11/28 Sooty PMPS 277 +4 290

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perry and Sooty

Member Since 2010
Here's Yesterday - very sick since 8:30AM...

Today: AMPS 176 +1 203 +2 262 +3 234 +6 274 PMPS 277

Well he's finally eaten something!!! We just gave him his morning pokes and shot - and then some FF beef with FortiFlora on and he ATE some (not a lot, maybe a couple of teaspoons.)

Then he headed to the LB and did a small p so I grabbed a Ketone stick. It came up POSITIVE - slight pink, I'd put the reading at about 10. Of course it's Sunday and the Vet isn't open until 11AM - but I called them anyway just in case.

Is this serious?? or is it maybe not totally unexpected, for a cat who really hasn't eaten anything significant at all, for nearly 24 hours?

Anyhow he is walking unaided this morning (at least to the LB and back) but looking very slow and a bit wobbly still.

We'll see if we can get him to eat a bit more - but we're just glad he's eaten, AT ALL (and unaided!), this morning - finally!!
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +Ketones+

I don't know how your Ketostix read. Mine read negative and the next color is described as "trace." Anything above a negative amount is definitely worrisome and worth speaking to your vet. In the meantime, try to get Sooty to drink as much as you can. Adding water, broth, etc. to food will help. Infection, no food, and not enough insulin can all contribute to ketones developing. It's very good that you're on top of this. Just keep a close eye on Sooty. If you start to notice an acetone-like smell then it is quite serious and get him to an ER.

I'd also keep a very close eye on BG numbers. You are in the blues and if Sooty's numbers drop much further and he's not eating, it will be a problem.
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +Ketones+

I'm glad you got a ketone test. Stay on top of it. Keep pushing food and water, lots of water. Maybe he'll eat a small amount of food every couple of hours. If he'll eat gravy food, feed that, or chicken or whatever. Do you have pepcid AC on hand? 1/4 of a tablet might help if nausea is preventing him from eating. Grab another ketone test whenever you can.
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +Ketones+

Sienne and Gabby said:
I don't know how your Ketostix read. Mine read negative and the next color is described as "trace." Anything above a negative amount is definitely worrisome and worth speaking to your vet. In the meantime, try to get Sooty to drink as much as you can. Adding water, broth, etc. to food will help. Infection, no food, and not enough insulin can all contribute to ketones developing. It's very good that you're on top of this. Just keep a close eye on Sooty. If you start to notice an acetone-like smell then it is quite serious and get him to an ER.

I'd also keep a very close eye on BG numbers. You are in the blues and if Sooty's numbers drop much further and he's not eating, it will be a problem.

Yes to all that - Thanks Sienne. yes I got quite a surprise at his AMPS... will keep checking him hourly. He's having a second go at the HC Turkey w/ gravy right this minute (I never thought I'd be this glad to see him EAT!!! Well you know what he's normally like - eating like a Horse, can never get enough!)
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +Ketones+

Libby and Lucy said:
I'm glad you got a ketone test. Stay on top of it. Keep pushing food and water, lots of water. Maybe he'll eat a small amount of food every couple of hours. If he'll eat gravy food, feed that, or chicken or whatever. Do you have pepcid AC on hand? 1/4 of a tablet might help if nausea is preventing him from eating. Grab another ketone test whenever you can.

OK, roger all that!! No we don't have Pepcid AC but I can go and get some right now. BRB!!!
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +Ketones+

YAY! Keep eating Sooty
smiley-eatdrink022.gif
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203

Another quick update: Just squeezed the tuna water out of a can of Chicken of the Sea and he's had a nice drink of that...

Also (where did that last hour go!!??) his BG at AMPS +1: 203 (OK to breathe a bit now, Perry....??)
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +Ketones+

Great!! You're doing all of the right stuff! If he'll eat with broth, more tuna water, etc. mixed into his food, even better! You know your cat. You're doing a great job.
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +Ketones+

Well maybe I don't need to go out to get some Pepcid AC after all - he just ate another couple of tsps of the Turkey w/gravy... and he's now lying down on the kitchen mat by the patio doors, in the sunshine. Still looks very tired but he does look better than overnight, he's had a bit if a 'wash' since I last posted, so put him down for another p - and he sure he looks much better for it, overnight he seemed all thin and pinched-looking and his fur wasn't right, kind of bedraggled; now he looks a bit more like his old handsome self...

I don't want to get too excited yet - <anti-jinx!> but he's doing SO much better now, this morning so far, I just hope against hope that he's really turned the corner... will keep you updated...

Thank you SO much for all the help, you guys... <breathe...>
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 doing better...!

I am so sorry Sooty has not been feeling well, but I'm glad he seems better today. I have no experience with ketones, but we have had several times when Blackie stopped eating. It is just terrible to see your baby so sick that they won't eat. I'm sending healing and "eat more" vines to Sooty. I know how stressful this is for you and Cathy, too, so yes, breathe....
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 doing better...!

Ele & Blackie said:
I am so sorry Sooty has not been feeling well, but I'm glad he seems better today. I have no experience with ketones, but we have had several times when Blackie stopped eating. It is just terrible to see your baby so sick that they won't eat. I'm sending healing and "eat more" vines to Sooty. I know how stressful this is for you and Cathy, too, so yes, breathe....

I think Sooty likes vines!! (who'd've known!) Thanks so much Ele, you must know how much it helps to have everyone rally round like this, when it's your turn to be in trouble. <sigh...!>
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 doing better...!

I'm glad that Sooty is looking and acting better, and eating and drinking! You're doing all the right things, keep up the good work. Sooty is lucky to have such proactive beans taking care of him. You're getting great advice, and I have no ketone experience, so I'll just send moral support and more eating and drinking vines. :smile:

Love the word...bedraggled...
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 +2 262

BG 262 at +2 - I guess shows us that he's digesting the food that he's finally eaten this morning, OK...! What a relief! That 176 this AM was kind of scary for us (who are so used to nothing much but yellows with the odd dash of pink) and must have meant, that overnight, his body was using itself for nourishment - instead of food... this might also explain the ketones in his pee, I am thinking? (OK I'm sorry - I can't help it - I just have an analytical brain). Anyhow, will check ketones again just as soon as he p's again...

Meanwhile, I just realized - we can now actually notice that we have a really beautiful, sunny (if a bit breezy) morning, going on, here in ATL - ain't THAT something! :shock: !

Just saw your post Laurie - THANK you - !! Love that name too, by the way - Mr Tinkles! Wonder if he has nicknames? (One of ours, for Sooty is "Sootula" as there are occasions that he might just remind you of that Transylvanian Count dude, er what's his name? he has fangs, too....) :lol:
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 +2 262 +3 234

+3 234 - Well I am quite happy with that, plus he just had another helping of the Turkey (this time, served with water added...)

Cautiously getting optimistic now, that he's really, on his way back... Phew!
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 +2 262 +3 234

I'm glad Sooty is feeling better. Your condos are quite entertaining! Sooty is just all boy - barfing grass and then eating it back up....nasty, but handsome, fellow. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 +2 262 +3 234

Just getting to your condo and I'm soooo happy that Sooty is doing so much better this morning and he's eating. YAY!!! You are such a great and diligent bean, Perry. It's a good thing you've been so proactive. Sending more healing vines for Sooty today so he eats and drinks a ton and his ketones go back to negative.
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 +2 262 +3 234

Boo said:
I'm glad Sooty is feeling better. Your condos are quite entertaining! Sooty is just all boy - barfing grass and then eating it back up....nasty, but handsome, fellow. :mrgreen:

Hi Heather! yep he's all that and more! - but we (Cathy & me both) think that after this latest escapade, adventure, whatever it was, maybe Sooty's just volunteered to join the ranks of the Indoor cats! I mean a) we have no idea if he may have eaten something that did this to him (can't think what else it could have been?) and b) we now have coyotes about the subdivision... (seen, but not heard, believe it or not...!)

Hope he gets used to it...
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 +2 262 +3 234

happy to hear sooty's eating! yaaay!

it's not a bad idea to have some pepcid AC (10mg) on hand for nausea. as mentioned, the dose is 1/4 tab. my vet said i could give it twice a day, about 30 minutes before eating if needed. make sure you syringe at least 4 - 6ml of water after pilling. check with your vet. he/she may have different instructions.

if i understood your post, you're guessing the ketone reading read (by color) between small and trace... 5 being trace and 15 being small. just a suggestion... test for ketones as often as possible. this is a condition which can change rapidly. luckily, you increased the dose yesterday. getting food and as much water as sooty will tolerate is the next best defense. continue pushing food and water.

i'm glad you called your vet. having gone through an episode of DKA with alex... i can tell you ketones are not something you want to mess around with.
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 +2 262 +3 234

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Just getting to your condo and I'm soooo happy that Sooty is doing so much better this morning and he's eating. YAY!!! You are such a great and diligent bean, Perry. It's a good thing you've been so proactive. Sending more healing vines for Sooty today so he eats and drinks a ton and his ketones go back to negative.

Thank you so much Marjorie - yes I think that is just exactly what he needs now - !! But he's fast asleep at the moment (good thing as he needs to recuperate!) !! I just hope he wakes up with a good appetite !
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 +2 262 +3 234

Jill & Alex said:
happy to hear sooty's eating! yaaay!

it's not a bad idea to have some pepcid AC (10mg) on hand for nausea. as mentioned, the dose is 1/4 tab. my vet said i could give it twice a day, about 30 minutes before eating if needed. make sure you syringe at least 4 - 6ml of water after pilling. check with your vet. he/she may have different instructions.

if i understood your post, you're guessing the ketone reading read (by color) between small and trace... 5 being trace and 15 being small. just a suggestion... test for ketones as often as possible. this is a condition which can change rapidly. luckily, you increased the dose yesterday. getting food and as much water as sooty will tolerate is the next best defense. continue pushing food and water.

i'm glad you called your vet. having gone through an episode of DKA with alex... i can tell you ketones are not something you want to mess around with.

OK got all that - thanks Jill! Will get that Pepcid for possible future need... and yes the Rel-Ion Ketone strip's color was midway between 5 (trace) and 15 (small) - Yes we will check his ketones again (and often) just as soon (and whenever) he gives us the opportunity... he's not peeing as much as usual, right now - but that's not surprising I guess, as he's bound to have been a bit dehydrated - despite the SubQ bag he got mid-day yesterday. He's still eating water-added food so thank goodness at least he has some appetite back!

Thank you SO much for keeping an eye on us - as ever!

Perry, Cathy & Sooty
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 +2 262 +3 234

you could even try syringing some water every hour or as often as he'll let you...
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 +2 262 +3 234 +6 274

He's doing sooooooo much better now -

- he just had some more food/water; and right after that he went to the LB and did another P - so I grabbed a Ketone strip - NEGATIVE! :-D :-D :-D :-D !
Not only that but he covered it up - perfectly - he hasn't done that, since I can't remember when.

BG at +6 was 274 - so he's really bouncing back - almost situation normal, once again.

I might even get a few zzzzs myself if I'm lucky...
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 +2 262 +3 234 +6 274

Sending Green Healing Vines and feel well wishes to Sooty today--Hugs for the beans from us..
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 +2 262 +3 234 +6 274

Sounds like Sooty is feeling loads better today, thank goodness. The lower AMPS may have been partially due to lack of food.
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 +2 262 +3 234 +6 274

Yay for the Negative test! whew....keep an eye on him though. the extra fluids are a good thing.
And I think you are thinking along the right lines about the outside freedom coyotes are wily...seriously...they hunt in pairs and are very smart...and I think they are always hungry...It is sad but there are plants outside that are poisonous too and if you do not know what he ate, then you cannot know what is really going on.
I think a heart-to-heart with Sooty is in order.
I have grown kitty grass in planters and my two enjoy munching on it ....at least I know what they are eating.
I hope he continues to eat well and that this will be in the past very soon for you all...GREAT job Perry! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty AMPS 176 +1 203 +2 262 +3 234 +6 274

I was going to add to what Pat said about eating plants and stuff. (Coyotes... oooh watch out for them. I've heard lots of bad kitty stories up here regarding coyotes.)
And I wondered if you or your neighborhood recently had some lawn treatments done... like fertilizer or anti-fungus or weed control.

But then I remembered it rained on Thursday (at least it did here in Chattanooga) so that stuff would have probably been rinsed away.
So forget what I just said. :oops:
It's is something I used to have to watch out for when I had an outside kitty.

Keep healthy Mr. Sooty. OK?
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty PMPS 277 - appetite is BACK

Great news on the negative ketones and on the appetite. I am so glad Sooty is better. I hope you can get some sleep tonight.
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty PMPS 277 - appetite is BACK

Roni - hugs received and reciprocated! THANKS!
Nina - yep Im sure his AMPS today was due to almost no food for ~24hrs - his body was using anything it could get, to sustain life, I guess...
Pat - yes on the staying indoors question - it's quite a pity really since Sooty has always been an indoor/outdoor cat, all his lil life, since he was a kitten. But he seems a lot more content to stay in nowadays, since he's had the FD - I guess it mellows them some... we tried growing "cat grass" once and he didnl;t touch it! But might try it again, "better the devil you know", and all that!
Carolyn - we wondered about grass treatments / weedkillers when we got the initial Dx, at that time, he got quite sick after being outside in the springtime... but we couldn;t find anything online anywhere that said FD could be caused by anything like that. But who knows?

Anyhow you know yesterday, I tried him with the PureBites freeze-dried chicken bits, as a tempter? and he didn't even seem to even notice it was there? Well just now, I gave him a little bit or two as his poke/shot reward, and WOWWEEE!!! Talk about inhaling them?!!! Apparently after all, he LOVES it! Shows how bad he really was yesterday, I think...

Anyhow sorry for taking a bit of a nap this afternoon, but thanks again for standing by us through all this - I sure hope it NEVER happenes ever again... can't keep using up those lives, Sooty!

Enjoy Sunday Night Football or whatever else you do this evening - have a great and safe time.

And I can say - miracles DO happen. (The Vikings WON today !!!) :lol:

Perry
ps just got another ketone test - very (very) FAINT trace... Looking OK. <sighs of relief>
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty PMPS 277 - appetite is BACK

Ele & Blackie said:
Great news on the negative ketones and on the appetite. I am so glad Sooty is better. I hope you can get some sleep tonight.
Thanks Ele! AMen on the sleep. But I'll not complain - this was nothing, compared to what so many of our beans do around here...!!!
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty PMPS 277 - appetite is BACK

I am so glad that Sooty is feeling better. Somehow I missed so much if this - so sorry - I am just getting caught up. What a relief that Sooty is eating and the ketones are negative. Feel better Sooty!
 
Re: 11/28 Sooty PMPS 277 - appetite is BACK

If Sooty turned down the FD chicken, then he was really sick. When Blackie turned away from his, I knew he was very sick. FD chicken is also known as kitty crack! :lol:
 
Thanks Michelle - glad you dropped by! yes it was touch and go there for a while, we nearly lost Sooty last night - but he pulled through. Scary.

Ele, yes you got my drift there... but it's SO nice to have him back now, from wherever he was last night... it's lovely to see him eating again - I shall never complain again about his Acro-appetite, I promise! (It sure beats the alternative!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top