11/28 Revson AMPS 148, PMPS 552... Oh What a Day!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Revson

Member Since 2011
Thank you for all of your encouragement yesterday.

I decided that one option might be that the lantus was bad so I bought a new vial.
Perhaps that's the answer. Look at his SS.

So... now he's 148 and I would not typically shoot since he's under 200.

Yet again I need help/advice.

I'll respond to yesterday's eating questions later today.

Amy
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154... Now What?!

That's a nice surprise!

How old was your Lantus?

Are you going to be home to monitor? If not, how long will you be home before you have to leave? (i.e., what +time will you be leaving?) Do you have strips and HC food?
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154... Now What?!

Sienne... hoping it sticks!! Do you agree not to shoot this morning?

The Lantus was from late September.

Yes, I'm home today and can check.
I have test strips, HC food & honey. Not sure if there is any Karo in the house (does it go bad?).

At what number would I give him HC food?

Amy
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154... Now What?!

That 154 is very nice! Help, advice and encouragement is the whole point of LL - you're in the right place for helping Revson. :smile:
Liz
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154... Now What?!

Personally, I'd say shoot if you're going to be home and can test. That said, I've got to go to work and won't be around that much to check on you. Others are usually here during the day, though.

If you opt to shoot, I would get a +1 and a +2.

Karo doesn't go bad! You can also use honey or maple syrup. Your first choice is the HC gravy-style food.
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154... Now What?!

At this point I am 30 minutes past his usual shoot time.

Unless someone feels strongly that I should shoot (and how much?!), I am going to skip this morning.

Amy
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154... Now What?!

Since you'll be home this morning to monitor, I think it would be a great idea to shoot. If you're not comfortable shooting his whole dose of 2u, you can always shoot a BCS dose (big chicken sh!t), say 1u to 1.5 u. As long as you're there to monitor, there's really no danger. You'll be able to guide his numbers with food if necessary and we'll all be here to help you out.
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154... Now What?!

Ok, thanks. I'll go with a BCS number of 1.5 since he dropped so much on 2U and we're late with the shot.

Wish me luck!
I'll keep you all posted.

Amy
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154... Now What?!

Sounds like a plan!

FWIW, I would have gotten another test right before you shot.

Please get a +1 and a +2.
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154... Now What?!

Make sure you get a +1 and a +2. The +1 should be higher than the preshot number because you'll have fed him when you shot. The +2 will give you an idea of where's he's headed. If the +2 is lower than the preshot number, it's a good bet you'll have an active cycle with some nice numbers. Keep posting Revson's BG's and if it looks like you need some help, someone will surely be around to help out. I'll keep popping in while I'm at work to check on you!! Good luck and nice shooting!!
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154... Now What?!

I checked about 15 minutes before I shot and the number was in the 190s (after eating some turkey). I'll post it when I post the +1 number.

Have a great day everyone!
Amy
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154... Now What?!

Good luck Amy! Revson will do fine. It looks like he was beginning to head up some. The +1 and the +2 will give you a good idea of what to expect this morning. Very nice shooting!!! It is so great to see these lower numbers.

Enjoy your day today! :-D
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154... Now What?!

FABULOUS! one little knot untangled - so it may have been the lantus. 2 months isn't terrible, but some people are pretty convinced they can only get 1 month. depends on if yours got contaminated with anything - so a new vial will help get rid of one variable.

i'm off to work too, but others will be around. great to put your question in the subject line - you got a lot of eyes this morning! have a great day, amy!
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154, +1 422 OMG

My poor mouser woke up in good spirits. Purring, walking around with his tail in the air, chatting.

Now having eaten a small amount and getting a shot, he's up to 422 and quiet/lethargic again.

I'll check again at +2, but something is wrong.
VERY uninterested in food. Licked at FF Flaked shrimp & fish (a fave), but ate some people turkey.

Amy
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154, +1 422 OMG

Revson! What's that bounce about? That 154 was much nicer on you! If you aren't careful, you're gonna take over KT's 'King of Bounce' title!

Hugs Amy - with that zoom up, yes he's back to laying around but look where he went!! Just visiting those lower numbers are a good thing!! Maybe the Lantus WAS the guilty culprit. You're doing great - don't let this get you down today! Celebrate the 154!
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154, +1 422 OMG

It's always a good idea to get a second test when there's such a big difference in numbers that are only one hour apart. However, since Revson has been in high numbers previously, this was probably an accurate test. I'm sorry to see this, but Revson seems to take his bouncing seriously!!!! Having a rise in BGs that huge, he's bound to be feeling yucky. Just let him rest, try to get him to eat, and test for ketones when he goes to the LB. This too shall pass, it's just scary while it's happening. Go ahead and check a +2 to see how he's doing, but if he's still high, you can probably leave him alone for much of this AM cycle....maybe catch a +10 to see where he is. Keep your chin up (I know it's hard)!!!
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154, +1 422 OMG

Hi Amy - sorry for that bounce... I agree with all that patty wrote. Lyresa too - celebrate the 154. It is a huge bounce, and I have no doubt Revson will feel pretty yucky.. it will pass - I know how unsettling it can be. Id still get the +2 and see where Revson is headed.
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154, +1 422 OMG

Hi guys .. what a nice amps! Don't stress about the +1 .. did you do a double check, just in case it was an error reading? We liked to do that with mocha, when she gave us an unexpected number, either high or low .. We also only ever got one month out of lantus with mocha .. but every cat is different! Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154, +1 422, +2 408

Mid-morning update.

+2 was 408... going in the right direction (whew)

Smelly but firm BM :)

2 medium fresh shrimp & almost 1/2 can Tiki Sardines.

Wheeeee.

Amy
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154, +1 422, +2 408

All good news with that mid-morning report! Revson sure is a bouncy kitty, but find comfort in the fact that he's most definitely not alone in that talent. You're doing great!

~Amy
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154, +1 422 OMG

I agree with Patty as well. Whenever you get an unexpected result on a test, I would re-test. Sometimes you just get a bad test for whatever reason.

I would also like to underscore Patty's suggestion to get a ketone test ASAP, and I also suggest that you try to get one daily while his numbers are so high. Lethargy can be from the zoom upward, but it can also be a sign of ketones. If you ever get anything but a negative test, please post right away and put KETONES in your header. An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.

You did a good job, shooting this morning. He would have bounced either way, but not shooting would have only helped to keep him higher for a longer time....so good for you! FWIW, I would have shot the full dose after you stalled, because stalling acts like a dose reduction by itself...but you need to be comfortable with what you are doing. Please don't worry about it....there are no mistakes, only opportunities to gather data. You will see today what happens when you stall and shoot a BCS dose, and that will help you make decisions next time.

A quick note about stalling....when you get a lower than normal PS, I would encourage you to stall for 15-30 minutes without feeding, post here for help, and get another test to see which way Revson is going without food influence. If you haven't done it yet, please read and print out the sticky about Shooting & Handling Low Numbers. There's a lot of helpful info there, particularly in the last two sections. It will help you get more comfortable with the process, as well as guide you if no one is around to help when the situation comes up. I was unlucky enough to catch my first low numbers (twice!) in the middle of the night, with no one online to help me....so I try to encourage others to think ahead so you are prepared for those low numbers before they appear on your meter!
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154, +1 422, +2 408

Amy, as frightening and frustrating as it is to see this, the data you are collecting will empower you as you try to guide Revson's cycles. These kitties don't come with owner's manuals. There are trends that are pretty common from one cat to another, but even those assumptions are always colored by a big splash of ECID (every cat is different). You are the one filling in the blanks for Revson, so none of the observations should be cause for despair. What is, is. But you can’t deal with it if you don’t know what it is. All of the expertise represented by this board wouldn’t be able to provide much help to you without the data you are recording. No one here can help Revson without you. You are the vital link in his care. Smile, you are doing what needs to be done, and only you can do!
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154, +1 422, +2 408

Just a reminder -- Amy did get a second test. It's just not in her header. (Revson tested at 190 so the 154 was likely accurate.) (Amy -- can you put the 190 into your SS? Otherwise, there's no record.)

To state the obvious, seeing a blue pre-shot underscores why spot checks are so important. Revson is clearly doing something with the insulin he's getting. There's now very good evidence that we may have a new bounce champion in town. Without the data, we would not have known this for sure. It also means that if we had been blindly encouraging you to increase Revson's dose, he could be way over dose by now. You've done great at being patient even though the high BG test numbers are hard to see.
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154, +1 422, +2 408

Let me think...

154 test at 8ish this morning.
Then food, but very little, mostly people turkey

197 at 8:45
Shot 1.5U at 9:15

442 at 10:30
408 at 11:15

I don't think he really ate anything between 8ish and 10:30
He had the people shrimp and Tiki sardines after the 408 test.

Will check at 3:15 for a +6 test.
He's acting better now. On the screened in porch watching birds & squirrels!

Amy
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154, +1 422, +2 408

I don't think any info has been gathered regarding carb counts on the Tiki cat foods. It's quite possible it's not low carb, even though it's a seafood flavor. I don't know if you've looked at Janet & Binky's food lists, but there are a bunch of cat foods that are low carb (we try to keep below 5% if possible). The Fancy Feast classic varieties are all low carb. If you want to feed the top shelf kind of food (no by-products), there are a bunch listed such as Wellness, Merrick, etc. Try to keep the human food to a minimum because there aren't any of the necessary vitamins and minerals in it that kitties need. Always offer cat food first, using freeze-dried chicken sprinkled over the top or Forti Flora as an enticement if necessary. Save the human food for rare treats or if he refuses anything else and you just need him to eat something. Think of it this way....if you always offer kids a choice for lunch of cookies or a sandwich, they're going to choose the cookies. Make it so he has to eat the "sandwich" first before he gets his "cookies." Also, in case you didn't know (and most of us didn't until someone told us), you shouldn't give your kitty seafood varieties of food very often, may once or twice a week, especially male cats. From what I understand, it affects their urinary systems, and males are already prone to more urinary problems than females. I've researched this on the internet and there is data on it out there if you're interested.

I'm glad Revson's numbers have come down a bit. Champ likes to do the famous Lantus "double-dip" where he goes down at the beginning of his cycle, goes up after his nadir, goes back down around +8, and comes back up a bit (or not) at PMPS. Try to catch a +9 or +10 and see where Revson is toward the end of his cycle. It's good data to collect.
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154, +1 422, +2 408

I recently asked about the Tiki line and think(hope) the answer was it was fish based and should be low carb.

I have the Janet & Binky list printed out and take with me to the store every time I go!

I have heard that he should not have seafood more than a couple of times a week, but right now it's what he'll eat. The same with people food.
I am trying to mix it with low-carb cat food, but my biggest goal is to get him to eat... anything.
He does like Stella & Chewy's freeze dried Chick Chick Chicken complete food. I thought it was raising his BG, but that may not be true if the Lantus was the prob.

I do offer him choices for canned food. High end, low end, pate, flaked, etc.
Of course, my first choice would be for him to eat that. However, right now it's not happening.

Freeze-dried Purebites sometimes works, parmesaen cheese does not, neither does tuna juice (he licks it off, but doesn't eat the food).
Warming doesn't work. FortiFlora worked for 1 day but now he either doesn't care or licks it off.
He originally weighed 14+ lbs, but continues to lose weight. He's probably around 8lbs now.

I have not tried the Tuna flakes yet.

Someone else asked about the Cat Sip milk for mousers & waggers.
I don't remember the answer...

Amy
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154, +1 422, +2 408

Congrats! I'm very happy to see his numbers come down. So happy! My vet just told me that a bottle of lantus can last 6 months. Not sure about that. I know with Jake, I bought a new bottle every 2 months. Whatever is helping Revson - whether it's a new bottle or not - it is good news.
 
Oh What a Long Strange Trip It's Been... today!

For whatever reason, his appetite is better today.

Any comments or suggestions?

Amy
 
Yay for good appetite!

Looks like a bit of fall out from visiting the pretty blues combined with a pi$$ed off shed (due to BCS and stall this morning).
So since you BCSd this morning, your cycle count now starts over - tonight is cycle 1 at 2u. . .
Nice to know he is seeing some yellow and blue on this dose. I would not be surprised if you catch a green overnight sometime. . .
Great job filling in some of the PM cycle "blanks" :-D

How often do you give SQs??
 
Re: 11/28 Revson AMPS 154, +1 422, +2 408

TrixieCat said:
All good news with that mid-morning report! Revson sure is a bouncy kitty, but find comfort in the fact that he's most definitely not alone in that talent. You're doing great!

~Amy


Maybe Revson is part Tigger? He's only doing what Tiggers do best... bounce, bounce bounce! ;-)
 
My vet went on vacation and the substitute vet sent us home with Sub-Qs.

I couldn't do it and my regular vet said not to worry about it.
However, last weekend when Rev was sick he got a HUGE amount of sub-q due to dehydration.

This week he wasn't looking great and his skin almost tented, so I decided to try the sub-q again. Success!

The visiting vet suggested every other day. I'll see how it goes...

Amy
 
Amy, if you are feeding canned food try mixing water in with the food. That way Revson will get fluids while eating and hopefully stay a little more hydrated.
 
Personally, I've never done SubQs, but I do know that others recommend doing smaller quantities on a daily basis if you can, rather than larger quantities every other day. I know Marjorie (of Marjorie and Gracie) is well-versed in giving squids...you may want to PM her if you have any questions.
 
Oh good grief Revson! I hope you have not been reading Zener's condo! :shock: He is NOT a good role model, but he does LOVE to bounce.

You are getting great help here Amy, and you are doing a wonderful job, so much to learn!
 
Hi Amy

What a day you and Revson had!! Glad you shot this morning. Oh these zoom zoom kitties...and we all see it from time to time.

Let me kmow if you have any questions about giving subqs. I think alot of vets suggest every other day because they think people might have a difficult
time getting them in every day. But, unless they are suggesting a really low amount of fluid, it is better to do it every day. In other words, 50 mls every day
is better for kitty than 100 EOD. The higher up in amount you get, the more apparent this becomes. Especially if you have a cat that has any heart issues....
you don't want to overwhelm their system.

If you've never given fluids or have any questions, please let me know. If you have to give them for very long, you are better off getting the LRS from Walgreens by the case with a pharm card and ordering your lines and needles (I suggest Terumo 21g UTW) from thrivingpets.com.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top