11/28PurrFace IN ER UPDATE +4.75/34+4.9/32 +5/34

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frosty

Member Since 2012
PurrFace hosted another PJ party last night. Right now I think our Thanksgiving turkey is more awake than we are. :lol: It looks like he is going to spend some time at the Lagoon today also. His 109 point drop to a +6/41 last night was the 2nd time below 50 so he might not been this dose much longer. We're going to have to use the fat/skinny dosing when we adjust this time because he hasn't been holding the 2U dose.

I wish everyone a very Happy Thanksgiving.

257c81bf-7ab1-4c96-bdc2-e171f4b8ca3b_zps56ab7228.jpg


PurrFace's Condo
 
Re: 11/28 PurrFace AMPS 142 + 2/62

Morning John ~O) ~O) ~O) (Elsa sends extra - she says you need it!)

Wonderful, but tiring, cycle last night for you, and PurrFace. And back at it again his morning.... god thing turkeys are easy, huh! :-D Good luck too with eh micro-dosing when that comes to be.

Have a wonderful holiday!
 
Re: 11/28 PurrFace AMPS 142 + 2/62

It's pretty scary when the turkey is more awake than the chefs :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: PF is celebrating in style today!!

Have a wonderful holiday with your family, John and Donna.
Happy Thanksgiving!!!!
 
Re: 11/28 PurrFace AMPS 142 + 2/62 IN ER

PurrFace dropped to 38 @+3.5 this morning we gave him some HC with a single drop of honey but he only ate a small amount...less than a tsp. At +4 he refused to eat and from then on he wouldn't eat and it was a struggle to keep him in the 30s. At 4.25 he ran from me when I wanted to test him. I did get the test and it was 34. This is so out of character for him that I new he needed to be seen by a vet. The ER is 30 minutes away. On our way DW rubbed kareo on his gums and tested him. The "in route" test were +4.75/46; +4.9/32 +5/34. He was getting kareo after each test. DD called the ER to alert them and they started him on an IV drip immediately. They also ran blood work. I'll scan and post those numbers shortly. The Dr. Said he was dehydrated and his CREA was 2.6 mg/dl which she said was way too high. He's staying at the ER tonight getting fluids. It was so terrible leaving without my buddy. I'm going back tonight to visit with him.

I took his shot log (SS) along. After looking at it for a few minutes the vet asked why I would give him a shot when he is below 200 at shot time. I told her because Lantus was a depot insulin that I was guided by his nadirs not just the pre-shot number. She said she hasn't researched it as much as I have but strongly suggest that we reduce his insulin to 1U once a day and to keep his numbers in the 150-250 range and that would keep him regulated. When I explained that we were following a proven method that has an 80% remission rate she just said "I'm familiar with Lantus and have been regulating cats for 25 years and if you continue what your doing you are going to kill this cat." Needless to say that really shook DW & me up.
 
Re: 11/28PurrFace IN ER+3.5/38+4/34+4.25/46+4.75/34+4.9/32 +

oh donna, i am so sorry. sorry that purrface ended up in the ER and sorry you got that advice from the vet. what a terrible comment.

she is wrong. the protocol is the only one published in professional journals for treating a diabetic cat. you're doing everything right. one shot every 24 hrs leaves a cat without help for another 12 hrs.

hang in there. we'll be watching for your updates. sending the best for all of you to cope with this.

julie

eta - sorry, john, i just realized it was you posting. thinking of all of you.
 
Re: 11/28PurrFace+3.5/38+4/34+4.25/46+4.75/34+4.9/32 +5/34 I

Sending many, many prayers for PF. You were so smart to get him to the ER, John. You know all of our thoughts are with you and we hope he is home soon.

FWIW, I had a vet tell me the exact same thing...almost word for word, three years ago. She said Gracie was not diabetic. You know, better, John. You are doing what's best for him. Many vets will say cats are better in that higher range because they don't have to worry about their safety. Our vet of 15 years dx Gracie (she was not the one that ran me through the wringer on Gracie's numbers) and she said she always felt better about cats being in that 200 range because most people wouldn't test. She also had been "regulating" cats for 25 years and had also seen cats go into remission. After looking at Gracie's and some other SSs, she wondered if the reason they went into remission was because they hypo'd and shocked the pancreas into working. It happens sometimes....if it doesn't kill the kitty.

On his creat....yes...it is high. It can be acute, not chronic. Think if there is any way he could have gotten into anything at all. Also....kidney infections can cause the creat to increase. If you get any bloodwork, let me know...I'll be happy to help you with it.


:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/28PurrFace IN ER+3.5/38+4/34+4.25/46+4.75/34+4.9/32 +

Oh, dear! Tons of vines for PurrFace and for you two! I'm sure the fluids will help your guy feel better right away. I'm sorry the vet's bedside manner was so awful. You are the best beans ever, no matter what she says.
Liz
 
Re: 11/28PurrFace IN ER+3.5/38+4/34+4.25/46+4.75/34+4.9/32 +

((((John)))) ((((Donna)))) What a scary day. Sending mega tons of vines for little PurrFace. I hope he's much better when you go to visit him tonight.

Sorry about the nasty vet - I hope it's someone more sympathetic there when you go back later. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/28PurrFace IN ER+3.5/38+4/34+4.25/46+4.75/34+4.9/32 +

Sending Prayers for PurrFace.

I'm betting there is some other issue... this isn't just the diabetes and I pray that vet will be thorough in finding out what's wrong.
You've been doing a great job managing the FD, despite her awful comments.

:YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/28PurrFace IN ER BW Posted +4.75/34+4.9/32 +5/34

Here is PurrFace's Blood Work from the ER.

ef1f37dc-dddd-461c-b5e7-7bc3ca08b815_zps8044e356.jpg


b1ef107a-592e-48f5-96e1-1c48fcea9b60_zps1d3b0a5e.jpg
 
Re: 11/28PurrFace IN ER BW Posted +4.75/34+4.9/32 +5/34

What a stressful day :shock: Thank goodness you were doing lots of home testing and took Purrface in to get help. I hope he is okay and can come home soon.
 
Re: 11/28PurrFace IN ER BW Posted +4.75/34+4.9/32 +5/34

Sounds like a tough 24 hours. I hope you get it all worked out soon.
 
Re: 11/28PurrFace IN ER BW Posted +4.75/34+4.9/32 +5/34

Thank you all for the support. He's "stable" per the tech but the reception told us she was back talking to him and he was watch everyone. The cage is facing the main treatment room so there is a lot of activity. Luckily PF isn't frightened by dogs or people.

I'll post an update later tonight.
 
Re: 11/28PurrFace IN ER BW Posted +4.75/34+4.9/32 +5/34

Thinking of you and sending healing vines to PF. What a scary day for all of you.
 
Re: 11/28PurrFace IN ER BW Posted +4.75/34+4.9/32 +5/34

John and Donna,

I'm so sorry to hear PurrFace is in hospital. I am sending up lots of healing prayers for your boy.
I'm glad he isn't afraid of his surroundings.
 
Re: 11/28PurrFace IN ER BW Posted +4.75/34+4.9/32 +5/34

John,
So sorry to hear about PurrFace and how scary for you and Donna. Sending tons of healing vines and prayers for him and comfort vines for you and Donna. I'll be watching for an update.
 
Re: 11/28PurrFace IN ER BW Posted +4.75/34+4.9/32 +5/34

What a terribly scary day for you and your family. Thank goodness you were home today. Sending vines for PF to recover quickly and for your family to help calm. Will be watching for updates. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/28PurrFace IN ER BW Posted +4.75/34+4.9/32 +5/34

Sending get better soon vines to PurrFace. You guys are in my thoughts.
 
Re: 11/28PurrFace IN ER BW Posted +4.75/34+4.9/32 +5/34

Add my get better soon vines and prayers to the rest.

What a jerk! I got the same kind of attitude when I first took China in and found out she was diabetic. The "how dare you question me"? attitude.

Hope you get a more compassionate person to take over PurrFace's care!

You're doing the right thing, no matter what she says.
 
Re: 11/28PurrFace IN ER BW Posted +4.75/34+4.9/32 +5/34

Just got back from the ER. PurrFace is looking a lot better. You can see it in his eyes. He is on a "regular" drip now in lieu of the more concentrated one they started him on. I took him a T-Shirt of mine and he nudged it. He didn't eat his freeze dried snack he was sooo tired. He's wanting to come home. We pick him up tomorrow morning at 7. They are not sure yet if he has a kidney infection or not but gave him some Baytril. I'll have to decide on what dose to start him on when he gets home.

There were two other vets there tonight and each of them had different opinions as to what the lowest BG# should be before being concerned. One was 120 and the other said 100, so that was 3 different vets and 3 different answers. One vet just got back from Saudi Arabia where he was treating camels. I felt like telling him we got rid of PurrFace's hump with ZOBALINE. He also told me to read up on kidney disease in dogs.

Overall PF looks 100% better but not his old self. I'm sure that will change when he gets home. Thank you all so much for prayers and support it is appreciated more than you know.
 
If you want to read up on kidney disease, there's a FAR better resource and it's specific to cats. Tanya's site is the FDMB for cats with kidney issues. I'm also hoping that if PurrFace was dehydrated, some of these values return to normal.
 
((John and Donna)), what a day for you guys. I'm glad to hear that PF is doing better and is coming home tomorrow.
Sending many recovery vines his way.
♥ :YMHUG: ♥ :YMHUG: ♥
 
Adding more vines for a complete recovery~ Hope PF feels like himself once you get him home tomorrow. What a scary day, so glad you were home. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Donna and John, so sorry for the way you had to spend your Thanksgiving day. I know you had to be so worried about your sweet Purrface. To receive so many conflicting opinions on BG levels had to make things even more confusing for you. How dare that Vet make you guys feel like you were not doing what was best for PF ! So Happy PF was looking better when you went to visit tonight ... Looking at their eyes does reveal so much for us on how our babies are really feeling.

I bet 7am can not get here soon enough for you. Will be looking for an update in the morning. In the meantime, hopefully the both of you are resting as comfortably as possible given the circumstances.

My thought and prayers are with you and Purrface.
 
Hi John - I hope all is well with PurrFace. What a nightmare for you. Hugs to you and your family, and deep wishes that PurrFace comes home today.

I cannot believe all you were told by several vets. I am sorry. I do believe you have done well by PurrFace. To be told otherwise is is so unreal. Hang in there. You do know your cat best.
 
Hi John, We will keep Purrface in our prayers for a complete recovery. I am sure it has been a tough for you.
 
Oh no, what a day for you all. I am thinking of you and PurrFace and hope that kitty is feeling better today. That is just so scary. Best to you and your fur baby today for a speedy recovery.
 
Hoping that you may be on the way home as I type...

Keep in mind that it looks like they are using "vet numbers" when talking about low BG. The lab says 74-169 is "normal" so when they say 100, that a 60-70 to "us".

The other low value looks like potassium, which can show as "weakness" depending on how long he's been low or low.normal range. If they gave any electrolytes, that might bump the K up a bit.

Hugs and prayers,
Carl
 
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: So sorry to hear about your awful thanksgiving day. I hope PurrFace is better this morning.

Carl has a good point, did you explain to them that you are using a human meter and the difference between that and the vet meters? I too think that the first vet was being a jerk, first she says
She said she hasn't researched it as much as I have ………
and then touts her experience????????? Most vets do recommend the higher numbers, because so few of their clients are willing to do all the testing. They have a hard time wrapping their brains around those of us that do test regularly.

That scan is pretty small, several of us have added a sheet to the Google docs SS for test results. You'll see a button on the far lower left w/ a "+" sign, click that to add a sheet. Take a look at Tess's SS, I think you can just copy the names and ranges I have there and paste it into the new sheet, Marje has one too. Once you have all the basic info in it doesn't take long to type in the results. It's a great way to keep track of the tests and compare them as you go. Tanya's sit is great for CKD info and they have a support group very similar to FDMB. Marje is active in that. It may be an infection or early kidney disease, but if you catch CKD early it can be well controlled w/ food much the way diabetes is.
 
Im so sorry about poor little Purrface

One thing that made me feel more comfortable about lower BG #s was testing one of my healthy non diabetic cats. I did it a couple times and got #s in the 60s and one 38. Try it....

I know all cats are different but It really makes you wonder why vets are so paranoid about numbers under 100

Hugs to you and I hope Purrface comes home soon

(Edit: my civvies eat a very low carb raw diet btw....that might have something to do with the #s I got. just fyi)
 
John,

I'm so sorry your Thanksgiving was so full of drama and fear. I had exactly the same experience with Cinco's vet. To this day she insists that Cinco is not really diabetic, and when I board him there, she won't allow insulin if he's under 200. Hers is the only clinic/boarding facility with 24 hour care, so I don't want to go elsewhere, and she is otherwise a good vet, so I keep taking him there but just ignore the diabetes advice. Perhaps your situation is similar. In any case, sending prayers and healing vines your way and hope PurrFace is home safe and sound with you and Donna and starting to feel more normal. You are wonderful beans and PurrFace is lucky to live with you. Good luck today. Keep us posted.
 
Those vets attitude makes me think that printing out the Room and Rand article to hand to any new vets may be useful!

I'm so glad my vet knows I have a brain!
 
I've gotten that attitude from vets too. It's disturbing to see the amount of ignorance on the part of professionals in the vet field. I stopped believing in vet infallibility years ago when I took my Cyclone back to the vet who had put him on Humulin N and never even mentioned home testing, told him I'd switched to Lantus and pulled out his spreadsheet. The vet wouldn't even look at the SS and said he'd never heard of Lantus. Thank goodness I now use a vet who's up on the research and trusted me to handle Salem's treatment. (And I'm mean enough to be glad the old vet is now out of business.)

Also reminds me of a vet I spoke to only a couple of years ago in a very upscale, modern, expensive specialty and emergency clinic, regarding Salem. She looked over his SS and told me I should be feeding him only at injection time with no snacks in-between. I asked why, when his bg is going to be lowest between shots and food should help maintain a more even level. She had no answer and just looked angry.

But the vet who told one of the people here that they were going to make their cat anemic by home testing totally has her beat!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top