11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11 43, +12 75, 101, +13 116

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuBee

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

I was (really) bad today - but enough about me, Rufus is in the 40s! I think it's time for a trip to the Gravy-yard. I had a feeling we were going to be doing this soon - I think tomorrow will be a day to start back at 1.25u.

Rufus is acting normal, though... so typical of him. Off to grab the gravy. :-|
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11 43 ... UH-OH!

I would try a tsp of low carb first. It's late in the cycle, so low carb might be enough to pop him out of the 40s without sending him to the moon. Then test in 30 minutes to see how it worked.
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11 43 ... UH-OH!

Oh! We just missed the gravy on its way down. :? He ate about one tablespoon. Hopefully it will give him the necessary boost, but he's pretty notorious for being stubborn once he goes low. We shall soon see. I need to be careful with testing, though - we're low on lancets and my driver is S-I-C-K sick.
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11.9 43, +12.4 75

75 @ +12.4.

Roo didn't eat all of his dinner, so I'm going to try to entice him with a little fortiflora if I can't get him to eat it on its own. I have no idea what to do about his injection, though.
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11.9 43, +12.4 75

I think you can use the needles from unused syringes to poke, if you have to.
Do you have plenty of test strips and HC if needed?
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11.9 43, +12.4 75

Thanks for the tip on the lancets! I've never tried doing it free-hand, but I'm sure I can do that if it becomes necessary. And, we have a newly-opened bottle of 50 strips (plus one more in the cupboard), and three cans of HC left. We should be fine there.
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11.9 43, +12.4 75

Okay. Let's see where he's at in 15 minutes. How many lancets do you have? And how long can you stall, before it would affect the shooting at +12 from whatever time you shoot tonight?
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11.9 43, +12 75, 101

Rufus is at 101 as of +12.9. I'm not quite sure what you're asking, though. It is, right now, an hour past Rufus' normal shot time. He's been fed, though. I know it's not considered wise to shoot in that two hour window after food.

As for lancets, I just counted about 25 (found some hiding in his back-up meter bag!)
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11.9 43, +12 75, 101

what Dyana is asking is whether you would be able to shoot again 12 hours from now, or if you have to make up this hour by morning to be out the door for work.
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11.9 43, +12 75, 101

Sorry, I think you might be confused with; it's not wise to feed between +10 and +12 (the last two hours before shot time).

It is now 8:00pm, or so there, right? If you gave a BCS (lowered) dose tonight, at say 8:30pm, would you be able to shoot at 8:30am (12 hours later) tomorrow morning?
And most importantly, if you decide to shoot a little tonight (like maybe 1.00 unit), will you be home to monitor him tonight?

Thanks Libby.
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11.9 43, +12 75, 101

Ahah. I'd be fine to shoot at 8:30am (provided I write it on my hand before going to bed!) And I'm sure I can stay up a while to test. It'll be ugly in the morning, but I'll live.
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11.9 43, +12 75, 101

Okay, let's see where he is at what I think is your +13, that's about 8:30 right? If he's much higher, I think you would be safe to shoot a lowered dose for tonight.
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11.9 43, +12 75, 101

Just got a test - he's 116. I don't know what to think about that. Also - we normally shoot at 7:00, so this is really +1.5.
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11 43, +12 75, 101, +13 11

I would take the reduction and SHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!

He earned a reduction to 1.25. If he bounces by morning, you can shoot 1/2 hour early in the morning to start getting back toward your usual schedule. What do you think?
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11 43, +12 75, 101, +13 11

Sounds like a good idea. 1.25u it is. He's holding the 100s up pretty well, it seems. (Get a +1, etc., I assume).
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11 43, +12 75, 101, +13 11

I just looked at your spreadsheet for like the fourth time. I think you have enough data, to shoot some tonight, just to put something in the shed. If you're all right with starting out with getting a +1 and a +2 after you shoot, tonight? And you're all right with delaying your schedule by 1.5 hours, then I think you can give him a little insulin. I see that you marked 1.00 in his PMPS column. Did you shoot already?

Sorry, I posted the same time as Libby.
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11 43, +12 75, 101, +13 11

I just shot - I altered the 1.00u and put 1.25 in its place... but to be honest, I think there might have been an air bubble in there, so it was probably more like a chubby 1u. :roll:

I'll be getting the first 2 hours post-shot at the very least. Crossing my fingers that he holds it up.
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11 43, +12 75, 101, +13 11

I think he'll be fine. And, nice hooting, there girl! :mrgreen:

You can get back on schedule by shooting at +11.75 (15 minutes earlier) each shot. kwim? Like tomorrow AM 8:15am and PM 8:00pm, and then the next day AM 7:45am and 7:30pm, until you are back to where you want your shot schedule to be.

You can go have some chocolate now. You deserve a treat.
 
Re: 11/28 Rufus AMPS 109, +7 52, +11 43, +12 75, 101, +13 11

LoL, Oh yeah, Rufus The Resilient and I are well familiar with those 15 minutes of wiggle room. We'll be shimmying our way back to 7pm over the next few days. I'll just have to remind myself not to make a move until I hear my (very carefully set) alarm go off! Now, off to find that chocolate... :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top