11/28 Star Cat PMPS 148, +1~216

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 - I'm shooting it.

are you able to monitor again today?

I promise we won't make you do that all the time, but the data you got last night is soooooo valuable. I think Star Cat will be asking for another dose reduction very soon. :smile:
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 - I'm shooting it.

Yep. I'll be around. I will be going out for a little at some point, but I'll make sure she's all set if I have to leave.

I'm pushing myself because I won't be able to do that again tonight and I'm back at work tomorrow. I hope she earns her reduction today, or at least we get enough data so I won't worry while I'm away tomorrow.

She's such a good little sweetie. I really hope she continues like this. Seeing her play last night was really a milestone. For as many times as I thought we had lost her,she's proven us wrong. She's wanting to be here!!! She's wanting to play and have a happy life!
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 - I'm shooting it.

Great report on Star Cat today. Isn't it great when you see those old behaviors return?

Keep a close eye on your kitty's numbers this morning. You have a drop at +1. Usually, you'd expect to see a food spike. This is likely to be an active cycle.
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 - I'm shooting it.

That drop is only the +.5

I'm watching her closely. She looks puny. That is how I describe the look she gets while dropping.

She's right next to me.
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 + 0.5~79

nice #s for Star Cat!!
yes do get ~O)
good luck today!!! fingers and paws crossed!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 + 0.5~79, +1.5~56

sounds good. Just a little bit of gravy, you don't want her to get too full. I would test in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 + 0.5~79, +1.5~56

Good morning, Rebecca and Star Cat. Awesome numbers for your girl today and yesterday. Star really is doing great on Lantus, isn't she...Lantus and the right food! And you are handling things nicely! A little gravy sounds like a good idea right around now to stop the drop.
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 + 0.5~79, +1.5~56, +2 48

it's ok, you're in control of the numbers. More gravy and another 30 minute test.
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +1.5~56, +2 48, +2.5~51

good. A +3 wouldn't hurt. Hopefully after that you'll be able to back off on testing a little bit.
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +1.5~56, +2 48, +2.5~51

Beautiful website and a wonderful story...thank you Rebecca! Great job this morning! :thumbup
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +2 48, +2.5~51, +3 43

so much for taking a testing break. More gravy please, and please test in another 30 minutes. Try to give a couple tsp of high carb food with some extra gravy, if you know what I mean. The gravy part will bump her, and the food part will help her stay up as the gravy wears off.
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +2 48, +2.5~51, +3 43

She's having HC with gravy on top....silly girl won't surf today!!!
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +2 48, +2.5~51, +3 43

she won't surf because she is ready for that dose reduction she has been flirting with. :smile:
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +2 48, +2.5~51, +3 43

Libby and Lucy said:
she won't surf because she is ready for that dose reduction she has been flirting with. :smile:


This post is music to my eyes!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +2 48, +2.5~51, +3 43

Wow. What a crazy intense couple of days for you and Star! Congratulations on the dose reduction!

Beautiful website and amazing story. Lovely family too!
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +2 48, +2.5~51, +3 43

Thanks everyone. I have so many friends, family and fellow pet lovers who aren't on this message board. They have been supportive and now with my new information about wet food, etc. I wanted to share her story.

She just SCARFED down half a can of HC with gravy on top. I didn't stop her. She's in a bit of a grooming frenzy right now. :-D
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +2 48, +2.5~51, +3 43

Impressive - you're handling this very well. Nice job. And your website for Star Cat is beautiful - very nicely done! :-D
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +2 48, +2.5~51, +3 43

they love that HC food. :smile: It's a great tool because if you know she'll eat the HC when she needs to, you know you have a lot of control over her numbers. Sometimes I used to swear that Lucy knew how to get the numbers she needed to have to get the yummy fudz. :lol:
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 - I'm shooting it.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Great report on Star Cat today. Isn't it great when you see those old behaviors return?

Keep a close eye on your kitty's numbers this morning. You have a drop at +1. Usually, you'd expect to see a food spike. This is likely to be an active cycle.

You said it!! :-D

It's noon and I'm still in my pj's!
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +3 43, +3.5 54, +5~50

She's 50 at the +5

What do you guys say? Is she leveled off or still dropping?

I wanted to leave the house at some point, but now I'm not too sure.

She's sleeping, chin tucked up all cozy and even a little soft snoring (very normal for her) :-D
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +3 43, +3.5 54, +5~50

sometimes she drops later in the cycle. If you're going out, I would feed some more gravy just to be on the safe side.
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +3 43, +3.5 54, +5~50, +6~49

Just tested at the +6 and she's 49

Gave a teaspoon of HC/Gravy mix

I'm staying close to home for the moment.
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +3 43, +3.5 54, +5~50, +6~49

That's a really nice website. And congratulations on the dosecrease :-D
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +3 43, +3.5 54, +5~50, +6~49, +7~

She's 49 at the +7, just the same at the +6 and +5. Very interesting. She's surfing the day away.

What am I going to shoot tonight???
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +3 43, +3.5 54, +5~50, +6~49, +7~

If Star Cat gets back up to 90, I'd do a lower .50 shot tonight.
If in the 70's or 80's, I'd probably do a .25 shot.

See what others think.
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +3 43, +3.5 54, +5~50, +6~49, +7~

the next dose is 0.50 units BID.

I'm curious, do you have any of Star Cat's Vetsulin numbers? What was her last Vetsulin dose, and how was she doing on it?
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat AMPS 90 +3 43, +3.5 54, +5~50, +6~49, +7~

Libby, I didn't keep a chart. I just went day to day with the Vetsulin. She was at 2 units for as long as I can remember. I would adjust as needed. I didn't test her nearly as much and I never let her go under 100 if I could help it. She would usually be high near the +12's (like between 350-500) and get under 200 at the +6-+8 range. That was it. That was the best she was ever regulated. Before coming here to FDMB, that was all I knew how to do. She had Keytones once in April 2010 (we went on vacation and I let the sitter dose her on the high side to be safe). She's done extremely well after that episode.

Does that help at all?
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat +3 43, +3.5 54, +5~50, +6~49, +7~49,+8~77

I would encourage you to follow Libby's guidance. She's very experienced and the recommendation she provided regarding your PM dose is the next step down the dose ladder based on the tight regulation protocol. Dose reductions are based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot values like Lori was suggesting.

And what's wrong with being in your PJs at noon?

You did a great job managing Star Cat's numbers today. Just in case you should need it, this is a reference post on how to manage low numbers.
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat +3 43, +3.5 54, +5~50, +6~49, +7~49,+8~77

Don't worry LL, I'm completely on board with Libby! I'm planning on a nice steady run with Libby in the driver's seat! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Looking forward to a slower cycle tonight though!
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat +3 43, +3.5 54, +5~50, +6~49, +7~49,+8~77

for what it's worth, I didn't put on "real" clothes today at all. It was my lazy day, all guests are gone, back to work tomorrow, today is just me and the kitties. I did put on sweats but that's it. Nothing wrong with that!

Post your number before you shoot tonight, ok?
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat +3 43, +3.5 54, +5~50, +6~49, +7~49,+8~77

Sounds like it was a pajama party in LL today. :thumbup

I will post her #'s. I am moving her up by another 15 minutes to get her on my work schedule again for tomorrow. I am really 30 minutes behind schedule, but I can't move her up by that much at once, can I?
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat +3 43, +3.5 54, +5~50, +6~49, +7~49,+8~77

Rebecca, nice job today!

You can change the schedule by up to 30 minutes per day, but you might not want to do it all at once tonight. I would suggest move by 15 minutes tonight and 15 minutes in the morning. In light of that, you also might want to get a +11 and post it, ok? That will allow time to talk about it without delaying further.
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat +3 43, +3.5 54, +5~50, +6~49, +7~49,+8~77

I already moved her up 15 minutes this morning, so I will keep it at 15 tonight.

Look for the +11 in about 15 minutes. (Where did the day go?)
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat +5~50, +6~49, +7~49,+8~77, +11~148

good, it looks like maybe Star is going to give you a bit of a break tonight. I would go ahead and shoot the 0.5 and do it 15 minutes early. Get a couple of spot checks before bed to make sure she is still rising, but hopefully you can get to sleep at a reasonable hour. Great job last night and today!
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat +5~50, +6~49, +7~49,+8~77, +11~148

Libby, I can't thank you enough for staying by our side the past few days. I greatly appreciate your wisdom and support!

Going to shoot in a few minutes, and will follow with a +1.

Rebecca
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat +3 43, +3.5 54, +5~50, +6~49, +7~49,+8~77

Sienne and Gabby said:
I would encourage you to follow Libby's guidance. She's very experienced and the recommendation she provided regarding your PM dose is the next step down the dose ladder based on the tight regulation protocol. Dose reductions are based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot values like Lori was suggesting.

And what's wrong with being in your PJs at noon?

You did a great job managing Star Cat's numbers today. Just in case you should need it, this is a reference post on how to manage low numbers.

Sienne, I was just telling her what "I would do". She had low naidars in the 40's. if they had not increased later, I would have been too scared to shoot the .50.
I know per the protocol the dose should have been only reduced to the .50, but if her preshot was too low, I would have been too scared to shoot that much.
Since Star is higher anyway, its not an issue. :-D

Rebecca,
Your cat is doing great, I am so happy for you! :-D
 
Re: 11/28 Star Cat +5~50, +6~49, +7~49,+8~77, +11~148

To be honest, I'm relieved that her numbers came up before shot time. :-D

But that was some day she had today! Hopefully she's a good kitty and stays in a reasonable area for me tonight so mama bean can get some rest! I-)

Many thanks to all who followed along the roller coaster today! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top