11/29 Crystal - AMPS 340 +6 304 +10 288 PMPS 297

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
Crystal is still way too high, currently on 4.50uBID for 5 cycles - should I increase to 5.00 tonight?

Also, advice please, I have a day coming up soon when I won't be around for the PMPS at my usual time of 6 pm, unlikely to be back home until 8 - 9 pm - should I just give her the normal dose then?

thanks in advance

Suki & Crystal
 
I do think it looks like Crystal is due for another increase. It is nice to see some yellows starting to show up in her SS! By any chance, are you able to get another test or two earlier in the evening, just for the sake of data collection?

As for shooting tonight, if you do shoot late, it will shift your whole schedule; her morning shot will be 12 hours from whenever you shoot tonight. In order to shift back to your regular shot time, you want to do it slowly and incrementally; some people shoot 15 minutes earlier for each shot until getting back to the original shot time, and others shoot half an hour early for one of the shots per day until they are back to the original schedule.
 
I'd probably just shoot late that day. As Amy said, with the following shot, you can work your way back 15 minutes per shot or 30 minutes per day. In a kitty like Crystal who is still running consistently high, you may be able to give a shot at +10 following the late shot IF you can be home to monitor and she is still high.

If you want to do an early shot like that, give us a notice in advice so that someone experienced can look at your spreadsheet and let you know if it's safe in that particular cycle to do that. You could put "shoot early?" or something like that in your subject line.

YAY for the appearance of some consistent yellow numbers for Crystal! She'll get there. Next goal - get her consistently under renal threshold, about 200-250.
 
Thanks Amy & julie for your comments, I have given her 5u tonight and will go a couple of cycles at that dose, increasing by 0.5. Sometimes it's difficult to do evening shots as she's off out hunting (good sign) but I will try if she pops in. She's in overnight so I can always get the bedtime test.

It's next Sunday when I will be out most of the day so I have a few days to work out a schedule, I'll try to get back as soon as poss but might be difficult - non-cat people think you are mad dashing off home to see a cat but luckily all my English friends have numerous kitties and are a bit more understanding. So, if I do her shot say at 20.00 (2 hours late) and then 08.00 the next day is it okay to feed her before the morning shot? she usually has her breakfast at 06.00 after her shot and is very impatient.

Suki & Crystal
 
The problem with feeding her a couple of hours before her shot . . . well, 2 problems:

1. the carbs are likely to be hitting her system when the insulin is just being given. The insulin's onset won't be for a couple of hours after the shot, so that means that might very well send her high.

2. when you then get the amps, you have to keep in mind that she's just eaten and has a meal's worth of carbs in her bloodstream. Typically when we give a cat carbs to pull up blood sugar, you can see the full effects in around 20-30 minutes. If she's her typical 300+ at amps, then you probably don't need to worry, but if she's lower than usual, you won't know if her blood sugar is inflated by food carbs that might then wear off soon, causing her to drop.

One thing you want to observe with Crystal that will help you with this situation - it's helpful if you can observe how much of a food spike she gets from eating. Getting a +1 test here and there and comparing it to the preshot can help you learn that. Cats are different in how carb-sensitive they are and that can be helpful information for you to know.

It's also very important to figure out how long after her shot the Lantus begins to onset, ie, take effect. You can see that by what point her blood sugar begins to lower after the shot. Most cats onset around +2, but it varies.

Honestly, if you're able to dash home and shoot her, i would. It's going to be easier than working backwards in feeding and shooting her to get back on schedule. Once I had punkin 3 hours late with his shot and I kept trying to move him back 1/2 hr at a time - I made it a couple of days and then gave up and just skipped a shot to get back on schedule. He wouldn't give up on whining that he wasn't being fed on time! He was relentless about it!

Another option is to give 2 18 hr cycles - that can be less disruptive for some people than being late, depending on your life and situation. So if you normally shoot at 6am/6pm, instead shoot at Sunday 6am, Sunday midnight and Monday 6pm. If you do that, just do the best you can with mealtimes and know that her blood sugar will likely show some impact from the irregular schedule, but she'll get back to normal before too long.
 
Hi Julie
Thanks for taking the time to explain all the options, can I just clarify when you say get a +1 test to check on her food spike, is that from the time I shoot or a +1 after her meals? sorry, just a little confused here. She tends to eat little and often although I am trying to do breakfast, lunch and dinner but she cries for food inbetween, although I don't feed her 2 hours prior to her PM shot. I think I'll go with the 2 x 18 hour cycles for next weekend as it sounds less complicated. We will be too far from home for me to pop home and back, we can usually work our social life around the dose times but not on this occasion unfortunately.

Just had a routine call to my vet as she asked to be kept up to date with Crystal's progress so I've told her I would like to increase Crystal's dose every say 4-6 cycles by .5u and she is happy with this (I was going to do it anyway, but still want her on my side should we suddenly need veterinary help).

Suki & Crystal
 
the + times are all from the last shot. So a +1 is one hour after the last shot. Most people test, feed and shoot at basically the same time. When you get handy with it, it might only take 5 minutes to do all of that. The shooting and main meal usually are done at the same time, so the +1 is both an hour after the shot and an hour after she's eaten.

The point is to see how much her blood sugar is raised by eating. Some cats are very sensitive to carbs, some are not.

It's great that your vet is working with you - yay!
 
Okay Julie, I tested her this morning at +1 and it had gone up so that's a food spike, got it. Problem with my SS though as my input on the world SS this morning doesn't carry over to the US page automatically - any thoughts or should I post on the Tech page? Thanks
Suki & Crystal
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top