11/28 Bid +12 81 (no shot) +24 253

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81... Should we giveh him any insulin?

hi Jenn

he will most likely rise after food, you can do a retest to make sure, in about 30 minutes...normally you'll want to with hold food when you are stalling a shot.

can you afford to do the stall?
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81... Should we giveh him any insulin?

Yes we can do a retest in 30 mins but we did feed him so is that problem? From now on we will with hold feeding if we don't give him his shot.
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81... Should we giveh him any insulin?

it's ok, just keep in mind, when you are feeding a stall (waiting on a rising number, at least two rising numbers), you may see a food influenced preshot number, not saying you have to shoot, since you are still collecting your data.
let's see what others can add in the meantime.
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81... Should we giveh him any insulin?

Jenn,

I agree with Ronnie. In this kind of situation you want to get a ps without a food spike. But thats ok. See what you get in 30 mins. So you said you do have time in your schedule to make up the late shot?
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 (+.5 84) Should we give him any insuli

We will be around all day but how late is it to give him his morning shot so it doesn't set back his night shot too much?
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 (+.5 84) Should we give him any insuli

looks like you are 30 minutes behind...I'm not comfortable suggesting you shoot your regular dose, due to limited data, if you like, and can afford another stall of 1/2 hour, the 84 is not much of a rise, but you also need to be comfy and able to monitor this cycle, at least the first few hours.

if you are able to make up that time this evening without it messing your evening schedule too much, I would retest again.
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 (+.5 84) Should we give him any insuli

Jenn,

Looks like Bid is responding nicely to lantus. You could also decide to give a reduced dose after you get your next #.
Whatever you decide you will be back on track soon.
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 (+.5 84) Should we give him any insuli

The 84 is really the same as the 81 and reflects a food rise. See what number you get in your next test and decide if you want to BCS dose, or skip. Good luck. Glad Bid is reacting well to Lantus.
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 (+.5 84) Should we give him any insuli

Hi Jenn,

Do your syringes have the 1/2 unit marks on them? If they don't I would suggest you go buy some soon, because I think you might be shooting less than 1.00, soon.

Let's see what the +1 number is.

If you shoot a BSC (a lower dose) at +1, will you be able to shoot at 12 hours from that shot tonight, and tomorrow morning?

I'm just clarifying what was mentioned by Sienne in yesterday's condo, you know to test first, and then feed and shoot, right?
For instance, let's say 3 days from now, if you test and get a 135 at preshot, and you're not sure if you should shoot or not, we would want you to stop and post and tell us the number, before feeding anything, in case you would need to stall the shot. It's hard to advise you on what to shoot this morning, because there is now a food spike involved. kwim?
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 (+.5 84) Should we give him any insuli

Just so you have a little reading while you're waiting for your next test, I really want to encourage you to get a test or more in during the PM cycle. Right now, you don't really have any idea where that 81 came from. You don't know if Bid went down from PMPS and is on his way back up or if he has been slowly heading down from his PMPS to now or if he has been surfing in the greens most of the PM cycle.

I'm not suggesting you stay up all night to find out, but having a test or two can be very enlightening and help you with making decisions about shooting. I'm one of those people who will stay up and test if I think Gabby's numbers are going to warrant my intervening. Pat is the queen of setting an alarm and getting up and testing. Regardless of how you do it, you'll begin to have a better understanding of how Bid and Lantus work and what you need to do to give you the data you need and how to make sure he's in safe numbers.
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 +.5 84 +2 104

We fell back asleep for the +1 testing but we took his +2 testing and it was 104..

We don't have 1/2 unit syringes, we have the one's with the 1U marking.

I was thinking the same thing about testing at night cause we have no clue where his numbers were last night and why it's only at 81 12 hours later..

I do know now that we should test then feed then shoot.. And that we should have waited to feed this morning to test again because his number was so low. .
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 (+.5 84) Should we give him any insuli

I think you should just skip the shot this morning, and start again tonight on your regular schedule.
Let's see what others have to say.
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 (+.5 84) Should we give him any insuli

I'm thinking a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose. It's not that an 81 or a 104 is low -- many of us shoot those numbers routinely. It's a matter of your not having the data yet to know how Bid responds. Do you have HC food and extra strips in the house if you should need them?

Do you think you can eyeball 0.5u?

If there's a Walmart near you, they carry Relion syringes that have 1/2 unit markings. I hate suggesting a trip to Walmart on a big shopping weekend but it will solve the problem of syringes. (I'd call first to make sure they have them before you have to deal with the shopping and parking madness.)
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 +.5 84 + 2 104

Yes we have plenty of strips and some HC food..

We may be able to eyeball .05 (it wouldn't be much at all) or should we wait and just skip it til tonight?

We have a Wal-Mart about 15 mins away, can we get those syringes there without a prescription?
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 +.5 84 + 2 104

Thanks Sienne.

Sienne and Gabby said:
If there's a Walmart near you, they carry Relion syringes that have 1/2 unit markings. I hate suggesting a trip to Walmart on a big shopping weekend but it will solve the problem of syringes. (I'd call first to make sure they have them before you have to deal with the shopping and parking madness.)
I have had WalMart pharmacies (two of them) tell me that they don't have the 1/2 unit marked syringes, when they actually do. It's not marked "with 1/2 unit markings" on the ReliOn box. The last time they told me they don't carry them, I said to the pharmacist "Yes, you do". And of course they did. Good luck.
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 +.5 84 + 2 104

what an exciting morning, already!

Let me ask a question. If you shoot now, your next shot will be due 12 hours from now. We're already at least 2 hours past your usual shot time. Does that make a big mess of your schedule? If you need to be back on schedule for work tomorrow, then skipping this morning might be the best option. Then you can go buy some new syringes and restart at a lower dose tonight, maybe 0.5 units. It looks like Bid's starting dose was too high.
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 +.5 84 + 2 104

The regulations regarding syringe purchase vary from state to state. Did you need an Rx to get your syringes previously? If you're not sure, you can always call the pharmacy.

If you do need an Rx, do you have any friends who are MDs? They could always call the pharmacy for you. It doesn't need to be your vet who calls in a prescription. Worst case scenario is that you eyeball the dose today and get the syringe order called in by your vet tomorrow.

What do you think about reducing Bid's dose to 0.5u overall? I suspect he was started on too high of a dose and given how Lantus likes consistency, I suspect it will be easier on you if you start lower and then build up the dose.

Before you shoot -- how off schedule can you afford to be for tonight's shot and tomorrow? Tonight, you will be shooting 12 hours from whenever you give the shot today. The most you can move shot time is by 30 min. per day. If this will put you too far off schedule, you may need to skip the AM shot in order to shoot on time tonight and tomorrow.
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 +.5 84 + 2 104

Jenn,

I just noticed where you live. I'm in chaplin ct. Probley about 30 mins away. :smile: I get my syringes from walmart but you do need a perscription. My vet calls them in for me. Maybe you could eyeball it for now and call your vet tomorrow to call walmart for you. I find it helps a lot. Especially when it comes to small doses.

Dyana's right it is not marked on the box that they have 1/2 unit markings on their reli on brand. I open it up to check before I take it.

Bin is doing great.

jan and sara
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 +.5 84 + 2 104

Hi Jan and Sara!! You guys are so close! My Aunt actually lives in Chaplin.

And yes I decided to just wait on the shot til tonight because tonight we will be home all night but tomorrow morning we have to leave here at 8:30am and we wouldn't be able to give it 12 hours later. I'm going to try and test him every 2/3 hours today to keep a good eye on what his BG does.

I hope our Vet isn't too "mad" that we switched her advice from 2U to 1U so I'm kinda scared to go to the Vet on Wednesday. I just hope she's understanding..
And no, no MD friends (That would make this very easy thou, I wish!)
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 +.5 84 + 2 104

Good job Jenn! Now, since you did not shoot, the 81 number you have is actually your +12 number, right?

AMPS is for preshots...and AMBG (morning Blood Glucose) is usually used only by OTJ trial kitties. So, you can put "+12=81 no shot"in your header. Your shot tonight will be your PMPS(+24) number if you shoot on time...ok?
And on your SS, you can just put n/s in the unit box next to the AMPS box...

Do not be too surprised if the PMPS number is a little higher than you would like tonight, ok? It will be good data for you at any rate. If you have a tight schedule, it is best that you did skip like that at this early stage. More data = more choices for shooting and which dose would be good to use when you get a low preshot.
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 +.5 84 + 2 104

Leave a message on the vet's voicemail asking that they call in an Rx to Walmart (give them the phone #). Make up an excuse like you want to have a bunch stocked up or that they are cheaper there than anywhere else and you're taking the syringes you have back to where you got them. Whatever works.

As far as the vet on Wed., I think if your vet sees what Bid's numbers are like, your vet would likely agree that Bid's dose was too high.
 
Re: 11/28 Bid AMPS 81 +.5 84 + 2 104

I use the Walmart Reli-On Syringes 3/10 ml cc 29 Gauge 12.7mm 1/2" length
I agree w/Sienne about calling tomorrow re:the prescription for the syringes...just give that info maybe to her and as that she call it in....
 
Re: 11/28 Bid +12 81 (no shot) +12.5 84 +14 104

Jenn just show the vet Bid's #'s and say you are not comfortable with the dose that he was at. You want to start lower. Sometimes it's all how you present things to certain vets. But I don't know what yours is like. I'm lucky in that my vet has never once set the dose for Sara. She knows I do it through here and is completely comfortable with that. Maybe you'll luck out too. :-D

Here is some reading on dealing with low #'s. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27894 Very helpful.
 
Re: 11/28 Bid +12 81 (no shot) +12.5 84 +14 104

Morning Jenn....nothing to add (for a change); I just hope you get a good dose for Bid and can get the syringes tomorrow...they will make life SO much easier with the 1/2 unit markings.
 
Re: 11/28 Bid +12 81 (no shot) +12.5 84 +14 104

Take a look at Maverick's spreadsheet - see all them greens :mrgreen: This is 100% with advice from this group.

Regarding your vet - come in here and get a pep talk to give you a boost before you go in. Be prepared with a few key phrases....

Like... I just would rather be really conservative and work up to the perfect dose. I am confident in my testing him and monitoring him and promise to keep you informed. He won't eat the kibble, but he is enjoying "insert good name brand - like Evo".

Two things that set Maverick's Dr. Snarky inflated ego vet off - saying I got advice from a forum. I wouldn't say this. I think this made her defensive and we didn't have a strong relationship to begin with.

You are doing a great job. Wishing BID will be one of those kitties that go off insulin and into remission. Sounds like he's really reacting to a low dose of insulin and the lower carb food. These are great signs I think. I am wishing it for Maverick too :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/28 Bid +12 81 (no shot) +12.5 84 +14 104 +18 176

Hi Jenn,

I have Target nearby and the pharmacist was kind enough to special order my syringes, no script needed. They arrived in one business day.

Good luck with your vet. I love my vet, but she's simply not as informed about feline diabetes as I needed her to be. I know she has good intentions, so I just treat the whole thing very gently and give her the respect she deserves as wonderful vet. She's not crazy about my home testing, but she has gradually grown used to it. Hopefully it will work out that way for you as well! I always check in with any big changes to the routine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top