Tigger's Friend
Member Since 2013
Good afternoon, LL!
Tigger's surgery condo
(((Wendy, Julie, Marje, Chris, Mariko, Carl, Ella, Amy, Jamie, Rhiannon, Dyana))), I want to sincerely thank all of you from the bottom of my heart for sharing your wisdom, thoughts & prayers for us these past few days. o
I took Tigger in at 11AM this morning - all 5ps were in order - good pee, no ketones, good poop, appetite (poor Tig would trot over to his eating area every time I came into the bedroom, sit & look at me expectantly - 'please'?. I had to hug him & tell him not yet, but he sure kept trying).
After that I didn't hear anything which is usually good news, but I couldn't stand it anymore & called at 2PM. Luckily they'd just finished & I got to speak w/ Dr. W. Everything went great! First & foremost, she's convinced there's no retained root (
:shock:
). They opened him up inside his mouth behind the last upper molar, but there was no drainage. I guess this means it was all in the orbital area of the socket in front of the skull. Dr. W. then made 2 small openings on both sides of his eye (on the outside) & installed 2 small drains that I can remove Sat. or Monday if he'll let me cut the sutures. He'll have to wear a cone until then. :cry: Poor Tigger.
Dr. W. had 2nd thoughts about removing the prosthetic eye at this time - she was worried about a big incision over the eye & having it close on an infected wound. I'm disappointed, but I trust her judgment - I guess she felt Tigger already had enough stuff going on. After hearing Carl's story about Winky, I was looking forward to having a 'naked' eye, especially knowing the ball's silicone, but I imagine I can ask them to do it the next time Tigger has a dental or ??? (well, hopefully there's not going to be any more ???s)
Dr. W's not sure what caused the infection - maybe he bit down on something & it got seated in his oral cavity, or its a remnant from the URI - no one knows. So we retain the title of Odd Occurrances, Unknown Weirdities, and Bizarre Ailments. ohmygod_smile
We're going to culture the pussy goo to make sure the ABs we're using are effective - she wants to knock it out this time forever. Me, too!!! I guess there was too much pus for the Clindamycin to be effective - once the pus starts forming unless it can drain, the ABs aren't able to overcome the infection.
I can give him .2mls Bupe for pain. :?: Does that sound like too much for a 14.2 lb Big Boy? I was giving him .075 - .1.
Also, They said his BG was 328 before surgery and his high was in the low 500's. nailbite_smile She opted not to give him any R because she didn't want him to drop too fast. I told her he did well with it the last time, but I think she's conservative around that. I upped his dose yesterday AM to a f1.75, but he's been in the 300's since Sat & now prob. 400's at least. :?: Should I increase his dose again tonight? I know that's bouncing him around alot, but I don't like to see him so high. On the other hand, if he's feeling alot better quickly, will an increase cause him to bottom out on Thanksgiving??? I'd love any input from you experienced members!!!
I can leave in 30 min to an hour to pick him up. I may let Tigger stay there that extra 30 min. Last time he was pretty active when he got home - this way he'll have to stay still for awhile.
I'll update you with his progress & BG as soon as I get him home & settled in! I'll try & get a photo, too - but I dropped our camera & the lens is stuck half-open ohmygod_smile :cry: . Will dig out the old crappy camera.
Thanks again EVERYONE for your support - once again the power of LL helps another kitty! :YMHUG:
Tigger's surgery condo
(((Wendy, Julie, Marje, Chris, Mariko, Carl, Ella, Amy, Jamie, Rhiannon, Dyana))), I want to sincerely thank all of you from the bottom of my heart for sharing your wisdom, thoughts & prayers for us these past few days. o
I took Tigger in at 11AM this morning - all 5ps were in order - good pee, no ketones, good poop, appetite (poor Tig would trot over to his eating area every time I came into the bedroom, sit & look at me expectantly - 'please'?. I had to hug him & tell him not yet, but he sure kept trying).
After that I didn't hear anything which is usually good news, but I couldn't stand it anymore & called at 2PM. Luckily they'd just finished & I got to speak w/ Dr. W. Everything went great! First & foremost, she's convinced there's no retained root (
Dr. W. had 2nd thoughts about removing the prosthetic eye at this time - she was worried about a big incision over the eye & having it close on an infected wound. I'm disappointed, but I trust her judgment - I guess she felt Tigger already had enough stuff going on. After hearing Carl's story about Winky, I was looking forward to having a 'naked' eye, especially knowing the ball's silicone, but I imagine I can ask them to do it the next time Tigger has a dental or ??? (well, hopefully there's not going to be any more ???s)
Dr. W's not sure what caused the infection - maybe he bit down on something & it got seated in his oral cavity, or its a remnant from the URI - no one knows. So we retain the title of Odd Occurrances, Unknown Weirdities, and Bizarre Ailments. ohmygod_smile
We're going to culture the pussy goo to make sure the ABs we're using are effective - she wants to knock it out this time forever. Me, too!!! I guess there was too much pus for the Clindamycin to be effective - once the pus starts forming unless it can drain, the ABs aren't able to overcome the infection.
I can give him .2mls Bupe for pain. :?: Does that sound like too much for a 14.2 lb Big Boy? I was giving him .075 - .1.
Also, They said his BG was 328 before surgery and his high was in the low 500's. nailbite_smile She opted not to give him any R because she didn't want him to drop too fast. I told her he did well with it the last time, but I think she's conservative around that. I upped his dose yesterday AM to a f1.75, but he's been in the 300's since Sat & now prob. 400's at least. :?: Should I increase his dose again tonight? I know that's bouncing him around alot, but I don't like to see him so high. On the other hand, if he's feeling alot better quickly, will an increase cause him to bottom out on Thanksgiving??? I'd love any input from you experienced members!!!
I can leave in 30 min to an hour to pick him up. I may let Tigger stay there that extra 30 min. Last time he was pretty active when he got home - this way he'll have to stay still for awhile.
I'll update you with his progress & BG as soon as I get him home & settled in! I'll try & get a photo, too - but I dropped our camera & the lens is stuck half-open ohmygod_smile :cry: . Will dig out the old crappy camera.
Thanks again EVERYONE for your support - once again the power of LL helps another kitty! :YMHUG: