11/28 Pimp PM+11.5 95, AMBG 84, +22.5 358; PMPS 343; +3 287

Status
Not open for further replies.
We ended up skipping this morning. I waited till last minute (had to work) and he was dropping so I said nope.
Still not comfortable shooting a falling number.:arghh:
DW tried a +2 to see where he was at, but he didn't want to bleed for her.

Should I shoot one time .25u (or more?) to help him come back down?
 
question, what would it take to make you feel comfortable shooting at a lower number?

I really think he would flatten out if you were able to shoot some of these lower numbers rather than skip. If you skip, it takes about 6 cycles for the depot to refill and the dose to start working again. Then he gets another low number and you have to skip again.

I know you're following SLGS and I know you're out of the home during the day, so I guess I'm trying to brainstorm how we can help you get there.
 
question, what would it take to make you feel comfortable shooting at a lower number?
I wouldn't have had a problem shooting the 95 this morning if I hadn't gotten that second, lower test.

When I was first researching treatment of DM, I know I read something about "never shoot a falling number". I'm sure it was regarding fast-acting insulins, which I know Lantus is not. However there's something about the first things learned being most prominent in the thought process...so I effectively need to un-learn that information. I had woken up late, was rushing to take care of Pimp and get myself ready for work, and defaulted to the first thing I remembered. I didn't have time to post and ask for advice.

The first thing I clicked when I logged on here tonight was the "myths debunked" info thread. Good stuff there, wish I had read it last night. (is there a way to find all the info threads? been wondering for a few days actually.)

Within a week or two I will be working reduced hours for the winter season. I've been looking forward to the extra time at home with Pimp since the day we began all this.
 
(is there a way to find all the info threads? been wondering for a few days actually.)

If you click on the yellow Info it will bring up all the info threads. A lot of them are also linked in the New to the Group sticky, including some older ones that were written before the Info tag existed.

It can be hard to learn to shoot low when your cat insists on having low preshots in the morning! I was lucky Lucy did most of hers in the evening when I could monitor. Jazzy did a lot of hers in the morning and I had to skip often. What if you moved your shot time an hour earlier so you would have some time to stall if you need to?

The "dropping number" thing has been around on this board for a long time, but with the slower acting insulins like Lantus and Levemir that advice isn't very current. It is one of those things that we often have to re-teach when people move to this group from Health.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top