11/29/10 Cinnamon amps 97 - help

Status
Not open for further replies.

gwen and cinnamon

Member Since 2010
Hi,

I've gotten a really low number this morning. His 11+ was 66. I had to go out and came back and did another bg 1hr @ 11:20am (one hour later than his 12hr shot due @ 11:20). He has eaten very well this morning. Same stuff. I'm trying to hand around and see what happens. We've been having toy time to get him moving around and see if I can't send him to the food bowl for another bite or two. I'm scared to shoot now. I have already been eyeballing .5u taking myself to the bathroom where the lighting is best to make sure I am as precise as possible. I honestly don't know how people are citing .1s and .25s etc. Suggestions? In an hour I have to go out and will be out for about five hours. Is it best not to shoot? Should I be doing another .5 or trying a bit less. If I tried a bit less by eyeballing it, I know I could not figure out how much less to record it. I am just getting my eyes to adjust to an estimated .5

gwen
 
Gwen, since you are not going to be home, this is a food influenced number and you don't have a lot of data yet, I would skip this shot.

You are using syringes without the 1/2 unit markings, right? I would try to get those half unit syringes today if at all possible, you are going to need them.
 
Thank you for the feedback. I am going to wait. I'm going to get the 1/2 unit syringes today for sure. When I get them, do you think I should wait a full 24 hour period before the next shot or test when I get home and start another cycle from this evening? I ask because I have read a link on how to deal with low preshot numbers but that information IS IN CONFLICT with the sticky for lantus users. One recommends no shot under 150, the other seems to indicate otherwise.

gwen
 
I would get another test before you leave, and leave food out for Cinnamon, also.

I suspect that his numbers will be up enough to shoot again tonight, you should get a test an hour before you would be shooting, post it and ask for dose advice, ok?

The sticky on being data ready to shoot low numbers is in two parts...the first part is a general guideline that applies to all insulins, and it also applies to new Lantus users who have very little data about how their cats respond to insulin. The second part is a more specific guideline specifically geared toward Lantus and members who have a bit more data and are getting prepared to shoot lower numbers. If you read it carefully, you will see that it really isn't in conflict...it's a stepping stone type of approach.

I notice that you are not getting spot checks early in the cycle...that is important because it gives you an idea of where Cinnamon is headed.
 
No dosage advice, but definitely get the syrings with the 1/2 unit markings. It will make things so much easier and more accurate. Good luck!
 
Good job this morning! By the way, that is not really your AMPS number this morning since you did not shoot. that is really your +12 number. You can show no shot on your SS and indicate something in the notes section that you decided to not shoot. You may see a much higher preshot tonight due to the skipped shot. Not to worry since there is the reason for it, no insulin this morning. The shed will build back up and you will see better numbers soon.
Cinnamon will be back on track in a cycle or two....good job!
 
If it were me, I'd halve the dose (.25) at the next time you decide to shoot and see if you can maintain those nice blues and greens. Cinnamon's numbers are looking good and it may be that the pancreas is working well, therefore needing less and less insulin.
 
It would be great to see a +1 or a +2 after your shot this evening. Just so we see how Cinnamon is doing. :mrgreen:
I agree with SaraJaye and think that the pancreas is waking up here!
 
I agree, if you can do some spot checks tonight (start with +1 and +2) we can see how well this dose is working, and can maybe get a clue about how Cinnamon's pancreas is working too. Remember, because you changed your shot time today, your next shot will be due 12 hours after the time you shot today.

Great numbers!
 
Gwen, please watch that dose and keep testing throughout the cycle. When I first started Stinky with Lantus, I was discouraged from shooting him at all when he was below 170. If you keep getting low numbers, especially if they dip into 40s/50s, I'd cut that dose in half. Hopefully you're getting some good numbers this cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top