11/28 - Lee Lu AMPS 212, +3 185, +7 107, PMPS 139

Status
Not open for further replies.

pandabur

Member Since 2014
ETA more reads - 185 at 11:07am 107 at 3:31pm
-------------------------

Good morning and happy black Friday! Its raining hard here in Seattle (normally we just get constant drizzle), nice to be cozy inside!

Well, after a scary last night (see below for link), Lee tested pre-meal at 212. Nice!
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=129109

I think I'll give her a token dose this morning, a skinny 1 or try 0.75u.

Seriously considering a slight dose reduction to 1.25. We've been doing 1.5 steady for 20 days, and average BG is 130. BUT, I don't want a hypo incident again, we've had two drunk hooker legs occurrences this month, last night's being the worst.

Also, and I might x-post this, does anyone do varied doses - say 1.5 in the AM and 1.25 in the PM?
 
Re: 11/28 - Lee Lu AMPS (pre-meal) 212

You're lucky you're only occasionally seeing the "hooker legs"....poor old Silver hasn't been able to walk right since his diagnosis. It was his weak back legs that had me take him to the vet in the first place. He has been doing really well numbers wise but his legs are bad :-(

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/28 - Lee Lu AMPS (pre-meal) 212

Oh Juliet - I didn't know, that's tough to watch!

I'm going to spot check Lee today, gave her 1u dose this morning. She seems fine, tired (like her mamas!) but good. I'm sure she'll spend most of her time on the bed today, just hope she uses the litter box so conveniently placed next to the bed.... :)
 
Re: 11/28 - Lee Lu AMPS (pre-meal) 212

You're right, its horrible to watch. He comes to my room in the morning and has to mew for me to lift him up onto the bed. Am sure he hates not being able to jump anymore. Its very distressing.
 
Re: 11/28 - Lee Lu AMPS (pre-meal) 212, +3 185, +7 107

ETA more BG reads... down to 107. None of them really ate much this morning, so only fed half their normal afternoon meal. Other can is coming right up! :)
-----

That's terrible Juliet, I'm so sorry. Its hard to watch lee go up the stairs all slow like...
 
Re: 11/28 - Lee Lu AMPS (pre-meal) 212, +3 185, +7 107

I like the reduction to 1 unit for Lee Lu. Its worth a shot, and better to be safe. Good work!
 
Re: 11/28 - Lee Lu AMPS (pre-meal) 212, +3 185, +7 107

great idea about the 1 unit. That's exactly what i would have done with those low numbers you got.
Great job catching those lows
 
Thank you!! I really appreciate all your feedback and encouragements! Yes, did a 1u for her PM shot after a PMPS of 139. I did not want another evening repeat! And sure enough, she slept on my side the whole night. YAY! A great solid 9 hours of sleep for me. I needed it :)

All - with the 2nd day in a row of AMPS pre-meal 212, I'm going to go with 1u again this morning, mainly b/c I'll be gone for some of the day. Given that she went down to 107 for her Nadir (at least yesterday) and her rough patch the night before, I think that's a good dose, agreed? I'd rather see a low yellow than low green, seems that's the better attitude.

Her legs are finally better too. It took her a full day to "sober up". :)
 
yes she def earned that reduction and i would stay with the same 1 u morning and night for at least a few days. Even if you see
a higher number because of bouncing, just keep the dose exactly the same ( unless of course you get another really low number, in that case you will have to reduce again but let us know if that happens. She may even need less insulin with how low she is going but we'll see). Right now, just keep that 1 u dose consistent day and night and we'll see what she does. back on the 14th when she had that 30 she should have gotten a dose reduction. if you are following the start low go slow protocol, then any time that their cycle goes below 90 , they earn a reduction. ( even if you were following tight reg - they earn a reduction under 50 ) so either way, that is when you reduce.
I will find the start low go slow protocol and paste it here for you.
Great job !! :RAHCAT dancing_cat :RAHCAT dancing_cat


start low go slow protocol

http://www.felinediabetes.com/start-low-go-slow.htm


..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top