11/28 Simon PMPS 59 +2.5 93 +4.25 138

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Simon is starting to feel better and I'm happy to see the 91 this morning. This is after eating MC food all night. Since I am going to be out of the house for a couple of hours, I gave him some more MC food just in case. He is still not loving his regular LC food. I need him to eat so whatever he wants, I am giving him. Yesterday, he got cerenia, bupe, fluids 2x, Pepcid and ondansetron. Poor boy, he is getting wary when he seems me coming, although he snuggled close last night. Missy is still being a little ugly to him. She hisses when she gets close to him. I guess he still has a little vetty smell on him.

I have 3/4 of a bag of lactated ringers solution left and vet was out of it on Wed. I have been off the board for a little bit so I had not heard about a shortage of LRS. Is this something that I need to be worried about? Is it a nationwide problem? I am hoping that when my vet office opens on Monday, I can get another bag (if they have more) to tide me over until the order I just placed with Thriving Pets comes in. The bags are way more expensive on that site. I used to be able to get a whole case at Walgreens for $22 but they don't even have any to order! Simon definitely needs his supply of LRS.

Happy Black Friday (although I will NOT be shopping today except maybe to go to Petsmart)

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129032
 
Re: 11/28 Simon AMPS 91 Question about shortage of LRS?

I'm so glad Simon is feeling better! I agree...let him eat whatever he wants at this point! Missy, be sweet to your big brother...he doesn't feel good!

The LRS shortage is pretty bad right now. I'm actually surprised your vet is out of them, thought...THAT is really scary! Is there another vet in your area that you could get them from? Dyana recently got some from her local Walmart...if you call around you MIGHT be able to find someone who can order them in for you. Last spring, when I was having trouble finding them, I did track down a medical supply place that could get them for me.

Have a great day, Georgia!
 
Re: 11/28 Simon AMPS 91 Question about shortage of LRS?

Amy, very scary about the shortage. I even asked the ER vet when I picked up more bupe for Simon. They said that some vets are making their own solutions due to the shortage. I will check with Walmart today. The bag I am using now will be finished by Monday or Tuesday.
 
Re: 11/28 Simon AMPS 91 Question about shortage of LRS?

If there's a vet school in the area, check with them. If they have an active hospital, they may be able to provide some for you. At the ver least, if they have a veterinary pharmacist, they may be able to make up a bag or several.
 
Re: 11/28 Simon AMPS 91 Question about shortage of LRS?

I'm glad Simon is doing better. I hope you can find fluids somewhere.
 
Re: 11/28 Simon AMPS 91 Question about shortage of LRS?

Morning Georgia ~O) ~O) ~O)

YaHOO! I am elated that Simon is feeling better. That is awesome, and I too would feed him whatever he will eat. It was this way with Mannie when he had p'titis too. He also developed a few food aversions. I will hope that is only temporary for Simon.

Love the BG's today! Surf well Simon.

Good luck with the fluids. I so hope this situation rights itself soon....
 
Re: 11/28 Simon AMPS 91 +6 75 +8 38 +8.5 47

Goodness! I was not expecting such a drop at +8! Feeding HC food. I'm thinking that Simon is not in as much pain, thus the lower numbers.

Sienne, the closest vet school is University of Georgia and is about 1 1/2 hours away. If I can't find fluids anywhere close by, I will definitely be calling the school and see what they can do. I also think my vet should see where else I can get fluids. He knows how precarious the situation is with Simon and I don't want him backsliding.
 
Re: 11/28 Simon AMPS 91 +6 75 +8 38 +8.5 47 +9 60 +10.5 50

Simon is making me a little crazy this evening. I thought he was rising but now dropped again. I do not think I want to give him insulin tonight if he keeps this up. I will wait another 45 minutes and see what is going on and decide then. Normally, I would still give a small token dose of a unit or so, but with him being sick, I'm not sure I should do that. Any advice is welcome.
 
Re: 11/28 Simon AMPS 91 +6 75 +8 38 +8.5 47 +9 60 +10.5 50

This may be a double dip. If your schedule permits, you can always stall the shot to be sure his numbers are rising.
 
Re: 11/28 Simon AMPS 91 +6 75 +8 38 +8.5 47 +9 60 +10.5 50

Hi Georgia.

No advice from me on whether or not to shoot. You might put a question in your subject line to get more eyes.

I have missed hearing about Simon's ordeal as I'm up to my eyebrows in sick kitties myself, but I can sure sympathize with what you are going through. I, too, am concerned about the fluid shortage as I have two kitties on sub-qs right now. My regular vet didn't mention having trouble getting more, but I'll be taking then to the UC Davis Vet Hospital this week and will definitely see about stocking up from them. I hope you are able to find all you need.

Sending lots of healing vines for Simon.
 
Re: 11/28 Simon PMPS 59

I just gave Simon some more HC food and am giving just a token dose of insulin (1 unit instead of 3.25). I am just not comfortable giving him a higher dose. I know it isn't exactly the protocol, but with a sick kitty, I have to go with my gut feeling. I'm sure he will probably sky rocket overnight and then I will be worrying about his high numbers. Roller coaster ride.
 
Re: 11/28 Simon PMPS 59

Georgia --

You've been managing Simon's FD long enough that you're right -- you know Simon and you have good gut instincts. One thing that did occur to me is that if he's in lower numbers, he must be feeling better. Any kind of illness is a stress to the system and would cause BG numbers to rise.
 
Re: 11/28 Simon PMPS 59

Continued vines for Simon and hugs for his awesome bean. You're doing a terrific job, Georgia. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
Liz
 
Re: 11/28 Simon PMPS 59 +2.5 93

Sienne and Liz, thanks for the votes of confidence. I have been doing this for 4 years, but I am always second guessing what I should do. Thank goodness for everyone here!

I hope Simon will stay in the green lagoon, but I'm thinking he will start rising pretty quickly since I didn't give him a regular dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top