11/28 Emmett AMBG 74 +2 65 (delayed, no insulin)

KLD

Member Since 2024
I will edit this in a second to include my previous thread.

edit: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/21-11-2024-emmett-amps-142-3-110-4-86-5-68-at3.295888/

I delayed Emmett’s insulin this morning a couple hours and he was even lower by then, going below 68. At this point, I just need to skip his insulin because I’m not going to be able to accommodate the new time tomorrow.

This is coming off quite a few skipped doses for various reasons (mostly my sanity and lack of sleep, combined with having some events where I wasn’t going to be able to monitor him closely with the low preshot numbers).

Do I reduce to 1.75 tonight?
 
Wow, yes please reduce his evening to 1.75.
Your SS says you gave the 2 units? If you skipped like you say above, then please put NS in the dose column. :)
 
Oh, sorry! Was on autopilot updated the SS. Yes, it should be NS. He did not get insulin this morning.
Ok phew. The depot will effect the first half of this cycle. Did you get another test after that 65?

Congrats again on the reduction.
 
Thanks for starting a new post ;). Could you also change your title to AMBG, which indicates that you did not give insulin. Good luck with the reduction. Depending on where you are now after that 65 and if you are home, might be worth getting another test if you can, just to make sure he's staying up above 68.
 
Thanks for starting a new post ;). Could you also change your title to AMBG, which indicates that you did not give insulin. Good luck with the reduction. Depending on where you are now after that 65 and if you are home, might be worth getting another test if you can, just to make sure he's staying up above 68.
How do I edit a title?
 
I’ve got a work meeting in a few minutes, so I will get a test before that, but I work from home and he’s right beside me so I’m keeping an eye :)
 
oh boy is right! Emmett, we get it :eek:. Best check again in 20-30 minutes, and if he's not up I'd either give a few drops of syrup, or another 2 teaspoons of HC.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Just a quick clarification, usually it's a good idea to test 30-40 minutes after the kitty is up over 68 on pet meter, but since you skipped this morning, and we're a little further along in the cycle, you're probably ok in the 45 minute to 1 hour range. Also if you didn't give him a little snack at last test, he can have some more food.
 
Just a quick clarification, usually it's a good idea to test 30-40 minutes after the kitty is up over 68 on pet meter, but since you skipped this morning, and we're a little further along in the cycle, you're probably ok in the 45 minute to 1 hour range. Also if you didn't give him a little snack at last test, he can have some more food.
Okay, thanks! He’s decided to sleep under the bed so I keep having to drag him out to test him lol. Usually I block off access under the bed when he goes low to make it easier for myself, but he got there first.
 
lol, cheeky boy! That was going to be my next question, sounds like he's feeling pretty good, and wondering what all the excitement is about.
 
lol, cheeky boy! That was going to be my next question, sounds like he's feeling pretty good, and wondering what all the excitement is about.
Oh yeah, I think he feels fine. Even when he ended up testing at 2.8, he was happily playing. He gets a little spacey and jumpy when he goes under 5 mmol I find, but otherwise fine.
 
Sounds like my Maverick. I got a 1.7 on a human meter a few days ago, and he wouldn't sit still for the test, and was purring up a storm. That's how I knew even before the test he was running low :rolleyes:
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Sounds like my Maverick. I got a 1.7 on a human meter a few days ago, and he wouldn't sit still for the test, and was purring up a storm. That's how I knew even before the test he was running low :rolleyes:
Ha, interesting! I usually have to wrap Emmett in a blanket to test him (unless I catch him sleeping or being really chill) and I definitely do find he tries to escape the blanket more when he’s a bit low lol
 
Okay, thanks for confirming. If you can, do one more around +6.5 ish to be sure he’s finished with his shenanigans. That’d be about 2 hours since your last HC feeding.
 
Okay, thanks for confirming. If you can, do one more around +6.5 ish to be sure he’s finished with his shenanigans. That’d be about 2 hours since your last HC feeding.
I can get another test but I’m not sure how accurate it’s going to end up being. I fed my other (non diabetic) cat, turned away, and turned back to find Emmett finishing off the leftovers. I’m not sure the carb content of it, but it has gravy so I assume at least medium carb (Merrick backcountry rabbit). Emmett usually doesn’t want my other cat’s food but he’s a menace today.
 
I can get another test but I’m not sure how accurate it’s going to end up being. I fed my other (non diabetic) cat, turned away, and turned back to find Emmett finishing off the leftovers. I’m not sure the carb content of it, but it has gravy so I assume at least medium carb (Merrick backcountry rabbit). Emmett usually doesn’t want my other cat’s food but he’s a menace today.

upload_2024-11-28_10-43-53.png


upload_2024-11-28_10-43-29.png


Source:https://www.chewy.com/merrick-backcountry-grain-free/dp/129840
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-28_10-43-29.png
    upload_2024-11-28_10-43-29.png
    57.4 KB · Views: 101
  • upload_2024-11-28_10-43-53.png
    upload_2024-11-28_10-43-53.png
    190.1 KB · Views: 98
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
That’s ok, he was likely staying up on his own, usually you want to get a couple consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising. I guess Emmett figured if he’s getting all these pokies, he might as well make it worth his while :p.
 
That’s ok, he was likely staying up on his own, usually you want to get a couple consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising. I guess Emmett figured if he’s getting all these pokies, he might as well make it worth his while :p.
I just tested him now and he’s at 5.2 an hour after stealing his brother’s food lol. Even taking that into account, he does seem to be rising finally. This is +7
 
Flat/stable over 68 or rising are both perfectly acceptable :). Good job keeping an eye on Emmett's BG today; it's a good example of how even after a skip, you can still get quite a bit of action thanks to the lovely Lantus depot. Good luck with the reduction, and give Emmett a few bum pats from me for being a good boy through all the pokies.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Thanks for your help! I really didn’t expect the insulin to work this hard so long after a missed dose… I was hoping to give his ears a break today lol.

Hopefully the reduction will go well.

He is currently happy-trilling because he found a new hiding spot to jump scare his brother from.
 
You’re welcome! Sorry for the short reply earlier, I was getting Maverick’s insulin ready. Emmett is sure working that depot although with all the skips you’d think it was mostly drained. Just for general explanation of why I said no shot tonight, 3.9 mmol/L is 70 mg/dL and you are using a pet meter, so shooting under 68 is not recommended. Usually with a lower preshot you can try and stall, not feed and see if the number come up, but in Emmett’s case, you did that already this morning and we saw how the cycle played out. Even with no shot today, you had to use MC/HC to bring him up and keep him up above 68 today, including his sneaky snack at +6. In my mind, better to skip again and regroup tomorrow :).
 
Ha, no worries. I definitely agree with you. I would rather just start fresh with his new dose tomorrow. I don’t love the thought of testing out how he does getting insulin at a lower than usual preshot number overnight anyway ha.

I’m sure I’m getting ahead of myself but I really do hope this is a good step toward possible remission (he’s only 4 and his diabetes was steroid induced).
 
I am admittedly perhaps a bit conservative, but I always consider it’s better to be safe, especially when something may have clicked. He may still bounce. I may have missed it but when did you stop the steroids? His SS really looks much better this last week :)
 
I am admittedly perhaps a bit conservative, but I always consider it’s better to be safe, especially when something may have clicked. He may still bounce. I may have missed it but when did you stop the steroids? His SS really looks much better this last week :)
Yeah, I mean, just yesterday he was in yellows all day, so I wouldn’t be surprised if that’s coming again.

He was actually only on steroids for a month about a year ago in October/november 2023. He would get eosinophilic granuloma (we figured out he’s allergic to chicken) and the steroids were to treat that. Then he got sick and diagnosed february/March of this year. I wish I had switched him to Lantus a lot sooner, but I kept holding out hope Prozinc would work.
 
Sometimes cats hit a breakthrough dose and they just keep coming back down in doses thereafter. How about we keep cautiously optimistic? At the very least, he seems to be doing well on Lantus and he’s spent a lot of time in nice healing greens which gives his pancreas more time to not have to do any hard work.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
I am cautiously optimistic for sure lol. At the very least, that we can get him staying in greens and blues more often lol
 
I peeked in the SS since I don’t think I saw a post for today, looks like Emmett is doing nicely so far on 1.75u, it will be interesting to see his PMPS :).
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Back
Top