11/28 hypo?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sushi

Member Since 2018
Sushi is newly diagnosed and just came home yesterday (11/27) from the hospital after being treated for DKA.
Was given his insulin dose around 5pm at the hospital.

This morning at 445am I tested his BG and it was 42.
Offered some food, I think he ate a little and gave him honey.
Right now he's sleeping.

Quick Updates said:
4:45am BG 42
6:43am BG 39
7:14am BG 49
8:23am BG 64
8:55am BG 90
10:52am BC 198
 
Last edited:
This morning at 445am I tested his BG and it was 42.
Offered some food, I think he ate a little and gave him honey.
Right now he's sleeping.
Oh, gosh! Well done for giving honey.
Can you get another blood glucose test? We need to be sure that the blood glucose is definitely rising. In hypo situations Lantus can continue to drop the blood glucose beyond 12 hours after the shot.

For others reading this thread:
Sushi is getting 2 units Lantus BID.
Human meter, Relion prime.
.
 
Last edited:
Honey and syrup can raise the blood glucose quickly, but can also wear off relatively quickly also. Giving once may be sufficient, or may not.
Do you also have high carb food in gravy available? If the numbers are not rising you can try giving a little of the gravy from that food.
But we want to ensure that the blood glucose doesn't drop lower than it is at the moment.
.
 
At this point you really need to be testing about every 12 - 15 minutes, and just making sure that the blood glucose comes up and does not drop any lower.
I know you're new to this, and this must be scary. But you're doing a great job.
 
It may be that Sushi's blood glucose will rise on its own now. This is almost 13.5 hours after the shot, so let's hope so.
But do continue to test for a little while just to make sure that it continues to come up. Ideally, you want to see three rising numbers in succession. But if the numbers show a clear steady rise now, or jump up fast, you may be OK to skip that.
If the numbers drop a tad again, give more gravy. If the numbers are dropping a lot, give honey directly to the gums.

You really are doing incredibly well! This has been a heck of a lot for you to deal with in a short time... (((Hugs)))

Clearly, the dose is too high and needs to be reduced. There are some experienced Lantus folks on this forum who can guide you with regard to dosage.

How are you feeling? Are you OK?
.
 
Last edited:
Sushi is resting. I'm very lucky that Sushi is a very good patient. The vet tech and vets all praised him for being so good.
Aw, bless him...
7:42am bg 49
Okey dokey, so, the same as the last test. And we're now about 14 hours after the shot, I think?
It's good that it hasn't dropped, but it would be good to see the blood glucose start to rise on its own soon. Then you can get some much needed rest from this...
.
 
I'm so glad you had Elizabeth here to help. Please do post on the Lantus forum for help. Your kitty needs insulin in a high enough dose post DKA but 2 units is obviously too much. There are many very experienced people to help on the Lantus forum. They'll guide you every step of the way. What a baptism by fire you've had! :eek:
 
Well done. When Truffles had a hypo once I was so scared. He, on the other hand, was totally nonplussed and excited to get food with gravy every 15 minutes!
 
You did a great job handling the hypo. What is his current reading?

Tonite his reading may be much higher than normal because of the carbs you gave him. Because of the hypo he will also probably be more sensitive to his current dose and you may need to lower it. What is his current dose?
 
You did a great job handling the hypo. What is his current reading?

Tonite his reading may be much higher than normal because of the carbs you gave him. Because of the hypo he will also probably be more sensitive to his current dose and you may need to lower it. What is his current dose?

2:18 pm BG 343
He's on 2U.
 
Last edited:
My suggestion is even if the PM pre-shot reading is higher than normal, reduce your dose. If Sushi was my cat, I would probably reduce it to 1 or 1 1/2 units. Since he is a new diabetic, 1 unit probably would be better. We recommend starting low and going slow. What this means is you start at a low dose, such as 1 unit, and it is slowly increased over weeks, not days. Usually you would keep the dose the same for at least a week before increasing it again. This gives the cat's body time to adjust to it. Then if an increase is needed, only increase it by 1/2 unit and keep it at that dose for at least another week before deciding if you need to raise it more.

I know that changing a dose sounds scary, but this is the best way to find the optimal dose that works best for any cat. Since you are testing, you also need a "don't shoot" number. For beginners, we recommend using 200 to start with. This means if the pre-shot reading is less than 200, skip the dose. Yes, the next reading probably will be much higher, but by using a "don't shoot" number, you reduce the risk of Sushi becoming hypoglycemic again. As you learn how his body responds to the dose, you may consider lowering the "don't shoot" number later on.
 
My suggestion is even if the PM pre-shot reading is higher than normal, reduce your dose. If Sushi was my cat, I would probably reduce it to 1 or 1 1/2 units. Since he is a new diabetic, 1 unit probably would be better. We recommend starting low and going slow. What this means is you start at a low dose, such as 1 unit, and it is slowly increased over weeks, not days. Usually you would keep the dose the same for at least a week before increasing it again. This gives the cat's body time to adjust to it. Then if an increase is needed, only increase it by 1/2 unit and keep it at that dose for at least another week before deciding if you need to raise it more.

I know that changing a dose sounds scary, but this is the best way to find the optimal dose that works best for any cat. Since you are testing, you also need a "don't shoot" number. For beginners, we recommend using 200 to start with. This means if the pre-shot reading is less than 200, skip the dose. Yes, the next reading probably will be much higher, but by using a "don't shoot" number, you reduce the risk of Sushi becoming hypoglycemic again. As you learn how his body responds to the dose, you may consider lowering the "don't shoot" number later on.

5:15pm BG 408

I'm going to do 1U tonight.
I still don't know what the ranges for BG are.

Can you please link some website?
 
Last edited:
Your spreadsheet has the ranges along the top, and is colour coded to match when you input data. Does that help?
 
On a human meter normal BG range is 50 to 120. Anytime you get a reading of 50 or below it's time for immediate action to bring BG up to a higher level. If you take a reading and it's approaching 50 (high 50's or 60's) it's ok to give Sushi a little snack to boost BG to avoid him dripping below 50.
 
Your spreadsheet has the ranges along the top, and is colour coded to match when you input data. Does that help?

Yes, I have noticed that.

On a human meter normal BG range is 50 to 120. Anytime you get a reading of 50 or below it's time for immediate action to bring BG up to a higher level. If you take a reading and it's approaching 50 (high 50's or 60's) it's ok to give Sushi a little snack to boost BG to avoid him dripping below 50.

Thank you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top