11/28 Squamee AMPS 322

Status
Not open for further replies.

judy and squamee(GA)

Member Since 2009
PMPS was 324 and I shot .8U. AMPS is 322. This means I should shoot .8 again? Or go up to .9 as Gator had suggested last night? I will be home till about noon today. Then back in the evening.
 
Since you'll be home through +3 I would go with Gators .9u.

You can test an hour before you leave so you can steer her numbers if you need to.
 
Right, you can steer the numbers if she is a little lower than you like when you have to leave and it's early in the cycle you can feed her a little medium carb food to bring her up a little while you're gone.
 
AMPS 322 .9U
+3 307
+9 300

Looks like it will be a high night. I am hoping to shoot around 9 (which will be +11.25--so I can move it earlier tomorrow morning to 8:30am ). I am assuming I will be upping the dose. Hope the numbers don't really zoom.
 
It looks like you could have shot 1 unit this morning. Let's keep that in mind for the future reference.

I hope she doesn't zoom too high. If she does you may want to consider 1 unit for tonight.
 
Thanks, Robin. I shot 1.1. The only thing different about today is that my husband has been feeding her turkey leftovers which she loves . He did the same yesterday. Doesn't seem like that would account for these numbers, does it?
I am hoping to shoot around 8:30 tomorrow, Eastern Standard (i hour earlier than you, I believe.) What time do you usually get up? My schedule tomorrow has some flexibility, so I could delay some if that works better for you.
 
I think it is somewhat OK to be aggressive with her dose without a huge amount of worry. BUT and HUGE BUT you have to keep an eye open for those big PS to PS drops like she pulled a couple times now. If she does that again you know to reduce the dose by at least 1/2 the next cycle.

If she is eating more food and thus taking in more calories [turkey for instance] then she will need more insulin. Just like when she eats less she need less insulin. Long term since cooked turkey is not nutritionally complete do try to limit the turkey to 10% of her diet. And for a short period it is not that big of a deal either. This is why I say to try you best to watch how much she eats from day to day so that you can judge perhaps better he insulin need swings related to her appetite swings.

If she likes cooked turkey she might like cooked chicken - maybe I can try to work on you Judy to bring you to the dark side and start cooking for S? ;-)
 
Hi Gator,
I have tried cooking for her. When she first had trouble eating, I tried making all kinds of things, including boiled chicken. She wouldn't touch it. Otherwise I would have already tried your recipe. She is now eating FF and pretty consistently likes the classic beef flavor. She also eats some Friskees and some 9 Lives, altho she seems to do best with ff. Also eats some Wellness. She greatly prefers the jelly or gravy in any of those cans---so often she will eat mostly that part, and tho I mix the food with water, it does not seem to be the liquid that she wants, just the gravy. I wish I knew a lo carb recipe for that kind of gravy.

However, there is definitely something wrong with her---other that the diabetes and the mouth symptoms. She just seems strange. Slow moving, more and more wary of me (of course I am always coming at her with some kind of medicine--insulin, flagyl, phenobarb, or to test her or give fluids), and often just standing there without moving. And she is having some kind of trouble drinking--she bats at the water a lot and sometimes cries a little. She spends most of her time under a blanket on the couch. It is so sad.
 
This is a little late but thought I'd comment. My diabetic kitty is also epileptic. She's been on Phenobarbitol for several years now. When she first started, she did have behavior changes. She slowed down, become more disoriented had difficulty navigating (in particular jumping on things), etc. It may be that now that you are doing the transdermal dosing, she is actually getting more than she was when it was in pill form and you are starting to see the changes that occur.

If that is the case, in 2 weeks (although Cindy took 3-4 weeks) she should be back to almost normal or normal. With Cindy, she still has issues jumping. FWIW, she also bats the holy living daylights out of her water bowl periodically. No idea why.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top