11/27 Texas Gizmo PMPS=195, +2=161, +3.5=113, +4.5=120, +7.5=156

Status
Not open for further replies.
!!! I went into the kitchen and he was sitting next to his feeder so I grabbed a bowl and put some of his regular food and a small scoop of fish temptation and he is eating on his own!!

Nevermind - he ate a couple of bites and quit. Dangit.
 
Last edited:
!!! I went into the kitchen and he was sitting next to his feeder so I grabbed a bowl and put some of his regular food and a small scoop of fish temptation and he is eating on his own!!

Nevermind - he at a couple of bites and quit. Dangit.

His stomach is tender, so he'll probably eat little bits at a time. Any eating on his own right now is a huge victory!
 
He has gone back a couple of times. Only takes a couple of bites but he is eating.

Almost time for his pain meds then I will force feed a bit and try and shoot between 4:30-5pm 40-70 minutes.

And advise on the dose? @Wendy&Neko
 
With so much going on Lizzie I don't really know what to suggest, we will also have to see how high he is at shot time.

Understand that I am thinking aloud here, to give you something to mull over between now and shot time.
He dropped below 50 on the last dose of .62u though that was just 3 cycles from the previous reduction. Given his lack of appy, and that assist feeding is difficult with him, I would be perhaps think of shooting less than the 0.62, whether 0.5u, or 0.37u given that he is yellow at the moment. I'm just not sure, if he were to really rise up by pmps, you may even need to think of more insulin..... I'm out of my comfort zone with this one, having never had to deal with a situation like this myself.

I've send a PM to Wendy, just in case she doesn't get an alert from the tag.

I'm glad he is eating some, hope he continues to do so.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
With so much going on Lizzie I don't really know what to suggest, we will also have to see how high he is at shot time.

Understand that I am thinking aloud here, to give you something to mull over between now and shot time.
He dropped below 50 on the last dose of .62u though that was just 3 cycles from the previous reduction. Given his lack of appy, and that assist feeding is difficult with him, I would be perhaps think of shooting less than the 0.62, whether 0.5u, or 0.37u given that he is yellow at the moment. I'm just not sure, if he were to really rise up by pmps, you may even need to think of more insulin..... I'm out of my comfort zone with this one, having never had to deal with a situation like this myself.

I've send a PM to Wendy, just in case she doesn't get an alert from the tag.

I'm glad he is eating some, hope he continues to do so.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you. I was thinking 0.50U. Force feeding went better than expected. Got about 1/2 oz into him and will try and do every hour?? (now I am the one thinking out loud).

I posted while you were posting +11.5 (or +23.5 from shot) was 195. What do you think? I can always force feed MC or HC gravy.
 
PMPS=195 (+23.5 from last shot)

History:
AMBG=83 *no shot*, +2= 114, +10.5=241, +11.5=195 *NEED DOSING HELP*

Shot 0.50U
 
He seems to be dropping, may be that the 241 was still stress influenced, and he is getting back to normal now.

It is probably a good idea to think about assist feeding higher carb with the shot, than usual, given he might not be getting the volume of food. HC gravy will push his numbers up, but would perhaps not sustain him as much as MC food.
 
We cross posted.
I think as Wendy suggested earlier, try getting some food down him a little at a time, I found that easier with my civie kitty, rather than trying to get a lot down her in one sitting.
 
We cross posted.
I think as Wendy suggested earlier, try getting some food down him a little at a time, I found that easier with my civie kitty, rather than trying to get a lot down her in one sitting.
Think 1/2 oz at a time? Every hour til +6?

His numbers are high from vet stress.
 
I think you will need to play it by ear to some extent. But that seems a sensible plan to have.
However if numbers drop you may need to adjust your plan either in frequency/volume/carb content
Understand. I have to have some sort of schedule in place but I do understand that it may change. I don't do well flying by the seat of my pants.

I am going to set up camp downstairs. I am considering moving his LB down too. I just don' want to start a bad habit of him looking for LB down here once we get ack on track.
 
Sorry i wasn't on earlier, but I am glad you went with a slightly reduced dose. I used to think in terms of calories, not ounces. I would try to get at least 2/3 to 3/4 of her daily calories in by assist feeding if she wasn't eating. Sometimes a little assist feed can jumpstart things. Seems to help to have a little food in the tummy. With my hepatic lipidosis (fatty liver) foster, I fed every couple of hours, to give both of us a break. But I was still trying to get a can in per day.
 
The foster, also a Maine Coon, got a 5.5 oz of RC Recovery per day, which is a little under 200 calories.

Leave yummy food out for him to eat anytime he wants. Are you warming it a little? glad he ate the Tiki Cat. Try leaving some higher LC out too.
 
The foster, also a Maine Coon, got a 5.5 oz of RC Recovery per day, which is a little under 200 calories.

Leave yummy food out for him to eat anytime he wants. Are you warming it a little? glad he ate the Tiki Cat. Try leaving some higher LC out too.
Highest LC I have is 5%. Which he has never had. It is Soulistic Lamb. I can mix MC with the Tiki Cat.
 
If Neko ate on her own, I would subtract that from the amount of calories I needed to assist feed.

Maybe hold off on the higher carbs, until you see what his next test is. Hoping for a boring night.:bighug:
 
The blue makes it difficult to read the labs but I know you are focusing on him so don’t worry about it now. Aside from his kidney values, which we already are aware of, the only thing I see that is off that might make me wonder is his lymphocytes appear to be low. They’ve been low before and in humans, they can drop low as we age. I don’t know if that’s what is going on with Gizmo....he isn’t that old. His albumin is off a bit but that’s not a number I’d worry about.

The values that we typically find elevated with fatty liver are not so that’s curious. I just don’t see anything else that jumps out at me.

More vines for him, though.
 
I wanted to post earlier, but didn't want to clutter up your condo when all the important stuff was going back and forth.

You must be exhausted, Lizzie! You are doing amazing with him. :bighug:

I'm glad Gizmo is trying to eat a bit on his own, I hope this quiets down soon and you can get some much needed rest. He is so lucky to have you! :cat:
 
I wanted to post earlier, but didn't want to clutter up your condo when all the important stuff was going back and forth.

You must be exhausted, Lizzie! You are doing amazing with him. :bighug:

I'm glad Gizmo is trying to eat a bit on his own, I hope this quiets down soon and you can get some much needed rest. He is so lucky to have you! :cat:
Thank you. Some vacation :rolleyes: :banghead:

Lots of hugs. The one time I had to assist feed Bubba, less more frequently seemed to be a good plan. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Ok, thanks. It is going to be a balancing act because if he goes low I need to be able to give MC or HC. Glad he is getting calories though. I think that is good.
 
So happy to hear he ate on his own, means his tummy is feeling a little better. What a day you had :bighug::bighug::bighug:
It is slow but he is consistently going back and eating the Tiki. I just grabbed a few different kinds. Going to run back out tomorrow and get a few more. Wish I had some ideas on a 4-5% carb that he would like. Going to take some work to get him back to his regular diet.
 
Tiki Cat is pretty high calorie, just NO carbs.
Double check the calorie count for the Tikicat. The food chart has it listed as higher calories, but the calories listed on the can are much lower. At least this is true with the flavor Gizmo eats. I just don't want you to think he is getting more calories than he really is.

Hope he continues to eat and that he surfs safely tonight. :bighug:
 
Double check the calorie count for the Tikicat. The food chart has it listed as higher calories, but the calories listed on the can are much lower. At least this is true with the flavor Gizmo eats. I just don't want you to think he is getting more calories than he really is.

Hope he continues to eat and that he surfs safely tonight. :bighug:
Ok, will do. For tonight I just want him to eat.

Thank you :bighug:
 
It is slow but he is consistently going back and eating the Tiki. I just grabbed a few different kinds. Going to run back out tomorrow and get a few more. Wish I had some ideas on a 4-5% carb that he would like. Going to take some work to get him back to his regular diet.
Soulistic Upstream Dream is 5% (248 phos) & Polynesian Picnic is 6% (244)
 
+3.5=113

Got some Soulistic Lamb (5%) mixed with Chick Magnet (16%) into him. About 2 tablespoons. Left another 2?(appx) out for him to eat.
 
+4.5=120

Leaving TikiCat chicken laced with Chick Magnet down for him to nibble on. Have to get up in a little less than 3 hours to give pain meds and appy enhancer.
 
Wish I had some ideas on a 4-5% carb that he would like.
I was bumping up Uncle's Tiki Cat Puka Puka Luau (0%) with Weruva's Pumkin Lickin' Chicken (13%) and he seemed to like it. I don't think either one is very high calorie though so I'm not sure this is helpful info. I was avoiding fish as well except for tempting him.
I'm so glad Gizmo got to the vet and is back home with you now. You've both had a few tough days, I hope you both can get some relief and nice sleep :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top