By the way the SS still says SLGS.
You could add a row to the SS that says in big letters switched to TR.
It's easier to see a row noting the switch. People can miss it in the notes if they don't look at that particular day.
Yeah, I'm in Alabama and during the winter I sometimes think I live too far north.Nice blue today, Kim. Dasuquin helped my dog with arthritis. Hope it helps with Gus. Being from Florida I just cannot imagine the Canadian winters.

Nice blue today, Kim. Dasuquin helped my dog with arthritis. Hope it helps with Gus. Being from Florida I just cannot imagine the Canadian winters.
Haha. How low does the weather get there?Yeah, I'm in Alabama and during the winter I sometimes think I live too far north.![]()
Welp. Last February we had an ice storm with a low temperature of 9 degrees overnight. Not typical for us, though.Haha. How low does the weather get there?
Hmmm. 166 as PMPS
@tiffmaxee
@Chris & China (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
@carfurby
I’m still shooting his regular 2.75u, right?
I went ahead with it. Pretty sure I should have, I will be checking at +2 unless I should check a +1…
Good for you!! Next time though, you might want to stall, DON'T feed and test again in 20-30 minutes.
Since he was still falling at PMPS, that would have told you if he was continuing to drop or starting to go back up.
I'd plan on getting a +1 and a +2 to start with and go from there.
I would not have stalled as long as you can monitor tonight. Your pmps is within meter variance.
Nice blue today, Kim. Dasuquin helped my dog with arthritis. Hope it helps with Gus. Being from Florida I just cannot imagine the Canadian winters.
I still think stalling was a good idea, especially since you're just starting TR. While the PMPS was within meter variance, it was still lower than the +10 so there's nothing wrong with being extra cautious until you get some experience shooting lower numbers under your belt.
Both Elise's answer and mine could be considered correct. Members can offer differing opinions at times but our main job here is to teach you how to make these decisions on your own eventually so getting different opinions makes you think. You are the one holding the syringe, so in the end, it's always your decision what to do and we'll back you up as best we can!
If his numbers start to decrease should i then give him some mc/hc food/gravy to bring him up a bit. And when should I start to do this if his levels are around or under 50?
No, just because his numbers come down doesn't mean you should prop them up...that kind of defeats the purpose....LOL BUT, if he drops a LOT from one test to another, then we might suggest trying a teaspoon of regular low carb or possibly MC or HC...it depends on how much he dropped and how quickly.
We usually save the HC for when he actually drops below 50....that also means he "earns" a reduction of .25
196 @ +2.75, holding steady
good deal!! Just an FYI....when you enter information on the World side, if there's anything other than just a number in the cell, it doesn't do the conversion on the US tab so it's helpful if you'll switch over to the US tab and convert it for us. You'd just put 196 @ 2.75 but then you'd have to color code it yourself.
good deal!! Just an FYI....when you enter information on the World side, if there's anything other than just a number in the cell, it doesn't do the conversion on the US tab so it's helpful if you'll switch over to the US tab and convert it for us. You'd just put 196 @ 2.75 but then you'd have to color code it yourself.
I had to google this!
I had to google this!
Looks like he is heading up tonight.
Btw, you have shot similar levels before. Just for future reference, the size of dose does not make a difference in a decision about shooting. A cat needs however much insulin he needs. The size of dose doesn't impact how the cycle will play out, if it's a good dose for that cat. Like Chris pointed out, sometimes when stalling, he could actually drop lower - especially on a day like today where he was nadiring at the end of the cycle.
I had to google this!
Looks like he is heading up tonight.
Btw, you have shot similar levels before. Just for future reference, the size of dose does not make a difference in a decision about shooting. A cat needs however much insulin he needs. The size of dose doesn't impact how the cycle will play out, if it's a good dose for that cat. Like Chris pointed out, sometimes when stalling, he could actually drop lower - especially on a day like today where he was nadiring at the end of the cycle.
The protocol says 8-10 cycles but in practise, doses where you see blue or green nadirs are held 10 cycles.Question.
Originally, I was going to increase in 3 days from new dose… but with these few blues does that mean I hold this dose for longer now? Protocol says 8-10 cycles? And how do I determine if it’s 8 or 10 cycles?
The protocol says 8-10 cycles but in practise, doses where you see blue or green nadirs are held 10 cycles.
Not a stupid question at all. It's a good question. Actually, you count 10 cycles from the cycle in which you first see blue/green on a dose - with that cycle being cycle 1.Last, probably silly, question but do I count the previous few days/cycles on new dose or start 10cycles from the day we start seeing that blue?
Grab the opportunity to sleep when you can! You have many nights of sleep deprivation ahead!![]()
Well that was short lived… +5 265
Gus!! Stop that right now mister!! There's no bouncing allowed!!
![]()
Looks like you and Gus had an active time of it. Good to see those blues.
Hi Kim. I'll look around. This is what I got from Walmart: https://www.walmart.com/browse/heal...bZWeNe2E3UVhbzwrAiUaAv9hEALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.dsSummer, perhaps you can help me… I have some family that goes down to Daytona for the winter months and my cousin is visiting for 2 weeks over xmas. I want to give them some money to pick me up a few boxes of freestyle lite strips. They are $75/100 CAD here and I’ve heard between $17-21/50 in the US though that wasn’t a Florida price. Any chance you can do a google search on that area for me? And where I can send them (Walgreens or CVS?) I keep getting Canadian converted prices when I Google. Hope it’s not too much of a bother.