11/28 Marley Lantus AMPS 266, +3 207, +4 144, PMPS 314, +4 174, +4.5 141

Did you know anything about diabetes before your cat got diagnosed?
I knew nothing till Bandit's diagnosis. Whatever little I know, I learned from FDMB.

But then about 10 minutes ago after feeding him, Marley was really sick, like really sick. Normally his sick is quite solid what hes just eaten but today it was full of liquid too and he hasn't recently drunk water, and then I remembered I did start worrying last night precisely because after his first portion, he went straight to my bed and went to sleep. Normally he's out and about in the evening nd only comes to bed just before or after his +4 feed. So I knew something was up.

Does insulin resistance cause any other things like that?
No. The only thing insulin resistance causes is high numbers and any accompanying symptoms of excessive thirst, urination and hunger if the numbers are high. Did he do a scarf and barf? Sometimes puking can be a symptom of excess stomach acid build up due to a long gap in meals. They guzzle a lot of water to dilute the stomach acid and bring it all out.

Could it still be worms dying?
In terms of worms, he's not dragging his bum and seems all quiet on that front from my perspective. But If he did have a tape worm and it was killed by that medicine - they dont just just disappear magically, takes a bit for the body to break them up and get them out even when dead.
My civvie had vomiting when she had worms. Quite a bit of it. The worms should die within 24 hours or so of the dewormer. Did he get the right dose? The dewormer I use is dosed by weight.


I heard that they can crack out of their eggs at anytime and jump back on to the animal. Its great you caught yours in time maybe before they got into your house. I have been hoovering and washing everything over and over as I didnt catch it so early. I got a flea bite yesterday weirdly under my tights on my calf. All my clothes and blankets, my and his bedding, and rugs have been washed so many times, and diatomaceous earth on the carpets etc etc - not sure what else I can do. It was really warm yesterday here for this time of year. Oh my goodness ive just been bitten on my wrist as I write this....ughhhhhh
They probably were in my house as well, but the spot-on flea treatment is supposed to keep them free of fleas for around 4 weeks. I think any fleas that come on to them also die - or something like that.
 
I knew nothing till Bandit's diagnosis. Whatever little I know, I learned from FDMB
Wow!

No. The only thing insulin resistance causes is high numbers and any accompanying symptoms of excessive thirst, urination and hunger if the numbers are high. Did he do a scarf and barf? Sometimes puking can be a symptom of excess stomach acid build up due to a long gap in meals. They guzzle a lot of water to dilute the stomach acid and bring it all out.

I haven't noticed him drinking more at all. Its possible he drunk when he was out but I dont now where he'd have done that. He used to prefer drinking out an old dirty flower pot than the clean filtered water I gave him but now I structure the clean filtered water by leaving it in a glass jug for 24 hours in the garden in the sun and moonlight he opts for that so I get to see when he's drinking!

I know the worms die fast, but they are still in the body dead, and they need to decompose no? I understand that can take a while?

Yes he got the right dose of de wormer as he was only just in the category. That is to say he got the dose for cats 4-8 kg and his is about 5.
The flea spot of is also a dewormer so he probably got a double dose. The reason I had to give the actual dewormer as well is because the flea one doesnt do tapeworm. And that is the worry with fleas right? (seems crazy - like the one parasite the flea dewormer should have in it is the tape worm...never mind.

Well maybe the fleas are hatching and jumping on top him and suddenly off him on to me as he is too toxic for them. The bite I got this morning was ao aggressive. Maybe a dying vengeful flea!!!!! Hope it is dying at the very least!!!!!

Thanks so much for sharing your wisdom and experiences!!!
 
I know the worms die fast, but they are still in the body dead, and they need to decompose no? I understand that can take a while?
I think they pass with the stool once they are dead?

The flea spot of is also a dewormer so he probably got a double dose. The reason I had to give the actual dewormer as well is because the flea one doesnt do tapeworm. And that is the worry with fleas right? (seems crazy - like the one parasite the flea dewormer should have in it is the tape worm...never mind.
Yes, spot-ons like Advocate will not work on tapeworms and you need to give an oral dewormer for them.
 
I think they pass with the stool once they are dead?
Ive heard so many different things now from vets, I dont know what to believe!

So now at +4 he's 144

Tonight I have to go out straight after his injection and wont be back til +3 maybe even +3.5

He'll have the food times set - but honestly he doesnt bother to go to them and then eats them all in one when he feels like it, unless I take them to him.

I am slightly worried as he now is 144 - tonight could be a hypo.

I have to go tonight.......what do you think?
 
Hiya

So he was 314 bouncing I guess, so I went ahead and did the 2.5 hope that was right?

Do you think he will be ok til +3.5 There is a possibility I can get back for +3

Should I be trying to get back ASAP tonight?
 
So I didnt get back til nearly +4 when he was 174

I drove so fast on journey terrified of what I might find.

That could have gone either way right? How am I to do anything outside my house.

When I came back he was pacing - still is and so so so thirsty like you said yesterday. He had eaten all his meals. _ found them and eaten so that is good to know if he needs them he looks and finds.

But they are every hour. If he was having a hypo hes need it every half hour.

So confused about how I will ever be able to get
 
Looks like you didn't miss any lows.

But is there a way to do it safely?

Are there some guidelines to follow - that if he is over a certain number at an AM tr PM shot, I can give full dose, but if he's under X amount I only give partial dose or no dose?

On 5th Nov with a PMPS of 86, ...if I was going out, I might miss that dose, or give very reduced........but by how much?

On the 11th. of Nov, he was 231 at PMPS and then fell to 55 by +2. How can I have predicted that one?

Is much of it instinct?

Something was up with him last night even though he wasn't super low. He was pacing, drinking alot of water, looking for food. When I retested him at +4 and he'd dropped 33 mg/dls in 0.5 hours I was wondering if that was fine for me to go to bed. Was that too big of. drop too fast? I was going to bed and he came with me and as he was beside me and looking like he would settle I figured it was ok. -That if he was falling too fast he'd be up and about and not settling. I still feel like there's piece of the puzzle I dont understand, a page in the' guidebook' that is missing, so much I dont know......
 
Back
Top