11/28 mocha pmps 222 +3 209

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Member Since 2009
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30754

WCR: mocha was released from prison early this morning because she would not stop howling and scratching at the bedroom door. She had a nice surf going on last night but once again has returned to the pink floor. Much better then yesterdays red amps but still frustrating as we have moved her last snack time back till +7 with no real improvement on morning numbers. Our other concern is, we think she is ready for a dose increase but now she is throwing out nicer numbers at night and high numbers in the morning. We know if she gets a dose increase she is going to give us one of her famous drops and need to be an instant reduction anyways. What do we do? We can give her a dose increase and try to manage her numbers with HC and MC but we know she sky rockets after eating that stuff then it takes her all day to come back down.
 
Re: 11/28 mocha amps 310

Good morning. And Happy Sunday, to you.

I'm glad Mocha has regained her freedom :-D

I would be hesitant to increase the dose based on that 47 at +2, just a day and a half ago. Let's see what others say.
 
Re: 11/28 mocha amps 310

no dose suggestions...sorry....

just dropping by to wish you a happy Sunday and Mocha you need to come down so you can have playday with Rocket today...ok?
 
Re: 11/28 mocha amps 310

I agree with Dyana. Mocha had a 47 on 11/26 and was in the greens last night. I'd hold the dose and see what she does.
 
Re: 11/28 mocha amps 310

This is a pretty lowish pink...she will come back down soon....I bet she will regain her nice numbers with this dose....the wild swings are not all that great, right? so Mocha...do you hear that? maybe if you stay at this dose you can show your Beans so steady numbers again....no more diving though, k? :razz:
 
Re: 11/28 mocha amps 310

good luck figuring out what to do with Mocha's dose. I'm in the same boat with Tray, those high amps are no fun and bloody difficult to get rid of.
Hope she comes down with no big drops
 
Re: 11/28 mocha amps 310

I need to spend some time studying Mocha's spreadsheet today. You're right, it does seem like there should be a way to get her into better numbers ALL the time instead of just at night. One thing I know is that every time I peek into your condo in the morning and you are asking about a dose increase, Mocha ends up in green by PMPS. :roll:
 
Re: 11/28 mocha amps 310

Libby vs. Bouncy Mocha-kitty's FD. Now let me see...

...er, I think I like your odds!

Have a great Sunday, you guys..!!!
My biggest challenge today might be to stay awake, while the Skins beat the Vikes. (Or just maybe....... not? Now wouldn't THAT be a kick!)
 
Re: 11/28 mocha amps 310

No dose advice, but I share your frustration with the high morning numbers. I wish both our kitties would pass Liver Training School and stop bouncing. Have a good day, Devon.
 
Re: 11/28 mocha amps 310

No dose advice either but I'll be checking back in to see what Libby thinks. I have a very bouncey kitty, too. I empathize with you on feeding the MC/HC food
and having her go back up too fast. Hard to control that curve sometimes but you and Peter are so darn diligent...Mocha is a very lucky girl!!
 
Re: 11/28 mocha amps 310 +5 290

well no major improvement with her numbers today so far .. she has been snoring away in her fort without a care in the world .. tomorrow peter goes back to work which means me and the cats are back on our normal schedule. It gets hectic crazy around here when daddybean is home!
 
Re: 11/28 mocha amps 310 +5 290

COMING down!!! Bounce is over! It si always crazy here too when the DH is home...Cats feel it too..Have a great rest of the weekend..Hugs from US!
 
Re: 11/28 mocha amps 310 +5 290

Devon, have you ever tried front-loading the cycle with food the way some others are doing here? It looks like Mocha is one of those cats who shouldn't be fed in the last half of the cycle unless you need to bring up low numbers. If you add food to the picture after nadir then you can cause the cat to go a lot higher than they would without the food. The insulin is wearing off by then, so there is nothing to combat the food.

I would try moving her late cycle snacks earlier in the cycle, say at PS, +1, +2, +3 and not feed after +6 unless you have to. Those times might require some tweaking, but that seems like a good place to start. Plus, you can have more uninterrupted sleep! Well, once Mocha gets used to the idea you might... :lol:
 
Re: 11/28 mocha amps 310 +5 290

Good girl Mocha! Now keep it nice and slow! I know, we seem to keep doing the same thing over and over too.
 
Re: 11/28 mocha pmps 222

libby, thanks for the idea of front loading. Im not sure how well front loading would work for us on the weekends. Would it make a big difference on the weekends to continue feeding as we have been? Peter has to have blood draws at the hospital each weekend and generally can last until mochas +2-+2.5 and I have to go with him because he shouldn't drive after the amount of blood they take. I feel nervous only giving mocha food in the beginning of the cycle since she almost always goes low after her +6 ... do you think this would be the best plan for mocha despite the different timed feedings on the weekend?
 
Re: 11/28 mocha pmps 222

Of course you'll feed her if she goes low after +6, but the early feedings *should* help keep her from dropping like that.

You'll have to do what works for you on weekends. Have you thought about a timed feeder? What time do you leave after AMPS on those days?
 
We have a timed feeder, but about a month or so after using it with mocha she developed a nasty rash all over her neck and scratched herself furless. We stopped using the feeder and it took a few weeks but eventually her hair started growing back. I think she is allergic to the plastic auto feeder bowls. We are still trying to come up with a way to cover the plastic for her. On the weekends we shoot her and leave instantly afterwards. The time we are gone varies on how busy the hospital lab is but on average we are gone till at least +2.5
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top