Pumbaa
Member Since 2012
NOTE: Pumbaa's SS is in reverse with the most current data at the top.
I gave Pumbaa one drop short of his 2.50U dose this morning, in an attempt to prevent these swings. But, since he was at 345 at his PMPS, he got the full 2.50U.
Pumbaa, Pumbaa, Pumbaa...I know you hate these drastic swings in your numbers as much as I do. I wish I could do more for you to prevent them, little guy!
As soon as this bounce clears, and he settles down again, I think it's time to take him up to 2.75U. (Barring his settling into flat blues and greens in the meantime.)
On the Lantus, he was getting good runs of blues and greens on 2.25U and 2.50U, and, even though the Levemir is supposed to be more potent than the Lantus, it might be possible that FD cats who are switched to Levemir after Lantus need more insulin to break through, due to developing insulin resistance. But cats who are started on Levemir may need much lower doses. Yes? No? Input on this is very welcome. It would make a great discussion.
I'm happy that we haven't seen a red number since 11/9/12, and I'm still very pleased that Pumbaa doesn't react negatively to his Levemir injections like he did to the Lantus. And, I can't tell you how much easier it is to dose the Levemir (much thinner in substance, almost no air bubbles, much less waste) than it was the Lantus. So, while I was praying that Levemir would prevent any and all swings in Pumbaa's BG numbers, the benefits outweigh the trouble of transitioning from one insulin to another. And Pumbaa really is much less of a SuperBall on Levemir than he was on Lantus. But ECID. I just wish more vets would give Levemir a try from the get-go, and that someone would do a study on FD cats started on each of the two L insulins for a comparison.
Suze
I gave Pumbaa one drop short of his 2.50U dose this morning, in an attempt to prevent these swings. But, since he was at 345 at his PMPS, he got the full 2.50U.
Pumbaa, Pumbaa, Pumbaa...I know you hate these drastic swings in your numbers as much as I do. I wish I could do more for you to prevent them, little guy!
As soon as this bounce clears, and he settles down again, I think it's time to take him up to 2.75U. (Barring his settling into flat blues and greens in the meantime.)
On the Lantus, he was getting good runs of blues and greens on 2.25U and 2.50U, and, even though the Levemir is supposed to be more potent than the Lantus, it might be possible that FD cats who are switched to Levemir after Lantus need more insulin to break through, due to developing insulin resistance. But cats who are started on Levemir may need much lower doses. Yes? No? Input on this is very welcome. It would make a great discussion.
I'm happy that we haven't seen a red number since 11/9/12, and I'm still very pleased that Pumbaa doesn't react negatively to his Levemir injections like he did to the Lantus. And, I can't tell you how much easier it is to dose the Levemir (much thinner in substance, almost no air bubbles, much less waste) than it was the Lantus. So, while I was praying that Levemir would prevent any and all swings in Pumbaa's BG numbers, the benefits outweigh the trouble of transitioning from one insulin to another. And Pumbaa really is much less of a SuperBall on Levemir than he was on Lantus. But ECID. I just wish more vets would give Levemir a try from the get-go, and that someone would do a study on FD cats started on each of the two L insulins for a comparison.
Suze