11/28 Simon: AMPS 194 + 3 = 154

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
I re-tested Simon this AM after not giving him insulin last night. It was 194. I gave 1 unit of insulin and 3 hours later it is 154. I am going to test again in about 3 hours and then in the PM before giving another shot of insulin. I set up my spreadsheet this morning (thanks, Sue!).

Thank you for any advice. This is my second day of home testing and I definitely need support and advice.
Georgia and Simon
 
Welcome to Lantus Land.

It looks like you had a bit of excitement yesterday and you got some very good advice over on the Health board. Here's the link to your post on Health. We link our daily threads (we call them condos) so we can backtrack if necessary.

I would encourage you to read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. There's a huge amount of information there -- an overwhelming amount of info, in fact. I'd suggest reading the New to Lantus/Lev and the Tight Regulation stickies first. These will help get you oriented to how we do things here as well as to the dosing protocol that we follow.

Do you know how your vet arrived at Simon's starting dose? 4.0u of insulin is a lot of insulin! I'm really glad you decided to drop the dose back to 1.0u.

You've done a great job getting your spreadsheet (SS) up and running. You're also doing a great job with home testing. It does take a little getting used to. Remember to give Simon a treat after testing -- no matter whether it's a successful test or not. You want him to start associating tests with something good. We have lots of suggestions for low carb (LC) treats.

Could you also let us know what you're feeding Simon. Food is a very important component of diabetes management.

When you have a chance, can you also complete a Profile. This will let us know what you're feeding, Simon's medical history, etc. You can link the Profile to your signature just like you did with your SS.
 
Welcome Georgia and Simon! :mrgreen: Good job on getting your SS attached (but I think you have yesterday's date in today's box...)
I was also prescribed the 4.0u starting dose a year ago last August. I am happy to see you are starting at the 1.0u dose now. Do you have the link to Janet & Binkys food chart? http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html

In the "New to the Group" starred sticky at the top of the page, you will find what you need to have on hand under "Hypo tool Kit" we as k that you select a high carb canned food that has gravy form the Binky chart...and have it on hand at all times. It should be >18% and you should also have karo syrup on hand too. We give the gravy alone when the numbers go low. The gravy brings the numbers up without filling them up too much (in case we need to give more to bring them up even more)

Are you using syringes with half unit markings on them?

I am so happy to see you both here. If you have any questions, please feel free to post them here in your condo (thread)
We open a new condo each day and link the previous day's post to the first post of each day. We are looking forward to seeing you both and watching Simon's progress! :mrgreen:
 
Welcome to LL, Georgia. You are doing great learning the testing so quickly. I'm glad you lowered Simon's dose too. You will find a lot of info and support here. I hope Simon continues to do well.
 
good luck with the new dose! I think you made a good decision to restart at a lower dose. I can't wait to see what Simon does with it over the next couple of days. He's off to a great start. :mrgreen:
 
Hi and welcome aboard. You've gotten alot of great info already so I won't add any more. :-D There is a huge learning curve and alot of info to absorb at first. It does get easier!

I too followed your posting last night - you got great help, and I think your decision to start anew this morning with a lower dose is a wise one. I hope that your vet will be receptive to what we do here, and how you have managed Simon's care.

WELCOME! Simon is off to a great start today.
 
Re: 11/28 Simon: AMPS 194 + 3 = 154; +7 205; PMPS 194

Thank you everyone for your great advice. I will complete a profile as soon as I figure out how to fill it out and copy to my signature. To answer a few of your questions: I am using the syringes with 1/2 increments. I am feeding Simon canned Friskies, the pate variety not with gravy. I am still feeding him about 20 pieces of dry food (Hills WD) in the AM and before bed but am going to cut it out hopefully over the next week. He used to eat at least 1/2 of cup to 3/4 of a cup of dry food along with his canned food every day. I have cut it way down since he was diangosed 1 1/2 weeks ago.

His numbers I think look pretty good with only giving him the 1 unit of insulin this morning. I assume that I should give him the 1 unit of insulin this evening, right? It looks like from the information I have read on this website that I should keep him at this dosage for 3-4 days, is that correct?

Do I need to re-test him tonight or can I wait until the AM? Once I go back to work tomorrow, I am going to test him in the AM, come back from lunch and test him and then once again in the evening. I hope the middle of the day test goes ok because I will have to do without my husband's help since he can't get away.

Thanks again! Georgia and Simon
 
Yes, you are correct in that you will hold the dose unless the numbers tell you otherwise.
Many kitties get lower numbers at night for some reason... we get at least a before bed time check. That way you can see if he is going lower. It's great to get lots of data so you can see his pattern.
Great that you are using the syringes with half unit measurements. Great! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top