? 11/28 Booger AMPS 401 +4 100, + 5 125, +6 223

Booger's Mom

Member Since 2018
Ok so, I have had a lot going on lately with stress from work/life, my aunt passing away, and just issues dropping in my lap at more than welcome pace. Booger has been on 0.75 units of insulin for 10 cycles. I had planned on doing a glucose curve today to check him and this dose. I woke up this morning to more bad news that just completely sent me for a loop and you would like my brain had just shut down. Checked Booger this morning and he was 401. Drew the insulin from the lantus pen. NORMALLY, the first thing I do is flick it to get the air bubbles out, and then measure out the insulin dose.... Well as out of it I was this morning, out of habit, I measured the insulin down to 1.5 units and administered it. As SOON as I did, I went "OH s**t!" I have been keeping an eye on him all day (as I always do bc I work from home) and have been checking him today, it seemed that dose worked out for him. Not that I had every planned to make the jump to a double dose! UGH! So I am at a total loss of what to do now. Do I continue on 1.5 again this evening for 6 cycles or what? What do I do..... please help me... I am so dumb. I could just scream!
 
Do I continue on 1.5 again this evening for 6 cycles or what?

No....the .75 got him down to 78, so you sure don't want to double the dose.

Remember, it takes time for the depot to stabilize at a new dose so he probably didn't get a total of 1.5 today since the depot has to stabilize before it "releases" the right amount.

However, he could react tonight or tomorrow to that double dose, so you'll have to keep your guard up.

It's important that you get tests on the PM cycle too.....otherwise you're missing half the data on what's going on. If you can get a "before bed" test, that'll help a lot
 
No....the .75 got him down to 78, so you sure don't want to double the dose.

Remember, it takes time for the depot to stabilize at a new dose so he probably didn't get a total of 1.5 today since the depot has to stabilize before it "releases" the right amount.

However, he could react tonight or tomorrow to that double dose, so you'll have to keep your guard up.

It's important that you get tests on the PM cycle too.....otherwise you're missing half the data on what's going on. If you can get a "before bed" test, that'll help a lot
Ok so just go back to the .75u? He is on a 11am and 11pm schedule right now. I am going to HAVE to work him down to an 8am/8pm schedule. Though I am not much of an 8am person myself. I just reread the TR Protocol. I am going to do better and get those +3,+6, and +9 checks in. Right now its just hard to at night because I am so exhausted I do not hear my alarm. I do set it, just dont hear it. Thank you for replying. I have to give him his shot here in 10 minutes so I was panicking.
 
No....the .75 got him down to 78, so you sure don't want to double the dose.

Remember, it takes time for the depot to stabilize at a new dose so he probably didn't get a total of 1.5 today since the depot has to stabilize before it "releases" the right amount.

However, he could react tonight or tomorrow to that double dose, so you'll have to keep your guard up.

It's important that you get tests on the PM cycle too.....otherwise you're missing half the data on what's going on. If you can get a "before bed" test, that'll help a lot
Also, is it just me or did the number of characters allowed in the signature take a nose dive?? I had more in my signature and when I went to update it and kept the same number of characters as there was before editing it, it tells me I am way over characters.......
 
Also, @Chris & China, I am feeling a little defeated.. I feel like his numbers are just all over the place. Its like one day, he will have a really nice curve and then the next he is above 100 all day until PMPS.
 
Those +3, 6 and 9 checks are just at the beginning. Once you know your kitty’s onset and nadir times, you can test more strategically.

Booger is a bouncy kitty, not uncommon. It does get better over time.
 
Those +3, 6 and 9 checks are just at the beginning. Once you know your kitty’s onset and nadir times, you can test more strategically.

Booger is a bouncy kitty, not uncommon. It does get better over time.
Man I sure hope so. It’s almost been a year since he was diagnose. He hasn’t been on Lantas that long but it’s been a few months now. He is so bouncy it’s hard to get used to his nadir times lol
 
is it just me or did the number of characters allowed in the signature take a nose dive??

I've had the same problem...I've been trying to delete some info from mine and keep getting the "too many characters" and "too many lines" message so I have to leave it the way it is or greatly shorten it

There's a thread on it in the tech forum but it's not explaining why the change...just suggesting to shorten it if you want to change it.
 
Back
Top