11/29/11 PMPS 456 ~ now getting a lower dose...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA)

Member Since 2010
I've gotten a couple of spot checks in at late in the cycle and Sid undergoes a HUGE spike between 9.5 and 12. This morning it was about 280 points. All the P's are perfect so far - eating like a little chowhound, pooping solid, being a good boy for his poke, and enjoying his heated pad on the couch (on this horrible snowy Michigan day...)

Here is the breakdown of his spotchecks:
11/28/11
7:00 am AMPS 487
7:00 pm +12 143 (ate 1 can of FF)
8:25 pm 227 gave him 0.2
10:15 +2 170 (ate a small meal)
12:15 +4 90 (ate a small meal, some hc just in case)
11/29/11
5:45 am +9.5 240
7:20 am +11 520 gave him 0.2
6:00 pm +10.75 318
7:00 pm =11.5 456 gave him 0.2
 
I'm very confused. Why did you reduce Sid's dose? There's no indication that his numbers dropped below 50.

The spike is a bounce off of the 90 at PM +4 yesterday. It's expected.
 
let_the_cat_in.jpg
 
I reduced it because of the 143 yesterday at +12 (PMPS). I didn't want to completely skip the dose so I gave him less and I thought he responded pretty well to it. Also, to me that 143 means he went much lower during the afternoon. I know it is not a good idea to markedly increase or decrease the dose day by day, so that is why I'm thinking I should give him 0.2 for 3 to 4 days to see how he does on that. I would be much happier to see him steady in the 200s to 300s than bouncing from 90 to 500. I really don't want another hypo episode like last week; that was very bad and scary, especially considering that most cats on lantus do not show hypo signs. He was in bad shape.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top