am starting to worry about him being in such high numbers for so long. :/

Two to go to the vet to get their extra parts removed. Everyone have a good day! ~O)
 
Re: 11/29 Frank AMPS 357

Good Morning Tina ~O) ~O)

Well less box drenching is an improvement. He may be slow to regulate, but the small differences are still great. It tells me that his body is adjusting so fingers and paws firmly crossed that he is getting one issue at a time under control and is feeling better. It will make a huge diffference I am certain, once his teeth get fixed up and his body isn't dealing with so many issues at once. I know the numbers are frustrating, but try to remember all that he has to overcome yet, and how much improvement he has made BECAUSE OF YOU!! :-D :-D

Good luck on the 'little bit removal'! I gotta get one little girl in ASAP. Then the traps go back out :roll: It never ends does it!

Hey Tina...go ahead and have a great day today!!! :-D :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 11/29 Frank AMPS 357

Hi Tina,

How frustrating for you to not see better numbers. You are doing everything right! I hope Frank starts to get come better numbers, and he is able to get his mouth taken care of.

And that he feels a little better every day!!
 
Re: 11/29 Frank AMPS 357/+3 426

Thanks. He didn't eat like he usually does this morning. I don't know if that is a good thing or not. He did eat a can of food, but he left food on his plate that he just finished at +3. He is up to eating two cans a day. I don't know if this means that he is getting better nourished now or if he isn't feeling well. Seems like with the lower amount of food, his sugar would come down, though.

I mean, comparatively speaking, he was running HI all the time, and even though he isn't in ideal numbers, they have been lower. So maybe he is getting more out of eating than he was and not having such a voracious appetite.
 
Re: 11/29 Frank AMPS 357/+3 426

Hang in there! You are doing everything right, some kitties seem harder to regulate. I have gone through many pairs of patience pants, waiting for better numbers too!
Hope you have a good day! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/29 Frank AMPS 357/+3 426 /+6 473 Went to the doc

I just went ahead and took him to the vet this morning. So, we went over his number previously and can't be certain what exactly is going on. He is dehydrated, again, so maybe it's the lack of fluids. Perhaps it is an incorrect injection. Then again, some of Frank's "kidney" numbers were elevated so it is possible he has kidney damage or we are seeing the beginning of CRF. Then there is the FIV and his teeth.

So... there is just so much going on. The first step is to see how he does with being better hydrated so he got some fluids. We are going to watch him over the weekend and report back Monday. I'm hopeful, but wondering what that means for his treatment if that does work. I don't know about adding fluids to his treatment on a regular basis. It's time to start thinking about where that line gets drawn where the treatment is worth the quality of life it gives him.
 
Re: 11/29 Frank PMPS 375 /+3 296

Tina - you have a lot to think about. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: We did have one member with an FIV kitty (Lisa and Leo) who did manage to go OTJ this year. I'm not sure whether that impacted his numbers. The teeth definitely will have an impact. And we do have several members managing CRF and FD, including giving daily or every other day fluids. The fluids can lower numbers, so you'd have to time it so it's not when it's a downward part of the cycle.

I'm happy to see Frank has decided down is the correct direction tonight.
 
Re: 11/29 Frank PMPS 375 /+3 296

it is hard when there are a lot of factors going on in a kitty. sometimes you just can't know what's causing what.

but i do think if you don't see less than 200's by tomorrow's pmps, i'd increase by another .25u. the protocol allows for an increase every 6 shots when you are seeing nadirs over 200.

there are many, many cats who take months to get regulated. probably more often than not - the quickly regulated ones are more unusual. i always just reminded myself to take the long view and keep on putting one foot in front of the other. you'll get there.

:YMHUG:
 
Thanks for all the hugs and positive thoughts. I think Mr. Stein heard us talking and decided he better come down for a while. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top